We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpenland Sporthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were upgraded to a room with a kitchenette (microwave, small refrig, 2 burners, dishes, silverware) and small 4 seat dining area when we arrived. Room also had a couch and chairs by the flatscreen TV for relaxing. Coffee maker (bring filters-altho we used napkins, which worked great) and toaster.Our friends had an adjoining regular room with a balcony with a beautiful view. Paid for internet and had no problem with connection during our week's stay. Front desk always accomodating with directions and helpful advise. Parked our rented car on a side street or in front of the hotel. Easy drive to many great sights. Supermarket and mall across the street. George's hike was difficult but rewarding at the top with the view and the outstanding lunch!! On our last day we were excited to see an Austrian wedding - so beautiful!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priscilla s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear priscilla s,

I very much appreciate receiving feedback from you and I will share your positive comment with my team!
It was delight to read how much you enjoyed our Hotel and the surroundings and we very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With Kind regards

Robert Schimak
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 427 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for a week and checked out 9/21/13. This was supposed to be my time share week. The room had no kitchenette. it was a typical hotel room. The only thing you get for free at this hotel is a tea kettle!! The staff is RUDE! Everything you ask is answered with "that is impossible" or just a rude "No". Every hotel I have stayed in Europe provides free Wi Fi. Oh, no! not here. You pay 18 Euros per week. The shower has no door. It is a plastic panel covering only a quarter of the tub. So when you get out of the shower, you better be prepared to swim through the floor and watch not to skid on the wet floor! That panel might be modern but it is not practical. The tiny TV AND the mini refrigerator is stuffed together in a cabinet. Instead of being able to come to the room, lie down, relax and watch TV, you need to sit on an old uncomfortable "sofa" and watch TV stuffed in to that useless cabinet on the second shelf. Instead of having dried flowers on the wall, they should have a TV hanging there! 15 euros for the same exact breakfast day in and day out is outrageous! Their restaurant is ridiculously overpriced. The parking should be accommodated to the patrons. Instead, you pay 35 Euros per week. The washer and dryer are JUNK! yet they charge 6.60 Euros for one wash and dry. The dyer does not work and no matter how many people complained, they just did not gave a damn. I do NOT recommend this hotel. Customer service is really ridiculous.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsipmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear tsipmor,

thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry for your experience. I apologise for the inconvenience and I will certainly follow up closely with my team for improvement.

with Kind regards

Robert Schimak
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel several times in the past few years. The hotel is comfortable and has good ameneties. Nice view from our balcony.Point to improve: Inernet access is problematic. High price for using the tenis court (12 euro for an hour). Great location with supermarker acros the street and a lot of shops.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruria60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dearr Bruria60,

Thank you for you lovely feedback, I am glad you had a good time with us and I am happy to read that you enjoyed the room, our services and our location! About the Internet we are working with our Provider to improve the Service.
I hope we can look after you again in the near future.

All the best
Robert Schimak
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 6 days in August 2013. Though we didn't a room with balcony we were extremely satisfied with our stay. Extremely clean, daily maid service, staff were friendly, close to the station, conveniently located. There is no internet in the hotel/room. There is a market nearby and is reasonably priced. We didn't try the restaurant but there are lot of restaurants nearby to choose from. We felt extremely relaxed coming back to the hotel after a full day of sightseeing. It would have been nice to have a coffee pot in the room but that was missing. Since I'm a coffee/tea drinker, I was definitely missing the coffee maker in the room. Other than that, everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmbikaRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear AmbikaRaj,

I very much appreciate receiving feedback from you and I was delight to read how much you enjoyed our hotel. I just want to inform you that we do have WLAN in our Hotel and we do have a coffee machine located on the 2nd floor for our guests so I will check back with my staff if they did not mentioned this to you.

We are looking Forward welcoming you again to the Alpenland Sporthotel in the near future and we remain

with Kind regards from Austria

Robert Schimak
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week in August 2013. The rooms were very clean and seriviced every morning. We were lucky to get rooms with a mountain view and a balcony. It was a dream come true to sit in the balcony at night, wach the mountain and did a bit of star gazing as well. The swimming pool and the other sports facilities were very nice too...plenty to regular activities to keep guests engaged. The in house restaurent was nice too. The best part of the hotel was its connectivityto nature and... to a shopping mall. There are plenty of restaurents near by as well.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with a mountain view...and a balcony.....they r ausome. We travelled from the Midd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sreemant_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Sreemant_Roy,

Thanks for your time to share your feeling about our property and services during your staying with us. We do believe many people will read your comment for their reference when they are planning to go St. Johann. We are also happy to hear that you liked our rooms and the service from our talents. We would like to thank you for your trust and will wait your next visit with us very soon.
Best regards
Robert Schimak
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Central location for all our day trips, including going to Slovenia. The room was clean and tidied up every day (my pjs were placed on the bed in different shapes, made me smile). The bed was comfortable but for me a little too firm, not for my partner though. The staff was helpful and friendly. Enjoyed the sauna, steam room, hot tub and pool daily after our long days out and about. The bakery around the corner was great, got our breakfast and lunch rolls there every day. The Spar supermarket across the street was great for what we needed for all our meals (we chose not to eat at the restaurants but utilized the very small (mini bar) fridge instead). There were 2 robes for our use and pool towels available at the desk. Had a great view of the mountains (stay at the back of the hotel). The rooms a little small, but we spent little time in them anyway. We chose to pay the 18 euro for the wifi and used it often to do research, mapquest locations and keep up with email. The restaurant gave us ice for our cooler daily. There were glasses, wine glasses and a bottle opener in the tv cabinet. Cute little work a day, non touristy town. Checked out their sister location in charming Maria Alm, location good for winter fun but not for day trips. We would stay there again if the opportunity came up and would recommend.

Room Tip: Back of building, balconies at each room, but top floor does not have covering if it rains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imthimy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear imthimy1,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us; it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Please let me inform you that we never registered as a 5***** Hotel.

With kind regards
Robert Schimak
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked Alpenland through Intrawest timeshares. The hotel itself is just OK. Rooms were relatively clean (although the sofa in our room looked quite dirty and had cigarette burns in it) beds reasonably comfortable, location is nice and central, we had a lovely view of the mountains from our hotel balcony.

The rest is all a bit strange. The service in the Italian restaurant in the hotel was not great, despite there only being 3 tables one night - we waited about 15 minutes to even get a glass of water.

My boyfriend proposed to me while we were staying here, and I called down to reception to ask for some wine glasses - we were told no, even though they have a massive bar and two restaurants.

Even stranger is that one night we decided to order in takeaway from Pizza Bologna across the street (very unfriendly people who work there by the way!) - when asking for a knife and fork from reception and housekeeping we were also told no, as it is not part of their policy. My boyfriend approached the manager who said "This is our policy. Sir we have 300 rooms, what would happen if we gave everyone a knife and fork?" Heaven forbid .... as the hotel may collapse if 300 knives and forks go missing each day!!! He basically said guests steal them so we couldn't have one. After raising his voice as the ridiculousness of the situation, the Manager finally gave my boyfriend 1 knife and 1 fork (we had to share).

Overall, some of the staff on the desk could be a bit friendlier, they rarely smile or say good morning to you. Internet is ridiculously over-priced, as is the food in the restaurants. We ended up eating at Cavalli next door almost every night as their food was great and they were a very friendly bunched who thanked us for our business each time we were there. No thank you when we checked out from Alpenland.

Great trip but we will not be returning anytime soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LindsayMcInnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Mrs. McInnis,

Thank you for your feedback. I always believe that feedback is a gift for us to improve. I’m very sorry to learn about your disappointments. I have shared your concerns with our staff. Our focus remains on training our talents to make sure they keep delivering a true Alpenland experience. I would like to apologize for these incidents.

with Kind regards

Robert Schimak
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Johann im Pongau
1.7 mi away
Verwoehnhotel Berghof
Verwoehnhotel Berghof
#1 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
212 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sonnhof Alpendorf
Sonnhof Alpendorf
#5 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
140 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
#4 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alpendorf
Hotel Alpendorf
#3 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
203 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Oberforsthof
Hotel Oberforsthof
#6 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
185 reviews
14.6 mi away
Alpenland Sporthotel
Alpenland Sporthotel
#2 of 7 in Maria Alm
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenland Sporthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenland Sporthotel

Address: Hans Kappacherstrasse 7-9, St Johann im Pongau 5600, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > St Johann im Pongau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
Price Range: $125 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenland Sporthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the unique combination of international flair and traditional Austrian hospitality of Salzburger Land. The 4-star Alpenland Hotel offers an in town, central location with top-equipped rooms, luxury suites, 2 specialty restaurants, modern conference rooms, and an indoor/outdoor wellness area that guarantee a relaxing vacation. The wellness area offers an 18-meter pool, 2 hot tubs, sauna, steam bath, solarium and a garden. The fitness trainer will guide you through your training, or you can take advantage of one of the aerobic courses where you can build stamina, strength and coordination. Other highlights include two onsite outdoor tennis courts as well as nearby golf courses, bike paths and hiking trails. Sports of all types - from easy to challenging. Alpenland Sporthotel is your ideal starting point for one of the best and most attractive ski areas in Austria. Whether it's a matter of sporting activities in snow or ice, reflective hikes or idyllic sleigh rides, the Alpenland Hotel fulfills all your desires. Inhouse ski rental and shuttle bus transfer available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Alpenland Sporthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenland Sporthotel Hotel Sankt Johann Im Pongau
Alpenland Sporthotel St Johann Im Pongau, Austria - Salzburg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing