We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Daxer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gartenhotel Daxer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gartenhotel Daxer
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful Daxer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Location was our first priority when booking this Hotel. We spent a week here in January 2013. Have been to Zell several times before, Hotel Waldhof and Lebzelter and this year Hotel Daxer. The service and staff were exceptional. The food was first class. Only a 5 min walk to Gondola. Comfortable rooms cleaned daily with excellent maid service. Nice little pool, sauna and relaxation room. Our room was next door to the sauna and my husband spent every evening there after a full day skiing. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COLLEEN51_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    61
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
78
94
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just had a week long stay at The Daxer, 2 families both with 2 children, all on a skiing holiday. This was our first visit to Zell am See & the hotel was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, all staff were very friendly & helpful & if there was not something on the menu that the kids fancied then we only had to ask & they would do them something else. Rooms were very clean & beds very comfortable and the rooms were cleaned daily. Nice little pool & sauna which was great after skiing & a bonus for the kids to get rid of even more energy. Ski hire shop right on the doorstep & access to gondolas/slopes just a short walk. Takes about 15-20 mins to walk down into the town which is worth a visit but get the ski bus or taxi back up, hard work & steep hill going back up!! Would highly recommend this hotel/location for anyone, including families.

Room Tip: Basement was good, room 101 or 102 as they are at one end & very little noise, also on same leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent a very enjoyable week at the Daxer in Feb 2012, so we decided to return this year. We were not disappointed. The room was in the basement and had excellent access to the pool and sauna area. It was very clean and the staff visited on a daily basis and attended to the bathroom.
The food was very good and plentiful. The salad buffet is particularly good. My only complaint was that some guests greedily helped themselves to several desserts on the evening of the dessert buffet- leaving very little for later arrivals!
The staff were very friendly and helpful, with particular praise for Noemi and Raluca.
This hotel is ideal for families with younger children, who don't want late night partying!
Thank you all very much.
All in all the trip was excellent and very good value for money!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

So I stayed at the Daxer for one week in January with a group of friends for our ski trip in Zell am See. When I read a couple of reviews on here after I had booked I was slightly concerned. I did not have any need to be though.

From the second we arrived, the hotel staff could not have been more friendly or accomodating. Anything we asked for throughout the week was provided immediately, from extra pillows to the meal being cooked to our liking. There was a huge variey of food with four choices for main as well as soup, starters, salad and desserts. The breakfast buffet was definitely enough to set us up for a long day skiing.

Our rooms were comfortable and clean & the pool and sauna facilities perfect for relaxing our aches of an afternoon before heading out in the evening. There's a small Apres bar next to the hotel which had a great atmosphere and was perfect and also showed Sky Sports.

The location of the hotel was fantastic for skiing with the gondola a little over 2 minutes walk. Yes the town was a fair way (about 20minutes) but taxis weren't too pricey and the hotel were happy to organise them for us.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone and hope people don't read too much into these people that must like to complain about everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoughDiamond1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for 1 week of skiing at the end of Jan 2013. I had read a number of reviews about the hotel before we travelled and I have to say I was a little bit concerned. We arrived on a Saturday evening in the middle of dinner, the staff were obviously busy but very friendly and did their best to check us in as quickly as possible. The rooms were spotlessly clean every day, extremely warm and comfortable. We did not experience any of the negative issues mentioned in some of the reviews left by other customers. Yes it is true that they don't supply tea & coffee making facilities in the rooms, but if you really want it, it is worth buying a travel kettle @ £9.99 and taking it with you.
The food was extremely good, 4 courses every night, soup, salad, choice of 4 main courses and desserts. I forgot to warn them my husband needed a gluten free (GF) diet, however when we arrived it was absolutely no problem for them. The staff where obviously made aware and they ensured we were always told the GF options and they provided GF bread everyday.
This was our first experience of skiing, we realised how lucky we were to have selected such a nice hotel so close to the cable car stations and beginner slopes. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and we would certainly consider going back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beginners1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed with a friend for a week in January 2013 and had a great holiday here. It is in a lovely location, and even for a non skier, the accessibility to walking trails was good, and we used the lift to go on some walking on a couple of clear days at the top of the mountain with a local guide, which was excellent. It is a fair walk into town, but it is a pretty one through the woods, and the bus back works fine. The room was a good size and very clean, and the staff deserve recognition for their helpfulness and friendliness and concern to make sure we had a good stay at the hotel. We found the food delicious and plentiful and varied, especially the salad bar. We don't go for lively night life, but like a relaxing chat agree with others that there could be a better atmosphere in the evenings, for example, it would have been nice to have had a fire in the lounge in the evening to encourage more people to sit down. We enjoyed the sauna to relax in after a day out. Overall, a good hotel where we had a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineNantwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at Daxer for a weeks Ski in January 2013 for my sisters 30th. The trip itself was brilliant, however the overwhelming feeling of the hotel is that of complacency. It could do a lot more to make it 5 star rating as opposed to 3.

To concentrate on the positives;
1)The location is great in terms of proximity to the lifts. Once you get your ski boots on in the boot room on the ground floor of the hotel it is an relatively effortless 2 minute walk to any one of 3 gondolas. This is in contrast to other ski resorts where the walk to the lifts is more effort than the skiing itself.
2) The rooms and private bathroom are clean and more than adequate size for a couple.
3) The breakfast buffet is a great start to the day. There is anything you could want for breakfast/ really good hot and cold options and really tasty coffee.
4) The majority of the staff are very friendly and helpful.
5) Affiliation with a quiet ski hire shop next door meant getting any gear you needed was really easy, and I think they gave a discount.

I don't like dwelling on negatives however there were a number of things I feel could be improved with Hotel Daxer to fulfill its potential. There is nothing particularly bad about the hotel, but it should do more to make the guests spend more time in the bars and restaurants. The hotel has its own apres ski bar which is a good addition, however the bar rarely had any atmosphere. Although it may have been a quiet week in the resort , the hotel was at capacity and the lack of an alternative recognizable Apres bar at the foot of the Smitten lift and no other social area should mean that the bar was full. Ultimately, by the end of the week I got the impression Daxer didn't want its guests to spend too much time in the bar as they wanted to get them in and out of the restaurant quickly so the kitchen could close and the staff could go home.

Another negative was ordering your evening meal at breakfast. Although this isn't a massive issue it is difficult to decide what to eat 12 hours before you eat it. The meals themselves were average but the excellent salad bar made up for this.

Another slight gripe was that you had to be seated for the evening meal by 8 o'clock or the kitchen would close, this was restrictive if you did have a few drinks straight off the slope, and we missed our meal one night because of this.

The early meal would not have been a problem if the hotel offered a bar area with some atmosphere after dinner. Once the kitchen closed you essentially had to leave the restaurant. Although you could have supposedly stayed and ordered some drinks at your table you got the impression that the staff wanted to close and head home, there was no music and most of the lights went out. This was frustrating as it meant you had to head into Zell am See town (20 minute walk) for any evening entertainment. This is where I describe the hotel as complacent. They should make more effort to keep guests in the bar area and ultimately spending money. All it would have taken was some music to create an atmosphere where people want to socialize. As it happens a few great nights were had in the village but you would hope that a hotel sleeping over 100 guests would want to have a bar that stays open later than 2030 where people can have a bit of a crack in.

Overall I would recommend the hotel as a good value functional base for your skiing trip in the beautiful resort of Zell Am See. However don't expect any of your best memories from your trip to happen in the hotel as they don't appear to want you to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#1 of 43 in Zell am See
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof
Hotel Salzburgerhof
#3 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 43 in Zell am See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#7 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel St. Georg
Hotel St. Georg
#9 of 43 in Zell am See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gartenhotel Daxer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gartenhotel Daxer

Property: Gartenhotel Daxer
Address: Georg-Rendl-Strasse 8, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Zell am See
#7 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gartenhotel Daxer 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gartenhotel Daxer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gartenhotel Daxer Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing