We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Enzian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Enzian
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were welcomed by the owners Kevin and Sarah on arrival and shown to our rooms that were spotless with fresh crisp bedlinen. The location of the Hotel is ideal as its a 5 min walk to the town so you don't get all the noise at night and early in the morning! The food was superb with a 3 course meal in the evening with some sumptuous desserts! Breakfast is continental with some boiled eggs, homemade jams, ham and cheese, cereals, warm crusty rolls and some wonderful coffee! We have already booked to go back next ski season! Well recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well appointed with god views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Healeyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here two years ago during the summer time and thought about how wonderful Saalbach-Hinterglemm would be in the winter. Boy, we were right! We had an absolutely fabulous time, both at Pension Enzian, and enjoying everything that the resort has to offer. Kevin and Sarah (and Ralph!) are wonderful hosts. The staff is equally as wonderful as well. You really feel like you're part of the family and at least for us, we never wanted to leave. It is well situated as ski-in, ski-out (as long as you can handle the black run that comes down the Schattberg for your final run). You can keep all of your ski gear in the downstairs equipment room. During the winter, breakfast AND dinner are part of your room price. Dinner is served at 7pm, which works perfectly for fitting in apres-ski and late night activities. Dinner also offers the opportunity to meet other guests and ski buddies for the week. We met 6 wonderful other guests and then skied, dined, and partied with them all week. Sarah and Kevin also offer guided ski days, where they show you around the resort, which definitely helps to learn your way around.

We're already planning our trip back, both to Saalbach and Pension Enzian!!!
Next time, we're bringing as many family and friends as we can with us.

Room Tip: Every room is well set up. Ask Kevin or Sarah if they have one with a balcony when booking. The balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton
Level Contributor
177 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

returned today from a weeks stay with the family.The pension is brilliant. It is in a great position 5 minute walk from the Scattberg lift, but a 15 minute walk uphill through the village from the other lifts, which is a trade off from its wonderful position. It was not ski in/out for us as the only run that goes direct to the chalet is a black, but again not a problem .The chalet itself is beautiful, really traditional, with comfortable rooms, hot water at all times, comfy beds and great views. Sarah and Kevin, and the staff were wonderful hosts and looked after our every need, and nothing was too much trouble. they were also very knowledgable about the local area. we had a 3 course meal every night, which was fixed, with no choices, but it was lovely. There was nothing the chef prepared that we didn't like. The drinks were also reasonably priced. We really could not fault this place at all and look forward to returning. Thanks to all at the Enzian

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillianweatherburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed at Pension Enzian from 11 - 18 January 2014 and are already thinking about when we can go back.
From the moment of finding Pension Enzian (on tripadvisor) we bombarded Kevin and Sarah with questions on the location, lift passes, payment options, transfers etc, and they could not have been more helpful.
Pension Enzian itself is a beautiful and lovingly restored hotel with spacious rooms and friendly staff who chat away like you are old friends.
The rooms are cleaned everyday and were spotless. The showers were hot and the beds comfortable.
We were slightly concerned to hear/read that when it came to the evening meal there wasn's a choice and that the 3 courses were predetermined with no other options but we neededn;t have worried as it was all delicious. Although Kevin & Sarah do cater for fussy eaters if you tell them in advance what you do/don't or can/can't eat and this is done with little fuss.
The bar is open from 4pm each day (apart from Wednesdays when it is closed as it is the kitchen staff night off) and you can even run up a 'tab' to be paid on your departure which we found very handy!
Pension Enzian is in a great location, marked as ski in ski out, we were unable to test this as there wasn't much snow, but its easy to see how it could be. The main village is a 5 minute walk across the road and this means Enzian has lovely views of both the mountains and the village but remains peaceful and away from the late night bar noise.
Oh and be sure to meet Ellie, the biggest, gentlest newfoundland we had ever seen!
All in all it was a superb holiday, the staff and owners were brilliant, the food was delicious and the accomodation was roomy and comfortable.

We would happily stay here again when returning to Saalbach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TmKm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed as a party of 9 for 4 days skiing at the end of January.The Pension is very well located with great views and is a couple of minutes walk up a short path from the Schattberg lift , where you can leave your skis and boots at the end of the day .It also has the advantage of being very quiet but very accessible to the centre. Our hosts Kevin and Sarah were very helpful in dealing with enquiries before our arrival and were very accommodating when we added one more to our group a fortnight before arrival.The rooms were of good size with good storage and and the restaurant/small bar area very well laid out.We all commented on the excellent quality of food.Good recommendation for our night out, too .Overall, very friendly and welcoming - great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed as a family (2 adults & an 11 month old), with grandparents and friends....as many of the other reviews have stated this is a friendly, cosy and welcoming place to stay. Sarah & Kevin were really great hosts, this was our first holiday with a baby and we were feeling a bit apprehensive about it, but they went out of their way to help, bringing us toys for my daughter to play with, arranging earlier meals for the two little 'uns in our party, providing sledges to play with and generally making us feel at home. Food was great, accommodation comfortable and spotless and the little touches like booking taxis, restaurants and ski lessons made it a perfect holiday - thanks again guys :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy_monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed as a family of four (kids 10,7). As soon as we walked through the door we felt at home and comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble for Kevin, Sarah and the team. Would definitely recommend the ski guiding days out, great fun. The food is very, very good and varied throughout the week. Kids enjoyed playing on slope outside the chalet on the sledges with Ellie the dog after skiing all day. A great holiday in a relaxed friendly atmosphere, hope to return some time soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wakoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#9 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alpine Palace
Alpine Palace
#10 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sonnleiten
Hotel Sonnleiten
#28 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#4 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berger's Sporthotel
Berger's Sporthotel
#5 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design Hotel
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design H...
#13 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Enzian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Enzian

Property: Pension Enzian
Address: Wallehenweg 337, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pension Enzian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Enzian Hotel Saalbach
Enzian Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing