We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a good time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpenland Sporthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We had a room on the first floor which was adequate to our needs but the decor was a bit darkish which could become oppressive. The TV and fridge were old but suitable for us.

The service at the desk and by the staff was excellent. We only speak english with a smattering of german but we had no problems because if they could not converse with us they went and got someone who could.

We were there during the off season and as such the facilities in the hotel and the town were limited to a degree. This was not a problem as we made the best of it.
I know that we are old geezers in our sixties but it would have been nice to sit down and listen to a band or singer somewhere either in the hotel or around the town.

The main dining room was closed for renovations but we had several meals in the hotel pizzeria which we really enjoyed. The food was good and the service was efficient and unobtrusive.

The hotel laundry is on the second floor and has two washing machines but only one dryer. Whilst we did not have a problem there were instances of people lining up to use the dryer.

Our only complaint would be that there was no hot water jug in the room to make tea or coffee. This meant that every time that you wanted a cuppa you had to go to a cafe or bar and buy one. Gets expensive after a while.

The hotel is located behind the main shopping centre (which has a wonderful supermarker) and is very handy to all local shops. It is actually located on what is basically a dead end street so there are no traffic noises or problems.

All in all we had a wonderful time exploring the town and the area and even if the hotel is not up to your standards we still highly recommend the town and area as worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JimmyJSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 429 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2009

My husband and I went to Austria for a skiing/ site seeing vacation. We debated between the Alpenland Sporthotel in St. Johann and the Sporthotel in Maria Alm. I am SO glad we chose to stay in St. Johann. The town was great with many good restaurants (the pizzeria adjacent to the church was the best) and shopping and the train station was about a 10 minute walk down the hill. From the train station, you can connect to anywhere you need to go, and we used it to go to Salzburg, Vienna, Innsbruck and St. Anton. The hotel staff was friendly and our studio room was spacious and clean. The lobby could be very smoky, but there would be live piano music most nights. I would definitely recommend this location, hotel and ski areas to anyone looking for a quaint, European vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jasper6802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

We stayed here a week as part of an exchange program we are in with Marriott Vacation Club... is a good hotel, clean, confortable, and well located. Looks a little old to my opinion but very well kept. We had 2 double rooms that were comunicated, so 2 of our kids and my mom were in one and me, my husband and the other kid in the other. It was not an apartament so I miss the vacation club convenience....But everyday we found our room cleaned and they change our towels everyday too, and we had a fabulous view from our room. Reception staff was kind and helpful. We don't have any complain of our stay. Saint Johann town is very nice, there was a small commercial center in fron of the hotel, and had a Spar grocery store, had restaurants and a really good bakery, that helped a lot for breakfast!! We went with our van and from that point we went to Salzburg (35 mins), Munich ( 1.30 hours), Dachau (1.50 h) Innsbruck (2 h), Werfen (15 mins), Hallstat (1 hour), Krimml ( 1 hour) so we had a really nice week of exploring Salzburgerland and part of Tyrol and even a little bit of Germany. It is worth going there is soooo pretty!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lorena17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

We arranged a room via timeshare exchange. The location is great. There are a number of places to eat & shop wiithin easy walking distance, and the hotel restaurants were good as well. While I do speak & understand a little Germany, my wife does not, but had no problems finding people that would deal with her in English.
The staff was excellent, including the desk and in the restaurants. The cleaning staff was good as well. I never interacted with them as they were very good at getting taking care of the room while nobody was in. The room itself was a little disappointing. I didn't mind that it was small, but it would have been nice to have a small coffee pot for coffee & tea, and maybe a small microwave for warming snacks. It also had a balcony, but the view was primarly the back side of the shopping center across the street.
The location was good for day trips into Salzburg, Berchtesgaden & Zell Am See.
My wife & I enjoyed the stay and would do it again, although hoping for at least a room with a view and a coffee pot next time.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DEJ_Kent_Island
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We enjoyed our week's stay here. The staff were friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff were particularly amazing - efficient and never obtrusive.

The room was rather dark - lots of wood and thick carpets. It would probably feel cosy in winter, but in summer it felt oppressive and old-fashioned. Nice balcony with mountain views. Old fashioned tv, minibar in room but no coffee/tea making facilities (the last point a nuisance as we had swapped our time share self-catering points for this and expected some self-catering facilities). Really useful that they had a laundry room and drying facilities on our floor.

Two very nice tennis courts but a steep price to play on them. It doesn't seem fair that when you have brought your own racquets and balls you are still paying the same as when you hire them (12 EU per hr). The pool and jacuzzis were nice. There's an activities program of aerobics(free) but be warned that this is acutally run as a health club and the instructor seems to run the classes for the regular (paying) members so you need to be at a fairly advanced level to join the classes.

Breakfasts good. Rather slow service in the coffee shop which always seemed to be full of families when we were there. However, there are other places close to the hotel.

Easy enough to get to the hotel by train and taxi (short ride and very cheap).

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ValEqHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2008

This review is of the AlpenLAND Hotel in St. Johann im Pongau. Do not confuse with other hotel in Maria Alm. We stayed in Dec '07

Four of us went as part of a time-share. Hotel was in wonderful village of St. Johann. Hotel was so-so as the rooms were very basic with some wear-and-tear of materials and carpet. Water pressure and hot water was great as was view up the mountain on the backside. Great location. Employees were very, very friendly and lobby/fireplace area nice. We had a two room suite which meant we had two bathrooms, and two sitting areas. One room had a small kitchenette with a 4-burner stove, microwave and 1/2 frig and toaster. This was perfect for us as we ate breakfast in most days. Did not eat at the hotel as we were always out-and-about town when our hunger pangs struck. Rooms each had two single beds, desk, two dressers, two nightstands, a huge 10' wide closet, a couch, two side chairs, small refrig and TV (very few stations).

Lots of families and lots coming from the pool so it must have been fun! Hotel provided rooms with robes but they smelled of smoke so we passed on using them. A small 3-story shopping mall is directly across the street (card store, sports store, grocery store) and the main street of town just 2 blocks away. Central to everything. Train station is down the hill about 1/2 mile... easy to walk down and up but use a cab if you have luggage.

December is a magical time to visit. Particularly with some snow. St. Nicholas Eve is HUGE with two nights of parades and the main street shut down. Johnny & Jane of Johnny Fox's Pub were delightful. Even let us take home soup in their bowls asking us to return them later in the week! Storefronts were decorated beautifully for Christmas.

Great location to see and do so much in this picturesque and magical area of the Alps. Recommend day trips to Zell am See, Salzburg and Hallien. See my other review under St. Johann im Pongau. Trains are outstanding! Clean, on-time and economical. Would definitely come back to this quaint village.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SayCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

My husband and i traded a two bedroom Kauai week for a week at the Alpenland hotel. We only stayed 4 of the 7 nights due to travel needs. The room was okay. Nothing special. It was clean. We did have a problem getting to the hotel because the off ramp was closed to get to the hotel so we had to drive another 20 miles to back tract back to the prior off ramp. The hotel said that they had just closed it that day, the wood sign was very old looking so I don't believe them. The pool and bar are nice and the restaurants were both good and a good value for your money. There are some attractions in the area that are interesting. Werfern fortress and the gorge. I would not stay here again because I felt I could see everything I wanted to see in four days. There are nicer areas in Austria to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Parris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Johann im Pongau
1.6 mi away
Hotel Oberforsthof
Hotel Oberforsthof
#5 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
189 reviews
1.7 mi away
Verwoehnhotel Berghof
Verwoehnhotel Berghof
#1 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
213 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
#6 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sonnhof Alpendorf
Sonnhof Alpendorf
#4 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
140 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alpendorf
Hotel Alpendorf
#3 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
206 reviews
8.5 mi away
Travel Charme Bergresort Werfenweng
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenland Sporthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenland Sporthotel

Address: Hans Kappacherstrasse 7-9, St Johann im Pongau 5600, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > St Johann im Pongau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
Price Range: $124 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenland Sporthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the unique combination of international flair and traditional Austrian hospitality of Salzburger Land. The 4-star Alpenland Hotel offers an in town, central location with top-equipped rooms, luxury suites, 2 specialty restaurants, modern conference rooms, and an indoor/outdoor wellness area that guarantee a relaxing vacation. The wellness area offers an 18-meter pool, 2 hot tubs, sauna, steam bath, solarium and a garden. The fitness trainer will guide you through your training, or you can take advantage of one of the aerobic courses where you can build stamina, strength and coordination. Other highlights include two onsite outdoor tennis courts as well as nearby golf courses, bike paths and hiking trails. Sports of all types - from easy to challenging. Alpenland Sporthotel is your ideal starting point for one of the best and most attractive ski areas in Austria. Whether it's a matter of sporting activities in snow or ice, reflective hikes or idyllic sleigh rides, the Alpenland Hotel fulfills all your desires. Inhouse ski rental and shuttle bus transfer available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Alpenland Sporthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenland Sporthotel Hotel Sankt Johann Im Pongau
Alpenland Sporthotel St Johann Im Pongau, Austria - Salzburg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing