We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent family Pension”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rauchkuchl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rauchkuchl
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent family Pension”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed in the pension Rauchkuchl for a week in February with double room.
Good Breakfast
Friendly owner
Good Value
1 minutes walk to Ski Bus
Internet WIfi worked
the best Steaks in Steakhouse downstairs

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizJones2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valby, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Rauchkuchl have three rooms on top of the restaurant/bar "Steak Haus" and an apartment for up to 8 people on the top floor.
We visited February 2014 and were 8 family members traveling together.
The room for 2 people towards the street had a worn out bed and some noise from the street and the bar below.
The room for 2 people next to this had a better bed and not so much noise from the street, but some noise from the bar.
The room for 4 people had reasonable beds, but the heating was stuck at maximum.

The apartment was not noisy and a better stay. It had two rooms with 4 beds each, a combined kitchen/living room with simpel tools for cooking and a refigerator with no freezer. Also here the heating was broken. If you can get a good price, it is just recommendable.

The Steak Haus had excellent steaks, but you must wait some time for it to be served.

If you need to rent skies, "Ski-stadl" also known as "Rot Weiss Rot" are only recommendable for basic equipment. The selection range is small and some skies and boots are quite worn. Most people on the mountain rented at "SnoWorld" so you should probably check that out.

Room Tip: The apartment on the top floor is adequate, but the heating is stuck at maximum, so we opened the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlsfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Normally I hate writing reviews but this restaurant and the hotel is one of the best I've ever been. My boyfriend surprised me with a romantic prolonged weekend in Rauchkuchl in Sankt Johann im Pongau. I've never been here before and my expectations were met over to 1000 percent. The staff was friendly professional and helpful. They advised us where to go on trips and walks. The owners were very smiling and they spent time with us with drink. So much familial and intimate atmosphere! Perfect! When we tasted the steaks here we don´t want to go anywhere! Absolutely delicious and large portions! And our room i love it so beautiful historic suites. I fall in love into this place this restaurant and staff! I hope I´ll be coming back. <3

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I have visited many countries and tasted a lot of food but in this restaurant was me recommended steak Viktorator and it's really the best food I've ever eaten!!
Smilling, pleasant,super waiters, beautiful accommodation, 1 minute from the ski bus that takes you to the ski resort ..
This holiday was really great! :) Thank owners Steakhaus Rauchkuch!!!
P. S. They make excellent Pina colada :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katarinakatka Š
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Johann im Pongau hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Oberforsthof
Hotel Oberforsthof
#6 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpenland Sporthotel
Alpenland Sporthotel
#2 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alpendorf
Hotel Alpendorf
#3 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sonnhof Alpendorf
Sonnhof Alpendorf
#5 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brueckenwirt
Hotel Brueckenwirt
#12 of 15 in St Johann im Pongau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.5 mi away
Forsthof Pension
Forsthof Pension
#1 of 22 in St Johann im Pongau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rauchkuchl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rauchkuchl

Property: Rauchkuchl
Address: Liechtensteinklammstrasse 1, St Johann im Pongau 5600, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > St Johann im Pongau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in St Johann im Pongau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rauchkuchl 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rauchkuchl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rauchkuchl St Johann Im Pongau, Austria - Salzburg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing