We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent Village - Great Austrian Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpenland Sporthotel
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Magnificent Village - Great Austrian Experience”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

If you are looking for a unique European/Austrian experience then this is the place to go. Yes, the hotel is a bit on the old side and located behind a 1970's shopping block but the views are magnificent, even from our two-bedroom (no kitchen) unit located directly over the front entrance of the hotel and overlooking said concrete shopping centre. The decor is definitely Alpine ski lodge but hey, it is the Austrian Alps after all. The rooms are clean and the housekeeping done on a daily basis. Laundry facilities are another thing altogether...6 Euros + to do one load (wash and dry) and the dryer never did get the clothes dry and we eventually gave up and hung them over the patio furniture on the balcony to dry (minor inconvenience). St. Johann is a beautiful village and we felt taken back in time. We enjoyed seeing families dressed in authentic Austrian clothing (very trendy these days) going about their daily lives and found most to be friendly and helpful and very gracious. St. Johann is very central to most of Austria and we used it as a base for visits to Hallstatt, Innsbruck, Salzburg, Vienna and Munich as well as many side-trips to local tourist attractions. Restaurants are abundant and the food is excellent, albeit expensive by North American standards but enjoy it, you are on vacation after all.

Room Tip: Suggest a car although public transportation is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RedroverOttawa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    164
    45
    12
    4
See reviews for
121
154
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hotel is a bit on the old side, which didn't bother us, but the staff was terrible at times. For the most part the people at the reception were great, but the restaurant staff and management were consistently rude. No A/C, it was in the 90's when we were there, making it nearly impossible to sleep in the heat. Our shower was barely large enough to fit into. We did have a great view off of our balcony on the 4th floor that was nice to have drinks on. One issue we had was that when we wanted to eat dinner on our balcony, we were scolded for getting food from another restaurant (outside of the hotel). Meanwhile, they only had one of their restaurants open, and we weren't about to eat there multiple times, as their attempt at "Italian" food was poor. The fact that we couldn't even get them to let us use silverware for our takeout we planned on eating in the room was crazy. The manager was completely rude and treated us like 12-yearolds. They need to read a couple of books on customer service and hospitality.

In short, we loved the town and area as it was a great central location for sight-seeing, but we will not be back to this hotel. There are too many options in the area that had to have been significantly better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AH_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

First impression was disappointing as located behind a 1970;s concrete shopping block but staff were friendly and helpful at reception. I would say this hotel is tired looking and rooms are dated but clean and comfortable. We had room on 3rd floor looking across to the shopping mall but great sideway views over the mountains. Hotel was not full when we stayed by any means and dont understand why they need to out you in rooms with poor views. You can request kettle and cups from reception which is very helpful. Be aware there is no air conditiojning.
While we were there from 21st July, we had a couple of very rainy, cold days, and stayed in the hotel in the evenings but would really have appreciated at least one english language tv station.
We ate in both restaurants in the hote for dinner and both times had good food with good service. Breakfast is outrageous at 15 euros but is very nice and the lady who works in there is lovely and so friendly. Most times we went to the small coffee shop acorss the road and had a good breakfast for just over 7 euros.

All in all I would say this hotel is great as a centre for touring around but now I have been Austria I would not choose St Johann im Pongau as my destination.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Alpendorf with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pam5697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Ideal hotel in situated in the heart of St Johann in Pongau. Very close to several Ski runs. Beautiful sceanery all year round.
Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Nothing is too much trouble.
Short walk from railway station. Though is up a steep hill. Take a taxi if you have luggage or unfit.
Good range of resturants in within 2-3mins walk of hotel.
Spar Supermarket in shopping aracde opposite the hotel for all your cheap holiday gifts of forgotten items. Remember only tourist shops open on a Sunday.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view. Rooms at the front of the hotel over look the shopping area in front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SamsinglLead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Spent last summer holiday in this hotel. The hotel itself is kinda old and very simple, but the staff and the town made all the difference.

The location of St. Johan being close to salzburg means you have access to many other countries like: Germany, Italy, Slovenia, and switzerland. We've been to all of them on road trips.

The hotel was simple but it has a cozy feel. We all felt like home. all the staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurants' food was also good. We tried the Italian and the Austrian restaurants and they were both great.

I would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Musab A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

we booked 3 rooms at this beautiful property this summer and just loved it. The snowclad mountains are visible from the balcony attached to each room. The location is excellent - just next to a large supermarket which makes it very convenient. The village has many restaurants and marvellous Austrian coffee. The train line is very near with easy access to Salzburg and other cities. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rini47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stay in Hotel for whole week. We are member of II. The hotel arrange a room with balcony to us. The view is beautiful. There are two super market nearby hotel. We chose the Hotel Breakfast at starting two days. But the price is two high and toast with mildew is unacceptable. We changed to coffee galerie in shopping mal. It takes $7.5/p. We like it.

The Storklmirt Hotel and Restaurant is good. You can order some traditional food on it. If you go back Hotel later than 8:00. You can go to floor 1 in shopping mall for pizzal and Rastaurant& Bar nearby Hotel to eat.

Thanks for good arrangement of room. It is the best one.

Liechtensteinklamm water fall is pretty good place to visit. It just takes 4 min. by car. The restaurant Familie Obersteiner is great. We enjoy their fresh trout and "Apfelstrudel"(apple pie).

Hallstatt is also beautiful. You can stay beside lake and take boat with run trip. Zall am see is similar see but small size. We suggest you take more time to go to Krimmler Wasserfalle with a big water fall.

We suggest you buy Salzburg card if you visit Salzburg town. We found the open time of information center in P+R is too late(10:00). It is better that you buy it in train station information center and drive your car for Cable car, Schloss Hellbrunn and then park nearby Schloss Mirabell for walking tour.

The nationalpark Berchtesgaden also is recommended if you have time. Very beautiful!

Anyway, the location of Hotel is good. The enviroment is good. Room is clean. The service of hotel is simple. Internet service is not good($8/3 hours). Food of hotel is not good. Car rental is recommended. If you can not speak German, you will feel people is unfriendly.

我们留在酒店整整一个星期。我们是II成员。酒店给我们安排一个带阳台的房间。是美丽的。酒店附近有两个超级市场的。开始两天我们选择在酒店早餐。但价格是高与霉变是不可接受的。我们改变在咖啡画廊。这需要$7.5/ P。我们喜欢它。

Storklmirt饭店和餐厅是好的。你可以订购一些传统的食品。如果你回到酒店后比8:00。你可以去商场1楼吃pizzal,酒店附近Rastaurant和酒吧吃,。

得益于良好的房间安排。这是最好的之一。

列支敦士登瀑布是相当不错的地方参观。它只需4分钟。车。Familie Obersteiner是不错的。我们欣赏他们的新鲜鳟鱼和“Apfelstrudel”(苹果派)。

哈尔施塔特也是美丽的。你可以留湖畔,并采取运行之旅的船。 zall我看到的是类似的lake,但体积小。我们建议你花更多的时间去与一个大瀑布Krimmler Wasserfalle。

我们建议你买萨尔斯堡卡,如果你访问萨尔茨堡镇。我们发现,信息中心开放时间在P+ R是为时已晚(10:00)。这是更好的,你买在火车站信息中心,并推动你的车,访问游览缆车,访问Hellbrunn公园Schloss米拉贝尔公园。

nationalpark贝希特斯加登也建议如果你有时间。非常漂亮!

总之,酒店的位置还是不错的。环境是良好的。房间是干净的。酒店的服务很简单。互联网服务不是好($ 8/3小时)。酒店的食物是不好的。租车建议。如果你不能讲德语,你会觉得人是不友好的。

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank allmylifetw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Johann im Pongau
14.6 mi away
Alpenland Sporthotel
Alpenland Sporthotel
#3 of 7 in Maria Alm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alpendorf
Hotel Alpendorf
#2 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sonnhof Alpendorf
Sonnhof Alpendorf
#5 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Verwoehnhotel Berghof
Verwoehnhotel Berghof
#1 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
#4 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Oberforsthof
Hotel Oberforsthof
#6 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenland Sporthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenland Sporthotel

Property: Alpenland Sporthotel
Address: Hans Kappacherstrasse 7-9, St Johann im Pongau 5600, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > St Johann im Pongau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenland Sporthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the unique combination of international flair and traditional Austrian hospitality of Salzburger Land. The 4-star Alpenland Hotel offers an in town, central location with top-equipped rooms, luxury suites, 2 specialty restaurants, modern conference rooms, and an indoor/outdoor wellness area that guarantee a relaxing vacation. The wellness area offers an 18-meter pool, 2 hot tubs, sauna, steam bath, solarium and a garden. The fitness trainer will guide you through your training, or you can take advantage of one of the aerobic courses where you can build stamina, strength and coordination. Other highlights include two onsite outdoor tennis courts as well as nearby golf courses, bike paths and hiking trails. Sports of all types - from easy to challenging. Alpenland Sporthotel is your ideal starting point for one of the best and most attractive ski areas in Austria. Whether it's a matter of sporting activities in snow or ice, reflective hikes or idyllic sleigh rides, the Alpenland Hotel fulfills all your desires. Inhouse ski rental and shuttle bus transfer available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Alpenland Sporthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenland Sporthotel Hotel Sankt Johann Im Pongau
Alpenland Sporthotel St Johann Im Pongau, Austria - Salzburg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing