We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Ski Trip”
Review of Pension Enzian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Enzian
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Birthday Ski Trip”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I'm on the last day of my ski holiday in Saalbach and whilst the snow hasn't been ideal this week, Pension Enzian has.

It's my fiance and I staying here and we have a great size double room with plenty of storage and coat hangers! Our room (room 6) has a balcony looking out towards the Bernkogel gondola whizzing up the mountain and from the other window there is a spectacular view of Saalbach town.

When we first arrived and began unpacking, I soon realised that I had forgotten my hair dryer. Not a problem, I told Kevin and he sorted me out with one. There are plenty of plug sockets around the room too which makes a nice change!

I gave 4 out of 5 for location, but that's just because I can't ski black runs. If you can, then this is a true ski to your door Chalet. Apart from that, this place sits on an elevated site, over looking the town and both sides of the valley. A 10 minute stroll takes you down into the town centre to all the bars etc

Wednesday night is the staff's night off and any of the guys here will be happy to recommend a place and book you a table if you wish. We had friends staying at the Panther Hotel so we all went to the Mexican, Pipamex for dinner. It was good, a nice restaurant inside. I don't like salt and I found the food ever so slightly salty. Not everyone noticed.

What else can I say... we've been given such a warm welcome by Kevin, Sarah and everyone else at Pension Enzian. I would mention their gorgeous dog Ellie, but I'm hoping to smuggle her home so she might not be here when you get here!

If you're considering booking here, just do it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherriBerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Excellent hotel, very friendly and helpfull staff and owners. Great food every evening. The hotel was spotless and rooms and hotel were cleaned everyday. The 2 guided ski days by Kevin are well worth doing.
The hotel is located at the bottom of the piste so you can ski into here in the evening and it's only a few minutes walk from the centre of Sallbach and the gondolla to the top of the mountain..
Although the bedroom was very nice and very clean (with access to a balcony), it was a little on the small side for 4 friends sharing.
Overall we were extremely happy with the hotel and Sallbach in general. Will definitely go back to Sallbach and the Pension Enzian again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Excellent service from friendly staff. The skiing accompanied by Kevin was a highlight.
The food was good and plentiful. The rooms were comfortable with good beds and adequate bathing facilities.
Our group felt it was good value for money and all were happy!
The skiing was excellent and the resort is lovely.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

This is a really friendly Pension that creates a homely atmosphere with great staff and owners. The property has an intimate feel that has all the fun of a catered challet whilst the privacy and facilities of a small hotel. The food was excellent and the team made everyone feel welcome to the extent all the guests became friends during the week. Don't eat too much for lunch the meals are very generous and great quality with local produce, way above expevctations.
In the winter it is ski in ski out, but beware it is on a black run to ski back. Kevin the owner took for a great days guided skiing on the Monday which showed us the area and gave us some interesting information about Saalbach Hinterglemm.
Good Boot room with warming boot pipes and plenty of space for ski's. excellent Sauna available when you ask for it to be switched on. The more basic requirements - it is very clean, warm and quiet, only a short walk from the centre of the village and becasue it is slightly outside is much quieter at night. You can have a pre or post dinner drink at your table in the restaurant which is a great place to play cards or games. Always someone there to chat to.
You will have a great stay here and I am sure you will not be disappointed with the place or the food. If you want somewhere posh and snooty it is not for you, this is homely and very friendly with everything you could need. Great for Families as long as you do not mind getting them and sli's back after a days skiing, but you can also get a store in the village which makes it very easy.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the village do not get the sun but have great balconies with good views over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

From the moment we arrived Kevin was very welcoming and directed us to the school school, hire centre, lift pass and cash point!
The Chalet only has 16 rooms which means everyone gets to know each other and all the staff know who you are and your room number by the end of the first day.
We were one of only 6 people out of the 36 staying who had not stayed here before, and the reason why they all returned was the service and cleanliness.
I stayed with my daughter in room 11 which was a nice room, with a double and a pull out bed plenty of space and warm, with a shower.
The great thing about this place is that it is vey relaxed, arrive back after 4pm have a drink in the bar, chat with the staff, exchange stories of your day's sking with the other guests. Kevin is also great for which areas to explore, where to stop and is happy to book places for you.
It is also 5 minutes from the town, we left our ski and boots at intersport so we didn't have to carry them back, or leave them at sport 2000, as it does a hill back to it.
The food is served at 7ish and was good hearty stuff all week. You can build a tab and pay cash at the end of the week for your drinks which is also really good.
On Wednesday the restaurant is closed but again Kevin was great for suggestions and we went up the mountain on the piste basher, had dinner and sledges back.
Overall we had a great time and even with Kevin and Sarah not being around for a lot of the time whilst Sarah gave birth to a boy the rest of the staff were all great and the standards never dropped.
The hotel also has free wifi which meant my daughter could keep her Facebook updated with the lastest news.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamescim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Stayed at Enzian with my wife and two friends. For a 3 star hotel, this represents good value. However the service and the staff are 5 star.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed here for a friend's wedding at the beginning of January. The location of the chalet was perfect, just 5 minutes walk into the village. The rooms were lovely and the food and wine fantastic. What made it so great though was Kevin and Sarah - nothing was too much trouble, and they arranged everything for us well beyond what you would expect. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misspingu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#8 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#1 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berger's Sporthotel
Berger's Sporthotel
#5 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpenhotel Saalbach
Alpenhotel Saalbach
#63 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
89 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Alpine Palace
Hotel Alpine Palace
#10 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bauer
Hotel Bauer
#23 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Enzian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Enzian

Property: Pension Enzian
Address: Wallehenweg 337, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pension Enzian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Enzian Hotel Saalbach
Enzian Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing