We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutley Gorgeous.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gartenhotel Daxer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gartenhotel Daxer
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield
2 reviews
“Absolutley Gorgeous.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

Went for 1 week June 2009, had a fantastic time but really wish we'd stayed for 2 weeks. It's one of the most enjoyable holidays I've ever had. Everyone who works at the hotel were fantastic, It's a family run hotel with alot of personallity, if you want somewhere home from home with a gorgeous back drop then go to the Daxer.
It just under 2k away from the lake and the hustle and bustle of Zell am see. 200m walk from the bus bay and cable car point.
The food was lovely, with a choice of main meals, including Austrian grub. Make sure you arrange to go All inclusive because you get unlimited drinks which will come in handy when the nearest bars are 2k away when you have aching muscles after walking down the mountains and can't be bothered to go out. It also includes afternoon tea with various cakes and a packed lunch every day too.
On Sunday the Sunday night the local's came round to entertain us in the traditional clothes and yodled, played the spoons, sang and danced it was a very entertaining evening.
I honestly can't say enough about this hotel, it really is lovely, go see for yourself.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaShearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    59
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
76
92
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2009

Booked two days before departure with Crystal mainly based on cost. Also considered the Heitzman which was £250 more.

The Hotel is located quite a way from the centre and in icy conditions the walk at night is a bit dangerous and hard going coming back. Ten euros for a taxi.

Ski hire is located at the Hotel and is very easy and convenient. Also the lift to the top of the mountain is a short walk from the hotel and you can ski back to within 50 metres of the door of the Hotel.

Hotel is clean and tidy and the food is good if not spectacular. There is free internet access which was nice and enable you to keep up to date with the big snow storms in the UK.

The main issue for us is that we like a bit of banter at the bar after skiing and in the evening however a lot of the guests are German speaking so there was little atmosphere at the bar. The bar was also located in the restuarant and in front of the kitchen so did not make for a cosy location.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but evenings were quite made difficult by the walk to the village however the location for skiing was good and convenient.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NormanCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2009

Took Crystal Ski holiday here over xmas and this hotel was great. Situated close to the lifts and in the heart of the skiing. Heated bootroom was bliss. Staff very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Food superb. Ski hire hut on site, very friendly service. The hotel is a good 30minute walk out of Zell so you really need to depend on buses and taxis if you want the nightlife of the town. In the village where the Daxer is there is very little going on, just a few other hotel bars. Depends what you want though because we really valued the tranquillity and beautiful scenery at the hotel. Totally recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Clenliness, location and welcoming service.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LandyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2008

Stayed here half board for two nights while Snowboarding.

This hotel is family run. Very friendly from the moment of arrival to the time of check out. Michael who runs the show was there to greet us and hand us our keys to our rooms.

The hotel common areas are great, you feel right at home. The atmosphere is very relaxed and calming. The bar and restaurant area is great and cosy. The pool and sauna area is small but perfectly formed and very clean. We stayed on a half board basis and because it was not too busy in the the hotel that week, Michael the owner asked us what we wanted to eat and the menu was tailored to our tastes. The food was great and plentiful. Breakfast consisted of both hot and cold breakfast and dinner was a three course meal.

The room were clean and confortable with a balcony to the front overlooking the mountain, Tv and En-suite. The location was perfect for the Gondala which was directle accross the road from the hotel. The town is about a 15 minute walk away or €2 a head in a taxi (8 of us in an 8-seater) which Michael would organise no problem. Would reccommend to families ans small groups.

  • Liked — Friendly family run
  • Disliked — Location to the town
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank daymango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 45 in Zell am See
5.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#1 of 45 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 45 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 45 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 45 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#9 of 45 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gartenhotel Daxer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gartenhotel Daxer

Property: Gartenhotel Daxer
Address: Georg-Rendl-Strasse 8, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Zell am See
#7 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gartenhotel Daxer 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Gartenhotel Daxer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gartenhotel Daxer Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing