We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super nice B&B”
Review of Hotel Schernthaner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Schernthaner
Ranked #1 of 16 St Gilgen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Super friendly staff, nice size room and bathroom, very clean, great location, excellent breakfast, ideal location - perfect combination for a lovely stay. We only wish we had booked more than 2 nights! Not only would we return to St. Gilgen, but would definitely return to the charming and traditional Schernthaner. Of our three week trip of Bavaria and northern Austria, this hotel was one of our favorites! Thank you for a delightful stay!

Room Tip: The balcony rooms in the front have a wonderful view, but the street can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbofsrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 119 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights.
The hotel is located just few steps from the pictures lovely center of St. Gilgen.
The room was large,spacious and clean. It looks like it was recently renovated.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Hotel Schernthaner is a lovely old Austrian hotel on the edge of the delightful small lakeside town of St. Gilgen. It is owner run by a very friendly family, the welcome when we arrived was delightful and we were shown where to park in their car park on the other side of the street (next to the police station). The room we had on the second floor was large and bright and had a large balcony overlooking the street. Unusually for a small traditional Austrian hotel there is a lift - this isn't easily visible when you walk in, it's on the right-hand side and reception is on the first floor. Breakfast was a large buffet with choices that should satisfy most guests. The hotel is only a short walk to the lake through the pretty main streets and squares.

A delightful stay and we'd certainly stay here if we returned to St. Gilgen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is the first time I have felt the need to write a review of any accommodation we have stayed in. We have just returned (August 2013) after a week at the Schernthaner and it was perfect. A very warm welcome from the owner, a lovely clean room on the 3rd floor with a lake view from the balcony and a good buffet breakfast each day. We arrived via local bus from the airport which is easy to manage but had a taxi at the end of the holiday due to an early flight. Owner of guest house booked the taxi for us at considerably lower price than those advertising online. St Gilgen is picture book stuff and we walked, cycled, swam in the lake, visited local towns by local buses and ferries and hired electric bikes one day. A week was not long enough! We will definitely return to this hotel as it is a gem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here in June for 4 nights, the rooms are lovely with a small balcony you can sit out on. The beds are really comfy and the rooms are very homely, clean and comfortable with everything you need including a small fridge, the owner is very friendly. We took the 150 bus from Salzburg €6.20 took 45 minutes, the bus station is a 2 minute walk to the hotel you can see it as you pull in. The town is very picturesque, plenty of places to eat and drink! The hotel has quite a few bikes that you can use, so we went on a bike ride to the next town round the lake, there are plenty of places to stop and have a drink lakeside, the views are amazing and the lake is clear blue, great for swimming. We also took the ferry to St Wolfgang and also walked over to Furberg lovely place would definitely go back :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suehills33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel is easily found from the main road which bypasses St Gilgen village and free parking is available in the street nearby. The manageress was most welcoming and helpful and our room with balcony was very comfortable with all facilities. The breakfast buffet was excellent.
Overall, great Austrian hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were deeply overwhelmed by the hospitality of the staff.

The decoration and layout in the hotel is also impressive.

The hotel provides free bicycles, which is also a plus.

Maybe it is a pity that the hotel does not provide dinner - the number of restaurants in the town is not enough, especially in autumn.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatSkunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Gilgen
0.2 mi away
Hollweger
Hollweger
#1 of 10 in St Gilgen
153 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gasthof Furberg
Gasthof Furberg
#2 of 10 in St Gilgen
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gasthof zur Post
Gasthof zur Post
#3 of 10 in St Gilgen
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sonnwirt
Hotel Sonnwirt
#10 of 10 in St Gilgen
39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Billroth
Parkhotel Billroth
#4 of 10 in St Gilgen
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schernthaner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schernthaner

Address: Schwarzenbrunnerstrasse 4, St Gilgen 5340, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > St Gilgen
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in St Gilgen
Price Range: $127 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schernthaner 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Schernthaner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schernthaner Hotel Sankt Gilgen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing