We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a beautiful holiday”
Review of Hotel Kendler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Kendler
Ranked #11 of 16 St Gilgen B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 12, 2012

if you want to spend a fairy tales holiday,go to Sankt Gilgen and stay in hotel Kendler,friendly people,good food in their restaurant,very clean,free internet and parking,in the middle of the village which is a traditional austrian one ,30 km from Salzburg,I'll recommend to those who want to spend a beautiful holiday

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Felicia_Mihalceanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 29 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2011

The hotel was very clean and comfortable the staff friendly and helpful.
Very good location in the middle of the village just a few minutes from the ferry terminal.
St Gilgen and lake Wolfgang are very picturesque although this is not a hoiday destination for anyone looking for nightlife.
My only slight complaint about the Hotel Kendler would be the food at the evening meal(breakfast was fine) and I would rather this be taken as advise because it is a very nice hotel..
Although the hotel has a a la carte restaurent, which was popular, none of the items on the menu were served to the hotel guests (who eat in a seperate room).
There was only two choices for the main course and no choice of sweet.
On three occasions we did not eat what was served but no one asked why or offered an alterative. Also the soup was alway served with a large dollop of squirty cream, not everyones choice.
I think that if they offered a better evening meal selection guests would be prepared to pay a little more as the present rates are reasonable.
Sleep quality regarding the comfort of the beds was good, however the nearby church does play its bells early in the morning, but guests in other hotels must hear them also (did not bother me).

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would have a good outlook the room on the second floor had small balconys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jimmy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendler, Manager at Hotel Kendler, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

The guest had booked with crystal holidays. He booked halfboard. The website from crystal holidays says: Meals· buffet breakfast · 3 course evening meals with choice of main course. The guests have always the possiblity to tell in the morning, that they don't like the menu in the evening. But this guest didn't tell us about. They also can eat a la carte, when they pay supplement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I stayed here with my wife and 13 year old daughter at the end of May, beginning of June. The hotel is of traditional style with lovely big bedrooms. The rooms and the rest of the hotel are kept immaculately clean. The food was excellent but as my daughter said the portions were for "super size" people. After a week, with all the walking in the fresh air you begin to build up your appetite!

A beautiful town not as touristy as St. Wolfgang which is in easy reach by the ferry or a walk over the Pilgrims Way. We also made it to the summer tobogan runs at both Strobl and Fuschal; both well worth a visit.

The Wieswand Bar has lovely views over St. Gilgen but I would recommend getting the cable car to the top of the Zwolferhorn and walking the 2 hours down to the Weiswand, which was far easier than the 30 min walk up!

If you are staying in St. Gilgen I would recommend the Kendler.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KentFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We were a party of 14 ( all ages) celebrating a wedding and Christmas in the beautiful town of St Gilgen situated on Lake Wolfgansee. Lots of snow, christmas lights and market. We could not have picked a better place to stay than The Hotel Kendler. The family owners Maria and Josef ( and baby Nicholas) were delightful. Lovely, warm, spacious bedrooms with modern ensuite bathrooms We had a balcony so stunning views of the snow-capped mountains. Great food in the Restaurant, cold buffet breakfast with gorgeous fresh rolls aneach morning. Traditional Austrian food served for lunch and Dinner. The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of the town, next to the church, yes the bells do ring now and again but you get used to it and it adds to the charm. Call in to Barbarossa, lovely bar, restaurant run by Ursula and Hubert, wonderful people, fabulous food. Lots of little bars, cafes and restaurants in the town. Take the hourly service Post bus to Salzburg, 11 euros return, 45 minute journey but worth it, Salzburg is absolutely fabulous. We all agreed the holiday was " magical "

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gbtravel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Our Annual holiday (to Austria), booked 4 weeks before take off, and not at this hotel! Two days before we leave, a call from the tour operator says they've double-booked the hotel and we've been moved to the Hotel Kendler next door. Pictures look ok, but I wanted a room with a balcony, and now we're not going to get one, time to throw the toys out of the pram! This is going to be the first holiday in Austria I'm going to hate!

Our room was surprisingly large with 2 windows, and was thoroughly cleaned every day (they couldn't wait for us to go to breakfast!). Food at the hotel was fantastic, and there was plenty of it, including a special meal on your last night, where you just ate til you exploded. We were always served with a smile and had many a joke with the waiter and waitresses.

As for location, well smack bang in the middle of the main square or triangle, whichever way you looked at it, but it was a little noisy at 6 in the morning when the delivery vans arrived.

On the downside, if you're looking for a hotel with a late night party attitude, then not only is this not the place for you, but St Gilgen is not the village for you either! All hotels seem to want to close at 10pm, though there is a nearby cafe open til 11, and a bar open til 5am for the hardened Jack Daniels drinker, which of course I'm not......er um!

All in all, what started out as a holiday I was trying to hate as I had my heart set on the hotel next door, turned out to be a fantastic holiday mainly due to our stay at the Hotel Kendler..................fate brought us together!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vrooom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

The hotel is a good 3 stars-hotel with nice, big rooms and a very good restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DimitriThessaloniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

I can't disagree more with some of the surprisingly critical comments contained in previous reviews - my stay there was perfect! The accommodation (not bad for a 3-star) and restaurant are very Austrian, the location perfect for me, right in the centre of what is a beautiful village. Furthermore, I found the attitude of the young owners to be very pleasant, welcoming, helpful and attentive. Equally, the restaurant waitress provided excellent service and the food (I had grilled trout followed by a superbly prepared desert, pancake with ice cream) was first-rate. I would happily recommend this hotel as a comfortable, informal 3-star, especially for the money (45 Euros for a single room).

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank John_Lance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Gilgen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hollweger
Hollweger
#1 of 10 in St Gilgen
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gasthof zur Post
Gasthof zur Post
#3 of 10 in St Gilgen
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schernthaner
Hotel Schernthaner
#1 of 16 in St Gilgen
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pension Falkensteiner
Hotel Pension Falkensteiner
#2 of 16 in St Gilgen
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haus Mayerhofer
Haus Mayerhofer
#3 of 16 in St Gilgen
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jugendgaestehaus St. Gilgen
Jugendgaestehaus St. Gilgen
#5 of 10 in St Gilgen
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kendler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kendler

Address: Kirchenplatz 3, St Gilgen 5340, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > St Gilgen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in St Gilgen
Price Range: $82 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kendler 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kendler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kendler Hotel Sankt Gilgen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing