We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional in a very refined way!”
Review of Restaurant Erlhof

Restaurant Erlhof
Ranked #40 of 82 Restaurants in Zell am See
Cuisines: Austrian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Traditional in a very refined way!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Even though we were there out of season there was not a single empty table. No wonder! Food was high quality and delicious. Service on top of it, was extraordinary. Nice selection of Austrian wines. Line caught trout - "Forelle" was so deliciously prepared, so was local chanterelle soup. Reservation is a must.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvanayse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“well worth a visit...”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

just back from ski trip to Zell am See. stayed at Erlhof for first two nights. This is very typical Austrian hospitality and experience. The property is delightful, great location near the lake with fab views and is teaming with history (the real Von Trapp family used to own it..!!) The current owners (husband and wife team) are very pleasant people.. the husband is the chef.. and and a very good one (several awards on view) and his wife runs the day to day operations. The menu choice is not great.. but what is on menu is very good. The breakfast choices however are very good. There was very few people staying when we were there... so very quiet and therefore little atmosphere.. but the room (Family interconnecting rooms) was super... very comfortable beds.. spacious and two fab and modern bathrooms.. good power showers. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it for a truly Austrian experience... if you want to be away from the bustle of the town of Zell. Public transport to and from the property is limited, so a car is needed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BOSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I've been assured by many locals that this is one of the best restaurants in the region but our visit was extremely disappointing. Perhaps it's better in the ski season. The room and decor is nothing to write home about, typical Austrian but here lacking in any personal touches or sense of occasion. The food is very ordinary for the prices charged and the wine list unmemorable. Service is erratic. I reported our disappointment to our hotel manager who was astonished, but there you have it. It's also an expensive taxi ride from Zell am See.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brownbear101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful in every respect”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had driven past the Erlhof a number of times whilst on our holidays in Zell am See (we have an apartment there) and thought that it looked a lovely place to go. My husband was then trying to find somewhere nice to take me as a surprise for my birthday and took a risk on the Erlhof based on other TripAdvisor reviews.

It surpassed all our expectations. Our table was in a lovely Stubl - situated in the original old part of the hotel with vaulted ceilings. The service was impeccable and when we asked whether we had time to do the 7 course tasting menu their lovely response was "if you have time, we have time".

The 7 course tasting menu was fantastic with some amazing flavours. However the normal A La Carte menu also looked superb so we are looking forward to returning.

We did have the tasting wines as well which, although good, were no necessarily so adventurous as we have had elsewhere. It was more an opportunity to have different wines more suited to the variety of courses which suited us well.

The really nice touch was the Birthday cake that they gave me at the end of the meal to take home.

We will certainly return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A very good restaurant for a reasonable price”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stumbled upon this place when we biking around the lake of Zell am See. Far to nice for us being all sweaty and thirsty, we just had a coffe during the day. But we came back 2 days later or dinner and were not dissappointed.

We had a 5 course "spring-menu" with matching wines. A fanatastic experience. We had a very romantic and enjoyable evening.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Erlhof also viewed

Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Restaurant Erlhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing