We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Zwolferhorn Cable Car
Book In Advance
More Info
$818.04*
and up
Private Customized Hallstatt Full Day Tour
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in St Gilgen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent a half day whilst waiting for friends to arrive on the bus (st gilgen bus stop is next door to the cable car) taking a ride up the mountain and having a walk. The cable car is an oldie but still a goodie. Cabins hold 4 people so perfect or a family travelling together. At the top there are plenty of places for a drink and lots of different marked paths for hiking. We did the panorama walk which took about an hour and a half with kids and rest stops. At the end we enjoyed a well earnt drink watching the paragliders. Cheaper than the schafberg railway and probably more fun for our family.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Townriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    59
    20
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful views!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a pleasant way to travel up a mountain! It was a very smooth ride and got to the top in about 15 minutes. Once there, you have a very good selection of walks on well marked paths and with varying degrees of difficulty. It was very clear on the day we visited and the views are stunning!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeNewton53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Stunning counterpoint to the Schafberg”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Not as busy as the cog railway in St Wolfgang nor, indeed, as expensive but as with the Schafberg the views are astonishing on a clear day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DellandSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great views and good walks”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Old fashioned cable cars, but a nice journey up with lovely views of the lakes. At the top there are bars/ restaurants but also amazing views and paths leading to several walks. Worth the trip, although it is a bit pricey.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank razzybintheplacetobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had never been in a cable car before but had seen plenty of movies where they get stuck!
This one goes from St Gilgen on Lake Wolfgangsee up Zwolferhorn. From the base you can only see about a quarter of the way up so when we reached this point we were amazed at how much further we had to go. It took about 15 minutes to get to the top.
Only four people allowed per car but as it was not busy we had one car just for the two of us.
The views as you go up are wonderful but when you get to the top it is absolutely breathtaking. You can literally see for miles. You can see four different lakes and numerous peaks.
One bonus was there were paragliders taking off from the peak. We sat for ages watching each of them get ready and then take off - amazing.
One word of warning: be prepared for a frosty reception at the cafe up there. We only wanted a coffee each but the proprietor seemed rather peeved that that was all we had.
Highly recommended experience although a little pricey at about 20 euros each but well worth it - or you could always walk it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank delboy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zwolferhorn Cable Car also viewed

 
St. Wolfgang, Upper Austria
St Gilgen, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Zwolferhorn Cable Car? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing