We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting Alpen ski village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alpenland Sporthotel
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting Alpen ski village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

Spacious hotel with good facilities including fitness, pool, jacuzzi and sauna. We got lovely rooms overlooking snow capped mountain although some rooms overlook shopping mall. Is a good base for Salzburg and surrounding attractions if you have a car.
We also visited Innsbruck and Munich so our 1 week holiday was quite hectic and enjoyable. Lots to see and do.
Hotel restaurants were good but pricey unless you went for a 1 week package which nobody should do, as it restricts your eating choice. If they could have a cheaper daily breakfast that would have been useful, Euro 75 for breakfast for a family is a bit stiff especially if some only want a light breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A_Shivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    162
    43
    12
    4
See reviews for
119
150
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Spent a week here during a mild April to do some outdoor activities, on a timeshare exchange. Room was moderately sized with ensuite and a balcony overlooking the mountains. Had a very alpine feel. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Lots of good restaurants in the hotel and in St Johann. St Johann is easily accessible to Salzburg and Munich, perfect for day trips.

Some good leisure cycling in the area, however we were too early in the season for mountain biking. Pool and sauna were lovely (I noted the review below stating that you are supposed to be naked in the sauna - this is true but I flouted the rule and no one complained!).

Only downsides - slightly overactive heating system which made the room feel a little dry, and you have to pay for the internet which is a bit outdated these days I feel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JHOManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed for four days for skiing. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the hotel was convenient for and well-equipped especially for ski hire and pool/sauna. Beware that you are expected to be naked in sauna! Note that skiing in the area is mainly red runs and has very few blues/greens.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajlholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

We wanted a four star hotel half board with pool/sauna etc. near ski slopes and the Alpenland more than catered for our needs. Staff interacted with humour, service was very good, the food was excellent and on occasion too rich (I felt embarrassed helping myself to so much lobster) and the facilities were very good and well maintained. If you want to look for cracks you can find them but if you want value for money and have a positive outlook then this is a good place to stay. Parking in the basement. Ski hire also in the basement. Reception staff very helpful. We loved it. 10 minute drive to serious ski slopes or 2 minutes to the slopes in St. Johann. Open air ice rink just round the corner. On new years eve they went over the top with fireworks; it was wonderful. It is a great place to have a winter break.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyprusMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

Just returned from Christmas at the Alpenland Sporthotel. The hotel is very cosy and the rooms have a cabin sort of feel, which seems appropriate in the setting and is nice to return to following a day of skiing. All the hotel staff are very friendly. You can rent your skis from Intersport directly at the hotel, and there is a really convenient shuttle bus from the hotel to the gondola in Alpendorf.

If you are going over Christmas, the hotel puts on a special 'do' and the food was superb given the numbers that were catered for.

Lots of nice little restaurants and shops in the town, and the hotel is very central.

The only downsides for me were that the hotel was exceptionally hot. It seemed to be overcompensating for the snow outside. However, this is subjective to my tastes. Also, the parking garage is around 35 euros for the week, which is a little steep. On the other hand, it is nice to have the car not completely frozen for a week and still be able to use your washer fluid when you leave...!

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crackerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecs, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed at Alpenland Sporthotel for a week through timeshare exchange. Our room, or rather apartment, was big enough for three of us. The room was nice, clean and comfortable, however, because of the furniture it might have been oppressive, had it been a hot summer week. The staff was helpful and friendly.

The hotel has a swimming pool, sauna, an exercise room, tennis courts, some restaurants and laundry facilities. A shopping centre is right behind the hotel.

This part of Austria has a lot to offer in the summer and Saint Johann im Pongau is a great location if you have a car. It is close to the main highway. You can make tours to castles, picturesque churches, waterfalls and nearby ice caves. Salzburg, Munich, Vienna, and even Milan are all accessible by car. The area is well worth a visit, we will definitly go back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aniko76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

Just returned from our first trip to Austria, staying at the Sporthotel through timeshare exchange. Along the lines of previous reviews, rooms were dated back to the 80's with curtains/duvet/furniture. Interval rates the hotel as a gold exchange but compared with resorts we usually stay it is more in line with a silver.

The best parts of the resort are the town/activities nearby. We did tours to Salzburg, Eagle's Nest, Ice Caves, and several hikes through the mountains right out the back door of the hotel. There is so much to do in the area that a single week will feel rushed. We walked to the hotel from the train station 10-15 minutes depending on your pace, and used the trains to get places all week.

Even with the outdated decor and overrating it has received, we agreed that we would stay in this hotel again because of the area and activities it offers. Would love to go back during ski season but tough to get a room. Many ski hills within minutes of the resort, make for good hiking in the summer, great skiing in the winter.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bsbeckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Johann im Pongau
14.6 mi away
Alpenland Sporthotel
Alpenland Sporthotel
#2 of 7 in Maria Alm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alpendorf
Hotel Alpendorf
#3 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sonnhof Alpendorf
Sonnhof Alpendorf
#5 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Verwoehnhotel Berghof
Verwoehnhotel Berghof
#1 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
Alpina Family, Spa & Sporthotel
#4 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Oberforsthof
Hotel Oberforsthof
#6 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenland Sporthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenland Sporthotel

Property: Alpenland Sporthotel
Address: Hans Kappacherstrasse 7-9, St Johann im Pongau 5600, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > St Johann im Pongau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St Johann im Pongau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenland Sporthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the unique combination of international flair and traditional Austrian hospitality of Salzburger Land. The 4-star Alpenland Hotel offers an in town, central location with top-equipped rooms, luxury suites, 2 specialty restaurants, modern conference rooms, and an indoor/outdoor wellness area that guarantee a relaxing vacation. The wellness area offers an 18-meter pool, 2 hot tubs, sauna, steam bath, solarium and a garden. The fitness trainer will guide you through your training, or you can take advantage of one of the aerobic courses where you can build stamina, strength and coordination. Other highlights include two onsite outdoor tennis courts as well as nearby golf courses, bike paths and hiking trails. Sports of all types - from easy to challenging. Alpenland Sporthotel is your ideal starting point for one of the best and most attractive ski areas in Austria. Whether it's a matter of sporting activities in snow or ice, reflective hikes or idyllic sleigh rides, the Alpenland Hotel fulfills all your desires. Inhouse ski rental and shuttle bus transfer available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alpenland Sporthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenland Sporthotel Hotel Sankt Johann Im Pongau
Alpenland Sporthotel St Johann Im Pongau, Austria - Salzburg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing