We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not assume your booking will be honoured.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gasthof Furberg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gasthof Furberg
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in St Gilgen
Certificate of Excellence
preston, lancashire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Do not assume your booking will be honoured.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

After a great week in Austria staying at two other hotels without any problems we arrived at the Gasthof Hotel Fürberg early and therefore decided to walk the 30 minutes to St Gilgen as it was too early to check in. It was a hot day and when we returned and collected the bags from the car we were looking forward to checking into our room and getting a cold drink. We were then told that we didn't actually have a room because the booking hadn't been confirmed and the hotel was fully booked. I produced my expedia letter clearly stating that it was a confirmed booking and that I did not need to contact anybody to confirm anything further but was told the room had been given to somebody else and no rooms were available. The hotel was very busy with a wedding and it is possible they had given the room to a guest of that wedding. So there we were, in another country, hot and tired and being told that the room we had booked and received a confirmation email for had been given away and there was nothing that could or would be done. This was our honeymoon and the rest of the day was spent finding alternative accomodation elsewhere, thank you Gasthof Hotel Fürberg for ruining what would have been a fantastic week.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank d12258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gasthof F, Manager at Gasthof Furberg, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest, we are very sorry that there were complications regarding your booking. We didn't intend to complicate your trip to Austria much less to ruin your vacation. It was an honest mistake and we are about to make sure that this kind of booking problems can not happpen again. We hope you had a save trip home. Best regards, Your Gasthof Fürberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    28
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
28
58
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chipperfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were staying in St. Gilgen and enjoyed a gentle 45 minute walk to this hotel/restaurant, which is situated right beside the lake. Fortunately we were there on a beautiful day and we ate outside overlooking the lake and the mountains. The food wasn't cheap but our lunch was excellent - we realised we were probably paying for the view AND the food, but we didn't mind!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann2shoes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gasthof F, Manager at Gasthof Furberg, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest, we are happy that you enjoyed the visit in our restaurant. Quality is very important to us and we always try to create an attractive price- quality ratio for our guests. We thank you for your honest review and hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Your Team Fürberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is ideally placed if you want quietness and serenity. It is a 20 minute walk from St Gilgen, along a lakeside walk, or can be accessed by boat. But it should be noted that it is a seasonal hotel, opening usually from May to September

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nakagoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We took the suite on the 2nd floor #9 with a balcony to the lake - great view. The room was good, clean. The service was excellent and food is very good. We stayed 4 nights and we had the pleasure to have there excellent breakfasts and dinner which was perfect but a bit pricey.
The atmosphere is very relaxed and you can just feel it. We loved it there and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The rooms with the view to the lake worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erez133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Located right on Wolfgansee lake in its own gardens Furberg is about 45 mins walk from St Gilgen along a very attractive pathway that hugs the lake. The views of the lake and mountains are heavenly and I would recommend that if you stay here you choose a room with a view of the lake and a balcony, (beware not all of the descriptions in bookings.com are accurate). The rooms are not luxourious but they are very clean and comfortable and as I have said the views to die for. Furberg is a guesthouse and those looking for the pamperings of a hotel will be dissapointed. Having said that plenty is provided in terms of free bike rentals, rowing boats etc, but you have to ask for it. The restaurant is large and always busy with both day visitors and overnight guests and its the restaurant that seems to be at the core of Furberg. We found the food and service to be excelent and good value and once again the setting is splendid. Children of all ages who love the outdoors will love Furberg, whether its jumping into the lake from some nearby cliffs, swimming in the lake or cycling or hiking. If you are looking for a place away from the crowds in a beutiful setting and like good food this place is for you.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
270 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Having read the reviews on this site we thought we were walking into heaven. We did, sort of. Location is remote and the views are stunning. The restaurant was very good. We stayed in the best suite and it was beautiful. Then we met the receptionist Eureka (SP?). When she was at the front desk she was of no help and would roll her eyes and question us if we asked for help from others. If we rang the little buzzer when she wasn't there she would appear and tell us she would be right with us. She usually appeared after the second buzz. I guess she didn't want to waste the cigarette. When we went on our balcony the first night, there were spiders everywhere. Some small but mostly large. I am allergic to spiders. When we told her about it her response was, "Spiders Bite"? She did not take me seriously even when I explained what happens if I was bit. Told us she would take care of it the next day. We stayed inside. This review would be 6 pages long if I explained all her inadequacies. The concierge, Michaela was wonderful. Full of knowledge, always with a smile and a good word. Very helpful. The only problem was, she was involved in many facets of the hotel and was not always available. That left us with the other one. Never felt very comfortable or welcome. We left a day early. They did sweep the spiders away on a daily basis. I know most of the reviews for this hotel are very good but our stay was mixed. They do seem to cater more to the paying lunch and dinner guests than the hotel guests. I hope your experience here is what we thought it would be. It is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelbound44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Have visited this wonderful spot many times over the last fifteen years and it never disappoints. Family Ebner always welcoming and if possible, the food improves year upon year. Many thanks for yet another relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Gilgen
1.1 mi away
Gasthof zur Post
Gasthof zur Post
#1 of 10 in St Gilgen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hollweger
Hollweger
#2 of 10 in St Gilgen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
3.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Parkhotel Billroth
Parkhotel Billroth
#4 of 10 in St Gilgen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
3.6 mi away
Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
3.3 mi away
Hotel Cortisen am See
Hotel Cortisen am See
#2 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Furberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Furberg

Property: Gasthof Furberg
Address: Fuerbergstrasse 30, St Gilgen 5340, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > St Gilgen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in St Gilgen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gasthof Furberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Gasthof Furberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Furberg Sankt Gilgen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing