We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Salzkammergut, little improvements would make a big difference”
Review of Hotel Kendler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Kendler
Ranked #3 of 16 St Gilgen B&B and Inns
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good location for Salzkammergut, little improvements would make a big difference”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is charming and well maintained. It was clean. The room we had was very, very large--too big, in fact. We didn't know what to do with all the space. And oddly enough, the bathroom was sooo small, that it just made the room more obviously too big. Small bathrooms don't usually bother me; it was just strange that two people could not stand in the bathroom and the toilet area was very cramped, when you had such an enormous room. The beds were horrible. They were worn out--hard, but worn so that there wasn't any support and you could feel a lot of sagging. A refrigerator would have been nice in a room so large.

The staff was friendly. The gentleman that I assumed was the owner was not nearly as friendly as the staff in the restaurant and at breakfast, but he seemed very rushed and busy.

The hotel room was noisy. There is no a.c. so we had the windows open and it was impossible to sleep in, as the church bells rang extremely loud and the traffic was non-stop. I am sure the traffic had to do with the busy season, but is something to keep in mind. You are right in the middle of a main square and you hear all the traffic. The church bells seem like they would be a nice wake-up call, but...not so much for us in the end.

Good location for the area, would not return ourselves, but would recommend the hotel to a friend that really wanted to go to St. Gilgen.

I should mention that we were not that taken with St. Gilgen in general--I think it had to do with the time of the year. It was in August, during a high season, and it was sooo busy with tourists and day-trippers that it felt hollow and "staged." It felt packed all the time and lost the quaint feeling we were hoping for. I would prefer a smaller town or something a bit off the grid next time, as it was so busy that there were no spaces to lay out at the public swimming area--defeats the point of a "lakeside retreat." Not a fault of the hotel, just a quick mention regarding the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
AYRSHIRE SCOTLAND
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Myself and two friends stayed here for one week on the half board option we found it all to be excellent , our room was huge plenty room for the 3 of us and really comfy beds and cleaned every day. The hotel is in the center of the town and a few mins walk to the lake. Breakfast was the usual continental choices with lovely fresh baked rolls , dinner was 3 courses of traditional austrian food it was excellent very tasty filling and presented well , the waitresses and waiters were very friendly , we were given complementary schnapps on our first evening that was a nice touch , i will definately return to st gilgen and the hotel kendler .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIL413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We chose St Gilgen and this Hotel back in January 2013 after after researching the area and its central location in the lakes area but close enough to Salzburg.
Following our cycle tour our stay was for a full week to relax and enjoy the spectacular local area of lakes and mountains.
Our room was large with 2 windows, and was thoroughly cleaned every day . Food at the hotel was fantastic, with good portion sizes. We tried most of the menu over the week and could not be happier with type of meals served, being tasty and presented professionally.
Hotel Kendler staff where great and always served us with a smile.
As a family run Hotel they worked extremely hard to please all there guests, with attentive and professional service.
We especially enjoyed our late afternoon Aparol Spritzers, local beer and local atmosphere that go with warm summer evenings.

Great location, in the main square 2 minutes walk to lake and hiking paths.
Easy access to surrounding lakes, attractions and villages via car or ferry.
A highlight for us was instead of taking cog railway, we scaled the Schafsberg Mountain by foot from St Gilgen and the descent to St Wolfgang via hiking trails. 7 hrs,but the spectacular views up and down was well worth the effort.

If you are looking for a active holiday and spectacular scenery look up St Gilgen and Hotel Kendler.


Warm Regards


Darryl and Brigitte
Margaret River WA
Australia

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiwi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pegli, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I had a fantastic holiday with my family. is a great hotel, excellent food, the staff is professional. The location is central. Suitable for families with children. The photos and description match reality. I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emiliano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

For the price I wasn't expecting what I found. This little hotel is located in a very nice little town right on the water front of Lake Woldgangsee. They were very friendly and knew English enough to help me get taken care of and find my way around town for the evening. There was plenty of room and comfortable bed. For the price I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Troy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

if you want to spend a fairy tales holiday,go to Sankt Gilgen and stay in hotel Kendler,friendly people,good food in their restaurant,very clean,free internet and parking,in the middle of the village which is a traditional austrian one ,30 km from Salzburg,I'll recommend to those who want to spend a beautiful holiday

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Felicia_Mihalceanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

The hotel was very clean and comfortable the staff friendly and helpful.
Very good location in the middle of the village just a few minutes from the ferry terminal.
St Gilgen and lake Wolfgang are very picturesque although this is not a hoiday destination for anyone looking for nightlife.
My only slight complaint about the Hotel Kendler would be the food at the evening meal(breakfast was fine) and I would rather this be taken as advise because it is a very nice hotel..
Although the hotel has a a la carte restaurent, which was popular, none of the items on the menu were served to the hotel guests (who eat in a seperate room).
There was only two choices for the main course and no choice of sweet.
On three occasions we did not eat what was served but no one asked why or offered an alterative. Also the soup was alway served with a large dollop of squirty cream, not everyones choice.
I think that if they offered a better evening meal selection guests would be prepared to pay a little more as the present rates are reasonable.
Sleep quality regarding the comfort of the beds was good, however the nearby church does play its bells early in the morning, but guests in other hotels must hear them also (did not bother me).

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would have a good outlook the room on the second floor had small balconys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimmy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendler, Manager at Hotel Kendler, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
The guest had booked with crystal holidays. He booked halfboard. The website from crystal holidays says: Meals· buffet breakfast · 3 course evening meals with choice of main course. The guests have always the possiblity to tell in the morning, that they don't like the menu in the evening. But this guest didn't tell us about. They also can eat a la carte, when they pay supplement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Gilgen
1.1 mi away
Gasthof Furberg
Gasthof Furberg
#1 of 10 in St Gilgen
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gasthof zur Post
Gasthof zur Post
#3 of 10 in St Gilgen
115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sonnwirt
Hotel Sonnwirt
#8 of 10 in St Gilgen
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel Billroth
Parkhotel Billroth
#4 of 10 in St Gilgen
101 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Pension Carossa
Hotel Pension Carossa
#7 of 10 in St Gilgen
24 reviews
4.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kendler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kendler

Property: Hotel Kendler
Address: Kirchenplatz 3, St Gilgen 5340, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > St Gilgen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in St Gilgen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kendler 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kendler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kendler Hotel Sankt Gilgen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing