We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central, old, nice but pretty rusty” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kendler Restaurant

Hotel Kendler Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 33 Restaurants in St Gilgen
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Central, old, nice but pretty rusty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

ThThe restaurant is located right in the city center. The food is not the best but good enough. I recommend the mixed grill. They have also a menu for children's. Common sense prices.e restaurant is located right in the city center. The food is not spectacular but good enough. I recommend the mixed grill. They have also a menu for children's.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mgabrielro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    34
    15
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tasty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The food is very tasty, but the portions are small.
The service is efficient, but you can't get a smile :(
We were surprised that we can't get a simple glass of water unless we bought one.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank shonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, England
Level Contributor
144 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Restaurant Hotel kendler”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We only had Apple Strudel and coffee, but after various tastings of strudel in different locations, this was at the top of our list!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

The Kendler looks nice from outside but as soon as we entered we realised our mistake. The ambience is awful, more like a canteen than a restaurant.

Food was so so, and service was more like a fast food cafe than a restauarant.

A much better place, just up the street, is Gastof zur post, which I can't find on trip advisor

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelholley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Guest friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We ate at this hotel two evenings running becuase of the excellent food and the very friendly staff and local customers who accept visitors graciously

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Britdgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Kendler Restaurant also viewed

St Gilgen, Salzburg Region
St Gilgen, Salzburg Region
 
St Gilgen, Salzburg Region
St Gilgen, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Hotel Kendler Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing