We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest opinion”
Review of Hotel Haus Wolf

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Haus Wolf
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Honest opinion”
Reviewed March 23, 2008

Having read the mixed reviews before our trip we went with an open mind. It is true that the hotel reception area is very opulent and the spa facilities great. The outdoor jacuzzi was fab, but the indoor pool is very cold. The indoor relaxation rooms complete with water beds and hot relaxing beds are lovely. However if you are a vegetarian beware. There are very few options, It was only after we complained that that we had a choice. Even so they still didn't grasp the concept as they gave me soup with salmon dumplings etc ! Even the meat eaters were less than impressed with the selection of food and the strange combinations of food. The service was excellent and staff friendly. Now to the rooms. Crap. We always take the view that a room is just to sleep in but these were little bigger than a rabbit hutch. You could not pass two people around the bed, and in the bathroom it is very god if you have D&V because the sink is so close to the toilet. Our friends had a balcony room which they paid extra for which was slightly bigger. The location of the hotel is brill, it is right next to the bubble, ski school etc and the bars are within staggering distance.

  • Liked — spa
  • Disliked — food and room
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank golf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2008

Hotel haus Wolf and Pension Wolf were two seperate buildings. recently joined together by the addition of the 5* Alpine Paridise resort. so great reception, great wellness centre, great outdoor pool & hot tub which is all brand new. BUT the rooms are in the old part of Haus wolf, they are billed as big enough for 3 beds which is an out and out LIE two singles within one frame leave enough room to walk round the bed sideways. THE BATHROOM IS ABSOLUTELY TINY. it measures 5 feet square and they cram in a bath toilet and sink. The restaraunt is in the old Haus Wolf and was excellent, the food was excellent. the drinks are expensive. when they upgrade the accommodation and knock 2 bedrooms into one (which its rumoured they will) then this will be a fantastic place to stay. until then beware or pay extra and ensure you pay extra and get a new room in the Alpine paradise, but you might have to speqak in a German accent to get one.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Joandgeorgette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels

cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2008

Hinterglemm was a lovely resort, we spent xmas 2007 here. The only fall back is the euro pop belting out of some of the bars as you want a apres ski drink. Ski school was good also, fab instructor called Jurine in the B group, recommed to anyone.

Hotel wolf obviously spent the money on the reception and the spa area rather than the rooms, we stayed in one of the old rooms which really needed updating, but they were clean, just very small. Hotel staff were lovely, very proffesional. The wine waiter is a great character and brillant at recommending wines for the 5 course meals.

The only real fault was that the hotel was still a smoking hotel, and you could not avoid this anywhere in the hotel. The meals were served with other people smoking during the courses, despite us asking the staff to be moved they could not really facilitate a no smoking table to eat at. This some what spoilt our holiday to be honest.

Would return to Hinterglemm but not to Hotel Wolf

  • Liked — The spa area
  • Disliked — The smoking hotel
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tophats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2007

There is no point repeating what has already been said - fully agree with everything. We were slightly worried about the noise from the hotel apres-ski bar (we were in room 114) but as we were only in the room to shower before dinner, by the time we returned at 10.30pm the music had stopped.

We both tried the on-site spa facilities (massages) which weren't the best we have ever had but still enjoyable after a hard day's skiing.

I had read in ski-guide books that Hinterglemm was lively but to be honest this wasn't the case.

Would fully recommend this hotel to anyone - food is great, lovely bar area and staff are extremely friendly.

I would fully concur with the views about the level of blue runs - we actually found that many of the red runs were easier. Skiing down to Saalbach is recommended and we found a lovely chalet restaurant at the bottom of the chair lift in Saalbach which served ribs cooked on an outdoor barbecue.

Overall, a great holiday.

  • Liked — the very relaxed atmosphere both in the bar and restaurant
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AR&RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2007

Austrians really know how to celebrate the New Year so we have been joining them for the past few years now.

Having previously stayed in Saalbach, this year, we chose Hinterglemm as it's the slightly quieter resort of the two villages, which are linked by the Ski Circus. Despite being quiter, there was more to do in Hinterglemm apres ski-wise, with a floodlit slope, toboggan run and ice rink to name but a few activities.

We stayed at the hotel Haus Wolf, part of the Wolf Hotels chain (they also have a Pension and another annex called the Pinzgauer Hof in the vicinity).

The hotel has an excellent position in the village, right next to the Reiterkogel gondola and only a five minute walk to the nursery slopes and the Zwolferkogel across the village.

The approach to the hotel is via taxi only as the streets are too narrow for a large coach to get through. Once we'd arrived, it was a bit difficult to get the luggage up the stairs (no ramp) to the reception but once in, we were greeted by a very friendly traditionally clad receptionist called Jasmin who checked us in promptly and showed us to the lift.

Our room was on the first floor, just under the bar, but the sound proofiing was excellent so we heard nothing. As we had arrived a bit early, our room wasn't made up, however, as soon as they were advised, the housekeepers apologised profusely and turned the room around immediately, The only drawback was that it was next to the stair well, so you could hear the thud of children racing up and down occasionally. The room was traditionally furnished and the bathroom was a throw back to the 1970's with zany tiles, however, it was spotless and the fixtures were modern.

We had a lovely mountain view room and a large terrace - which made the most of the spectacular torch lit decent by the ski instructors and the impressive firework display on New Year's Eve - some of the best fireworks we've seen!

The hotel has excellent spa facilities - small but just right - there's a lovely modern heated outdoor salt-water pool and jacuzzi, sauna and indoor pool, free to residents. Plus, they've introduced spa treatments and physiotherapy within the hotel, payable locally. Ski lockers in the basement are ample and secure and, above all, free of charge, as is the safe in the room.

The hotel also has a very friendly and helpful ski-hire outlet and a good ski-school attached to it, which makes it a convenient one-stop shop.

There is ample car parking either outside the hotel (free) or in the basement garage (6 Euros per day).

There are excellent apres ski snacks served around 4pm by the friendly bar staff and you'll get four course meals each evening, not to mention the usual buffet-style breakfast of cereals, breads, cold meats, cheese, preserves and, off course eggs and bacon. Food quality is high.

We had a lovely time at the Hotel Haus Wolf, though keep an eye on the 'extras' bill as you don't get to sign for the additional drinks at the time of order and the charges can easily mount up (especially at New Year's Eve!).

  • Liked — Friendly staff and comfortable environment
  • Disliked — Outdated bathroom without shower screen
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask to sign for drinks on the tab
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank twodaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, uk
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2007

I see that I am the first person to write a review for this hotel and as I normally don't book anywhere that I haven't seen a good review for first, I was apprehensive about staying at Hotel Wolf for 1 week whilst skiing in Hinterglem/Saalbach. Thankfully my stay there turned out to be a very enjoyable experience!! The hotel is in the centre of Hinterglemm, right near to one of the main ski lifts. It has 40 rooms and all of these are apparently a good size. The bar and restaurant areas are very cosy and the leisure factilities are excellent. There is a good sized indoor pool, an outdoor heated pool, a large jacuzzi outside and a sauna which we made good use off. The rooms are well equipped with sat tv which only shows CNN in english, piped in music which does have a lot of english tunes and lots of space. We initially had room 110, but after the first night asked to change to another as we were next to the stair well which echoed everyone coming up and down from the other 3 floors, plus over the kitchens were the staff started work at 6am! We were moved to room 330, also next to the stair well so still a bit noisy, but not as bad as before. I believe other guests complained about being able to hear the apres ski bar in the basement which had loud music on until 11pm. Apart from the noise the hotel is excellent and the staff cannot do enough for you. The breakfast is good and the evening meals vaired from a buffet to a 5 course meal brought to you. All the food was excellent and although we intended to eat out a few times for variety, we only left the hotel once ( and that was for my birthday!). They also do afternoon snacks for when you have finished on the slopes which is very well received after a hard days skiing.
The views from the front of the hotel are great, although it has such a position that I think every side has a good view. Hotel wolf is in the middle of Hinterglemm, but hinterglemm is so small everything is within a 10 min walk anyway. It does have a few bars and disco's, but it is not a resort that is based around a lively nightlife. Saalbach is probably a better place for that and is only 5 min drive away. The apres ski is more lively than the post 9pm nightlife, but there are certainly places to go until 4am even in hinterglemm if you can handle it!! There are not many brits at all here, so if you don't like that then don't go. It is mainly filled with German and Russion tourists, so at least food wise most things are geared towards the germans. A note about the slopes - we could ski blues quite well in les deux alpes, france, but the blues here seemed twice as steep. If your a beginner or novice, don't go here to ski unless you want to spend a week on the nursary slopes!! Otherwise its great! In summary a great hotel, but take some ear plugs in case you get a noisy room!

  • Liked — The ambience of the whole Hotel - very traditional
  • Disliked — The noise!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Take ear plugs, just in case!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank linperrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.0 mi away
Alpine Palace
Alpine Palace
#10 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zur Dorfschmiede Hotel
Zur Dorfschmiede Hotel
#40 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
THOMSN-Rock.Hotel
THOMSN-Rock.Hotel
#59 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Berger's Sporthotel
Berger's Sporthotel
#5 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonnblick
Hotel Sonnblick
#46 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bike-Hotel Conrad
Bike-Hotel Conrad
#42 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haus Wolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haus Wolf

Property: Hotel Haus Wolf
Address: Reiterkogelweg 169 | Hinterglemm, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5754, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 76 Hotels in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing