We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpine summer holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Theresia Gartenhotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Xemxija, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Alpine summer holiday!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was our second visit at Theresia Gartenhotel - the previous time we stayed for 2 weeks over Christmas. Once again we had a fantastic time. If I had to rate my favourite aspects of the hotel I'd give the food 5 stars - extremely well-prepared using lots of fresh herbs and good quality local produce; the serving staff 5 stars - professional, friendly and efficient; the adults only spa facilities 5 stars - clean, no kids! relaxing. The hotel is perfectly situated close to most of the operational gondola lifts and interesting mountain trails. As an English speaking non-European I found it a bit annoying that most of the guided mountain hikes were aimed at German speaking people - so you tend to miss out on the info they share during the hike. At the hotel all the staff are properly bilingual and they make an effort to make you feel at home. The only thing I found slightly annoying was noisy young children during breakfast. However, the hotel welcomes families of all shapes and sizes and also offers a service to look after the kids. I think it mostly annoyed me when the parents were not able to keep their kids in check. In terms of bus services - the area offers a service that comes free with the Joker card. In summer the buses are infrequent and not always reliable - also mostly full - so be weary of this. Sometimes it was easier to just take one of the hotel's free bicycles and cycle to villages close by. I strongly recommend the hotel. It is clean, offers a spectacular afternoon tea with strudels and cakes on the house, glorious spa facilities, spacious rooms and great cuisine.

Room Tip: We always choose one of the Reiterkogel rooms - it overlooks the mountainside, far from any noise, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaia_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    43
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
261
189
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had an excellent stay at this hotel. The efficient attentive, friendly service we received was outstanding . I suffer from IBD and have special requirements on my diet which the chef fully understood and cater for me. My husband enjoyed the gourmet food so beautifully presented. We had nice walks on the surrounding areas and I came back home envigorated. Truly more healthy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graciela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was our second visit to the Gartenhotel Theresa, we previously visited in March 2012 and have thoroughly enjoyed it both times. The Zwoelferkogel rooms are spacious and comfortable. Both times our room faced out onto the main road but we didn't have any problem with road noise. The staff are all very helpful, friendly and polite. My wife is vegetarian, I am not and both of us found the food to be tasty, plentiful and of high quality with a varied menu and plenty of choice each day. All in all a very good hotel and we intend to visit again soon

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickAndJackie-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had a very enjoyable holiday in this hotel and valley. The family run hotel staff were all really friendly and helpful. The all organic food is excellent and elegantly served. Dinner can be many courses but never did it leave a feeling of having overeaten. The Austrian wines are good too !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is an agreeable and quite informal hotel located in a valley popular with hikers and mountain bikers. The hotel offers very good food served with a smile and occasional errors which can be annoying. The hotel has an interesting collection of art, the owner is a devotee of contemporary art-works. The pool areas aren't as good as they are in some Austrian hotels. The warmer external pool is dominated by children and the other pool is pretty chilly! There is a small inside pool which is ok for a few people to swim in. Ideally this would be reserved for adults as boisterous children make it very noisy indeed.
I didn't think much of our room which was spacious enough etc but being at the back of the hotel lacked an attractive mountain view. I should have asked for a different room given the hotel wasn't full and we were staying for a week.
Would I stay at this hotel again? Maybe but i would check my stay didn't coincide with school holidays of any description, also I would want a nice room for my money. There are plenty of other hotels in the valley to choose from which is busy in ski season but quiet in summer

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a room with a mountain view. Our room at the back of the hotel lacked a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our stay at the Theresia Gartenhotel was splendid!

pro's:
-a warm and personal approach from all staff-members.
-The atmosphere from long forgotten times, with the luxury and comfort of present days.
-restaurant: not the typical Austrian kitchen, (which is a plus), and enough variations.
-the spa-area and the heated outside pool are really nice.


contra's:
-non of any significance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 002061349 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The outstanding feature of the hotel is the friendliness and helpfulness of all of the staff. Everyone aims to make your holiday special. The owners have carefully gathered together a wonderful team. The food, cleanliness, rooms, beds etc are all of the highest standard.

We look forward to returning with friends.

Room Tip: We loved our "traditional Austrian" room on the west facing side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.9 mi away
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
#3 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
292 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#8 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Palace
Alpine Palace
#10 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#4 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adler Resort
Adler Resort
#18 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
95 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
#7 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theresia Gartenhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theresia Gartenhotel

Property: Theresia Gartenhotel
Address: Glemmtaler Landesstrasse 208, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#1 Green Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Spa Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Theresia Gartenhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRADITION MEETS ECO-CHIC At the heart of Salzburg's Grass Mountains, the Gartenhotel Theresia Superior combines exclusive interior design and contemporary art with timeless tradition and ecological philosophy. The stylish "Mountain Green SPA" with heated indoor and outdoor pools, an organically certified gourmet cuisine (2 bonnets Gault Millau 2016), gorgeous rooms, children's club and ski slopes, lifts and partner skischool right on the doorstep as well as ski rental at the hotel. The proprietor also runs private tours through the hotel gallery, featuring artist like Andy Warhol. Free guided walks, biking tours and use of cable cars, tennis courts in summer. Additional guided tours with the hotel owner include trips to local organic farms. The hotel is selected member of: Health & SPA Premium Hotels, AllergyProfis - hotels & restaurants, Family Salzburger Land, Bio Paradies Salzburger Land, Autriche pro France Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Theresia Gartenhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theresia Gartenhotel Saalbach
Theresia Gartenhotel Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing