We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”
Review of Gartenhotel Daxer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gartenhotel Daxer
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Just got back from staying at Hotel Daxer and can't recommend it highly enough! We normally go on beach holidays but fancied something completely different and our stay exceeded our expections and have now got the taste for lake and mountain style breaks! The Daxer is clean, friendly staff, good food and great location for cable and chair lifts! 
It's a good 40 min walk up hill from Zell am See (which was hard going in 32 deg heat!!) but buses run every 20 mins. 
Zell am See and surrounding area is jaw droppingly stunning and there is so much to do in the Summer and is not just a winter resort!
Tip: if we go again we would buy the 6 day cable car, bus and lido pass which cost approx. 70€

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 100Mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 264 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

Lovely small hotel just next to the gondola. Bedrooms are fresh and very clean and the bed in our room was soooo comfortable . You can walk down to the lake but would advise against walking back as uphill all the way. Well worth a balcony at the front as the view is stunning and looks down to the lake.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanneTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We had a perfect holiday.The hotel deserves more than 3 stars. The staff were very efficient, friendly and good fun. The food was first class. Our pick up was 6.50 breakfast for that day started at 6.30, a welcome start to the day with a smile.
Apre ski bar was great fun, the week passed too quickly. Ski lifts just across the road. Ski & boot hire next door with Christian, lots of good advice& choice. The rooms were lovely, spotless, we had a balcony, sun and spectacular views. Micheal can be very proud of his hotel & staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SkingHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

This hotel is lovely and the staff wonderful. Smiles and chats from everyone and so helpful and obliging in every way. The food is out of this world especially the Austrian buffets, both savoury and sweet. So many gorgeous cakes to choose from!! The Apres ski hut is the place for a good chat and a drink after a busy day on the slopes. Lots of good advice was dispensed by Christian and Connie from the ski hire shop, situated in- house. The hotel is also very conveniently placed for the ski-lifts and bus stops. This is very much a family run establishment and all the better for it. We had a wonderful time and made some lovely new friends during our stay. Congratulations to Michael and staff for providing us with a perfect winter week's holiday.

Room Tip: Room 112 is very handy for the ski room and the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwigsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Great hotel in a great location right next to the Ski lifts, very convenient as you rent your ski's from the hotel.
Bus runs from the Ski lifts to other ski resorts and is also just around the corner.
If you are a beginner then this place is perfect, book through Crystal it makes things very simple and you have very little to worry about.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick2218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We are nearly at the end of our week at the hotel, and have enjoyed our time immensly. The hotel is about 1.5 hrs transfer from Salzburg by coach, with a small minibus run when you get to Zell Am See as coaches are not allowed in the centre. The Daxer is a stone's throw from the main lifts up the mountain, from the Smittenhoehe, and there are three different cable cars depending upon which route you want to take. The ski hire shop is next door to the hotel and was a quick stop on the first day. Skiing has been excellent, although the lower slopes are a little slushy and heavy going as they are mostly red & black runs, so we found it better to ski at the top until we were ready to finish and then get the cable car down.

The hotel room is spotless and comfortable, with a good hot shower .. Although just be aware of the shower control jutting out into the cubicle quite a bit which has led to the odd unintentional change in temperature by a stray movement.

The food has been first class along with the service. You make your evening meal choice at a good buffet breakfast, and once seated for dinner your main meal arrives at your request. There are two saunas, a steam room and a pool .. The pool was too cold for our liking, but kept the kids happy while the adults sat in the hot rooms. The sauna is only on from 4pm to 8pm, but always clean and piping hot with fresh towels. People did not really bother about the rule of going in naked, and most wore bathing costumes .. So dont be put off!

There is not much in the way of restaurants, bars or shops near to the hotel apart from those at the main ski lifts, but a quick bus ride in to town is simple and free with your lift pass. The buses run all day, but stop at 6pm, so a taxi is recommended for evenings. The town centre has everything you would need.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Midlands_Leicester_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Hotel Daxer - Great food, great service, great location and good comfortable rooms. Room 133 is the best for the view of the slopes and lifts! We will be back next year. Skiing was brilliant! Lots of runs accomodating the beginers to the experts! Travel from Salzberg airport is only 1 hour 20 mins, walk to slopes is 5 mins, walk to town is approx 20 mins down hill (get a cab for return, only 10 euro) Only small negative - no supermarket close by which would have been good for snacks for kids ( you have to walk into town)

Room Tip: Room 133 for views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BrooklandsWSM191282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zell am See hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#3 of 42 in Zell am See
1,180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#5 of 42 in Zell am See
235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Stadt Wien
Hotel Stadt Wien
#2 of 42 in Zell am See
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Zell am See
Grand Hotel Zell am See
#10 of 42 in Zell am See
593 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#8 of 42 in Zell am See
339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Der Waldhof
Hotel Der Waldhof
#14 of 42 in Zell am See
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gartenhotel Daxer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gartenhotel Daxer

Address: Georg-Rendl-Strasse 8, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range: $119 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gartenhotel Daxer 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gartenhotel Daxer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gartenhotel Daxer Hotel Zell Am See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing