We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpenland Sporthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Just spent a week at the Alpenland Sporthotel. There were 3 of us, my son (9yrs) and my husband and myself. This was our first time skiing in Austria and we were extremely happy with everything. The staff was wonderful and the room was clean and well kept. We had a studio through a time share and there was ample room for all three of us. We could rent our skis and sign up our son for ski school right there at the hotel. You could also buy your lift ticket and then take a shuttle straight to the ski resort. It was nice being dropped off right at the front and not have to lug all your equipment very far. We forgot my son's helmet and the ski instructor, Mark, lent us one for free. There is a beautiful indoor pool and gym that was outfitted well. The hotel is near some excellent restaurants. Go to Mama Mia just down the road. Mexican food to die for. The Chinese place is good as well. If there is anything negative to say about this hotel is that they still allow smoking indoors. But I think that is an Austrian law. Will definitely go back.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mdcwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    170
    46
    12
    4
See reviews for
124
160
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marazion
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We have just returned from this hotel and could not be more pleased. We had a room on the third floor with a view of the mountains. It was lovely and clean. The staff were so friendly and helpful and spoke English which was really handy for us.The pool and surrounds are a terrific facility and I would highly reccommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marazion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concord ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Staff not overly friendly but will help with train schedules etc. Rooms small and dark. Ours smelled quite often of raw sewage, reported but not corrected in our two week stay. Hotel very clean but dated and worn out furniture. TV all channels in German except CNN, which played the same loop of news over and over again. Small refrigerator stocked with overpriced drinks. Computers/internet can be used if you pay 1 euro for 10 minutes.

Boycott Wally's bar the bartender is a bigot. He is a surly schmuck!

We had discussed buying a week, if available, at this hotel prior to our stay. I will never spend my time or money in Austria again.

Many places in St Johann im Pnogau do not accept credit cards. I can't believe these merchants expect travelers to carry a lot of cash.

We spent two weeks at this hotel. We traded a large condo for a small, depressing, dark hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anabelimogene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

This is in a very quaint town and is close to the main highway and many natural sights. It is about 30 miles to Salzburg and an easy drive. The hotel staff were wonderful and able to hook you up with local information. Breakfast included for a nominal price. We also had dinner at the hotel twice at two different restaurants and the food was very good. The rooms were large and very clean. Car parking is underground and you are charged a fee. No A/C, but it was cooler there than in Vienna. Nice indoor pool and spa. We will definitely stay there again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BoomerTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We had a room on the first floor which was adequate to our needs but the decor was a bit darkish which could become oppressive. The TV and fridge were old but suitable for us.

The service at the desk and by the staff was excellent. We only speak english with a smattering of german but we had no problems because if they could not converse with us they went and got someone who could.

We were there during the off season and as such the facilities in the hotel and the town were limited to a degree. This was not a problem as we made the best of it.
I know that we are old geezers in our sixties but it would have been nice to sit down and listen to a band or singer somewhere either in the hotel or around the town.

The main dining room was closed for renovations but we had several meals in the hotel pizzeria which we really enjoyed. The food was good and the service was efficient and unobtrusive.

The hotel laundry is on the second floor and has two washing machines but only one dryer. Whilst we did not have a problem there were instances of people lining up to use the dryer.

Our only complaint would be that there was no hot water jug in the room to make tea or coffee. This meant that every time that you wanted a cuppa you had to go to a cafe or bar and buy one. Gets expensive after a while.

The hotel is located behind the main shopping centre (which has a wonderful supermarker) and is very handy to all local shops. It is actually located on what is basically a dead end street so there are no traffic noises or problems.

All in all we had a wonderful time exploring the town and the area and even if the hotel is not up to your standards we still highly recommend the town and area as worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimmyJSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

My husband and I went to Austria for a skiing/ site seeing vacation. We debated between the Alpenland Sporthotel in St. Johann and the Sporthotel in Maria Alm. I am SO glad we chose to stay in St. Johann. The town was great with many good restaurants (the pizzeria adjacent to the church was the best) and shopping and the train station was about a 10 minute walk down the hill. From the train station, you can connect to anywhere you need to go, and we used it to go to Salzburg, Vienna, Innsbruck and St. Anton. The hotel staff was friendly and our studio room was spacious and clean. The lobby could be very smoky, but there would be live piano music most nights. I would definitely recommend this location, hotel and ski areas to anyone looking for a quaint, European vacation.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jasper6802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, España
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

We stayed here a week as part of an exchange program we are in with Marriott Vacation Club... is a good hotel, clean, confortable, and well located. Looks a little old to my opinion but very well kept. We had 2 double rooms that were comunicated, so 2 of our kids and my mom were in one and me, my husband and the other kid in the other. It was not an apartament so I miss the vacation club convenience....But everyday we found our room cleaned and they change our towels everyday too, and we had a fabulous view from our room. Reception staff was kind and helpful. We don't have any complain of our stay. Saint Johann town is very nice, there was a small commercial center in fron of the hotel, and had a Spar grocery store, had restaurants and a really good bakery, that helped a lot for breakfast!! We went with our van and from that point we went to Salzburg (35 mins), Munich ( 1.30 hours), Dachau (1.50 h) Innsbruck (2 h), Werfen (15 mins), Hallstat (1 hour), Krimml ( 1 hour) so we had a really nice week of exploring Salzburgerland and part of Tyrol and even a little bit of Germany. It is worth going there is soooo pretty!!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorena17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Johann im Pongau
14.6 mi away
Alpenland Sporthotel
Alpenland Sporthotel
#3 of 7 in Maria Alm
196 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alpendorf
Hotel Alpendorf
#3 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
191 reviews
1.7 mi away
Verwoehnhotel Berghof
Verwoehnhotel Berghof
#1 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
#5 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
193 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sonnhof Alpendorf
Sonnhof Alpendorf
#4 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brueckenwirt
Hotel Brueckenwirt
#12 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenland Sporthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenland Sporthotel

Property: Alpenland Sporthotel
Address: Hans Kappacherstrasse 7-9, St Johann im Pongau 5600, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > St Johann im Pongau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenland Sporthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the unique combination of international flair and traditional Austrian hospitality of Salzburger Land. The 4-star Alpenland Hotel offers an in town, central location with top-equipped rooms, luxury suites, 2 specialty restaurants, modern conference rooms, and an indoor/outdoor wellness area that guarantee a relaxing vacation. The wellness area offers an 18-meter pool, 2 hot tubs, sauna, steam bath, solarium and a garden. The fitness trainer will guide you through your training, or you can take advantage of one of the aerobic courses where you can build stamina, strength and coordination. Other highlights include two onsite outdoor tennis courts as well as nearby golf courses, bike paths and hiking trails. Sports of all types - from easy to challenging. Alpenland Sporthotel is your ideal starting point for one of the best and most attractive ski areas in Austria. Whether it's a matter of sporting activities in snow or ice, reflective hikes or idyllic sleigh rides, the Alpenland Hotel fulfills all your desires. Inhouse ski rental and shuttle bus transfer available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Alpenland Sporthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenland Sporthotel Hotel Sankt Johann Im Pongau
Alpenland Sporthotel St Johann Im Pongau, Austria - Salzburg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing