We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ski location”
Review of Gartenhotel Daxer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gartenhotel Daxer
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great ski location”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you want to go into town every night then probably not for you. If you want great food, great service, fabulous location for the ski-ing and then a chill out evening, then this is ideal! Been to Zell am See many times and this will probably be our go-to hotel for future visits. Booked for Jan 14 already! If you get chance to catch the ice hockey match at home then go and also walk around the lake if you want a break from skiing (leave 3-4hours).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    64
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
83
98
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My partner and I were disappointed with this hotel for a number of reasons. Firstly, there was no management presence whatsoever and scarcely ever anyone at reception if you had any queries. Secondly, having a comfortable shower was difficult as the water pressure and temperature were constantly changing. Thirdly, the last bus up or down the hill was at approx 6pm so once dinner was over (and dinner was between 6-7.30pm) we were marooned without a car apart from the evening we walked 25mins down the hill and paid the €10 taxi fare to return. The dining room often resembled how I imagine the café at a campsite is; children running back and forth from the table to the garden and people wearing for dinner exactly what they had been wearing all day (or in the case of one man, all week). It was a little too casual for us.

Having said that, the food was good apart from the grill night when all the food was cooked at 6pm so on our arrival at 7.15pm we were greeted with cold meat and chips. Luckily, we had had a relatively large lunch so skipped this unappetising fare and had extra salad from the buffet.

On the plus side the hotel was very close to the bus stop and the gondolas and the beds were very comfortable but we won't be visiting again.

Room Tip: Have a room with a balcony and lake view so at least you have somewhere nice to sit after dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swissgirl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was my first trip to Austria and had a fantastic time from start to finish we were made very welcome and comfortable, everyone in the family run Daxer were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us, the hotels position is fantastic as just a 2 min walk to the lifts which would be perfect for Skiing, our room was very spacious comfortable and always spotlessly clean, we had a huge balcony with a spectacular view and the food.... This was AMAZING!! And so much to choose from from the breakfast buffet and the salad and starter buffet that even the fussiest person would not go hungry! And the main meals were so delicious! I would deffinatly stay in the Daxer again next time in the Winter!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lis-k76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I had the best stay at the Daxer hotel, staff are so friendly, views are amazing, hotel was clean and everyone was so welcoming! And the food, I have never eaten such amazing and fresh food ever, you would never go hungry at this hotel! I couldn't even find a small fault with this beautiful hotel, you really feel like you are at home! The only bad thing about this holiday was that we had to go home, thank you to everybody at the hotel daxer for an amazing stay and I would recommend it to everyone. :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laureeen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Dancer has to be the easiest and one of the best ski hotels we have used. It's c.5 mins walk to the main lifts in Zell am See. The facilities are spotlessly clean, comfortable and of a high standard. The hotel has a small pool, sauna and steam room. Food was amazing for a ski resort, with great choice. The salad bar starter was enough on its own. Drinks were very reasonably priced. The little après bar had a great atmosphere and had some cool live music. Would stay again and again. Lockable ski storage and boot dryer!! Fab place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great location for skiing - just a short walk from the gondola which has ski hire and no queues. Food was good - lots of it and a nice selection. Drinks not as expensive as people have said before, but just keep an eye on the price. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abcdeBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

The strengths of this hotel are its excellent evening meals, the proximity to Schmittenhohe lifts, and the hard-working staff. It is a great hotel, with plenty of space and super-clean rooms.
Here's what I'm not keen on: it takes 25 minutes to walk into Zell am See town. This would be ok if you could just get a free ski bus back later in the evening, but unfortunately at about 6.15 the buses start to charge 2 euro 20 to get back up the hill. It's possible to take a taxi, but that costs 10 euros. On a regular basis, this would add to the costs of a reasonably-priced deal so the outcome: quite low-key apres-ski this time! The Hutte is a nice tiny pub in the grounds of the Daxer - we found it closed most of the time, which was a shame when there's nowhere else to go. Most hotel guests went to bed early, although occasionally a couple of hardy souls would sit at the bar in the dining room.
If you weigh up the pros and cons, and opt to go here, take your own shower-gel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank grecoLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#2 of 42 in Zell am See
1,130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
231 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 42 in Zell am See
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#1 of 42 in Zell am See
397 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 42 in Zell am See
576 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gartenhotel Daxer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gartenhotel Daxer

Property: Gartenhotel Daxer
Address: Georg-Rendl-Strasse 8, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Zell am See
#7 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gartenhotel Daxer 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gartenhotel Daxer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gartenhotel Daxer Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing