We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in a Quaint Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpenland Sporthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in a Quaint Town”
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Vacationed here for a week with a timeshare exchange. The room was labeled as "efficiency" and provided that. The views were great, but no kitchenette which made eating very expensive. One Euro is $1.50, so the cost of food was through the roof in the hotel and throughout Austria and Germany. The hotel is great for daytrips though as long as you have a rental car. The Grossglockner, Hallstatt, St. Wolfgang, Salzburg, Eagle's Nest, Munich, Dachau, and some castles are all within driving distance. Make sure you set aside money for gas and food though.

I did not take part in any of the amenities of the hotel like that sauna, hot tub, exercise room, or pools. I pretty much just slept there. Go to Harry's Pub near the hotel for some good Czech beer and great conversation. The bar in the hotel is pretty decent, try the Eggenberg Dunkel, but it is PACKED after 8. Restaurants in the hotel are good enough, but a little pricey. As mentioned above, the breakfast prices are ridiculous. 15 Euro per person for a buffet with cold cuts, bread, fruit, and some eggs if you order them from the server.

The hotel staff were mostly very polite, mainly at the front desk. The restaurant(s) staff can be a little rude, but it is like that almost everywhere in that region of the country. Load up on juice, water, sodas, and other refreshments at the local EuroSpar grocery store as these items are very expensive in the mini-fridge and in restaurants. 2.60 Euro for a tiny cup of coffee, no refills. 3 Euros for a liter of water, although the water is distilled and very good. Like I said, load up at the grocery.

Overall, Alpenland is a great base point to explore the area. The locals can be nice enough and the scenery is beautiful. Be careful driving in St Johann though as there are quite a few accidents, at least while we were there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MeddleMakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    190
    54
    12
    4
See reviews for
137
182
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Spacious hotel with good facilities including fitness, pool, jacuzzi and sauna. We got lovely rooms overlooking snow capped mountain although some rooms overlook shopping mall. Is a good base for Salzburg and surrounding attractions if you have a car.
We also visited Innsbruck and Munich so our 1 week holiday was quite hectic and enjoyable. Lots to see and do.
Hotel restaurants were good but pricey unless you went for a 1 week package which nobody should do, as it restricts your eating choice. If they could have a cheaper daily breakfast that would have been useful, Euro 75 for breakfast for a family is a bit stiff especially if some only want a light breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A_Shivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Spent a week here during a mild April to do some outdoor activities, on a timeshare exchange. Room was moderately sized with ensuite and a balcony overlooking the mountains. Had a very alpine feel. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Lots of good restaurants in the hotel and in St Johann. St Johann is easily accessible to Salzburg and Munich, perfect for day trips.

Some good leisure cycling in the area, however we were too early in the season for mountain biking. Pool and sauna were lovely (I noted the review below stating that you are supposed to be naked in the sauna - this is true but I flouted the rule and no one complained!).

Only downsides - slightly overactive heating system which made the room feel a little dry, and you have to pay for the internet which is a bit outdated these days I feel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JHOManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed for four days for skiing. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the hotel was convenient for and well-equipped especially for ski hire and pool/sauna. Beware that you are expected to be naked in sauna! Note that skiing in the area is mainly red runs and has very few blues/greens.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajlholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We wanted a four star hotel half board with pool/sauna etc. near ski slopes and the Alpenland more than catered for our needs. Staff interacted with humour, service was very good, the food was excellent and on occasion too rich (I felt embarrassed helping myself to so much lobster) and the facilities were very good and well maintained. If you want to look for cracks you can find them but if you want value for money and have a positive outlook then this is a good place to stay. Parking in the basement. Ski hire also in the basement. Reception staff very helpful. We loved it. 10 minute drive to serious ski slopes or 2 minutes to the slopes in St. Johann. Open air ice rink just round the corner. On new years eve they went over the top with fireworks; it was wonderful. It is a great place to have a winter break.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyprusMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Just returned from Christmas at the Alpenland Sporthotel. The hotel is very cosy and the rooms have a cabin sort of feel, which seems appropriate in the setting and is nice to return to following a day of skiing. All the hotel staff are very friendly. You can rent your skis from Intersport directly at the hotel, and there is a really convenient shuttle bus from the hotel to the gondola in Alpendorf.

If you are going over Christmas, the hotel puts on a special 'do' and the food was superb given the numbers that were catered for.

Lots of nice little restaurants and shops in the town, and the hotel is very central.

The only downsides for me were that the hotel was exceptionally hot. It seemed to be overcompensating for the snow outside. However, this is subjective to my tastes. Also, the parking garage is around 35 euros for the week, which is a little steep. On the other hand, it is nice to have the car not completely frozen for a week and still be able to use your washer fluid when you leave...!

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crackerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecs, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed at Alpenland Sporthotel for a week through timeshare exchange. Our room, or rather apartment, was big enough for three of us. The room was nice, clean and comfortable, however, because of the furniture it might have been oppressive, had it been a hot summer week. The staff was helpful and friendly.

The hotel has a swimming pool, sauna, an exercise room, tennis courts, some restaurants and laundry facilities. A shopping centre is right behind the hotel.

This part of Austria has a lot to offer in the summer and Saint Johann im Pongau is a great location if you have a car. It is close to the main highway. You can make tours to castles, picturesque churches, waterfalls and nearby ice caves. Salzburg, Munich, Vienna, and even Milan are all accessible by car. The area is well worth a visit, we will definitly go back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aniko76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Johann im Pongau hotels
1.7 mi away
Verwoehnhotel Berghof
Verwoehnhotel Berghof
#1 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
183 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alpendorf
Hotel Alpendorf
#3 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
199 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
#4 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sonnhof Alpendorf
Sonnhof Alpendorf
#5 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
133 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Oberforsthof
Hotel Oberforsthof
#7 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brueckenwirt
Hotel Brueckenwirt
#12 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenland Sporthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenland Sporthotel

Property: Alpenland Sporthotel
Address: Hans Kappacherstrasse 7-9, St Johann im Pongau 5600, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > St Johann im Pongau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenland Sporthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the unique combination of international flair and traditional Austrian hospitality of Salzburger Land. The 4-star Alpenland Hotel offers an in town, central location with top-equipped rooms, luxury suites, 2 specialty restaurants, modern conference rooms, and an indoor/outdoor wellness area that guarantee a relaxing vacation. The wellness area offers an 18-meter pool, 2 hot tubs, sauna, steam bath, solarium and a garden. The fitness trainer will guide you through your training, or you can take advantage of one of the aerobic courses where you can build stamina, strength and coordination. Other highlights include two onsite outdoor tennis courts as well as nearby golf courses, bike paths and hiking trails. Sports of all types - from easy to challenging. Alpenland Sporthotel is your ideal starting point for one of the best and most attractive ski areas in Austria. Whether it's a matter of sporting activities in snow or ice, reflective hikes or idyllic sleigh rides, the Alpenland Hotel fulfills all your desires. Inhouse ski rental and shuttle bus transfer available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Alpenland Sporthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenland Sporthotel Hotel Sankt Johann Im Pongau
Alpenland Sporthotel St Johann Im Pongau, Austria - Salzburg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing