We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned from a fantastic family holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Theresia Gartenhotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Cannot understand the negative reviews. We found the food to be fantastic and all the staff were friendly. Wonderful family atmosphere was helped by the kids taking the ski school together which helped them make friends.

Fantastic room, quiet, clean and spacious.

Hoping to return next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 571 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely Christmas here on the Winter Special package over Christmas week.
Upon arrival (after a long drive) we were greeted by friendly staff who offered us a drink and chance to start to unwind before heading to our room. Our room was spotless and very comfortable. The hotel all feels extremely well laid out, modern and homey at the same time. We felt like we were at home within a couple of days, relaxed and able to just take it easy.
All of the meals are outstanding and the staff were all very friendly, knowledgable and professional. It is like they're all one big family, working well together and trying very hard to make everyones stay special. Some of the staff are exceptionally professional and patient, as we witnessed during some testing times during meals times with some of the guests. Being at the front end of customer relations can be exhausting and draining when dealing with people who are difficult or just plain rude, we really felt for some of the staff.
We enjoyed the spa area, although the outdoor pools did seem to end up like kids play grounds in the late afternoons when parents just leave their kids to run wild whilst they stay in doors oblivious to the madness going on outside. This meant that the outdoor pool and hot tub became no go areas during kids play time (which also fell to just when the skiers return and fancy a soak in the hot tub). However, this is not exactly a fault of the hotel, more of the parents.
Areas are well signposted around the hotel, however, as there is clearly such a high number of Russian guests attracted to this hotel, I would suggest that some of the signs are also translated into Russian. This would save the inappropriateness of Russian children wandering into the adults only spa area etc.
I would recommend this hotel and we hope to return some time in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Biscuits_in_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

After a fantastic week in the Theresia Gartenhotel, I can wholeheartedly recommend it. The service is exceptional, from being greeted with a glass of fizzy wine on arrival whilst our bags were whisked away to our room, to the extremely helpful, friendly waiting staff. The reception staff were lovely, and even the cleaning ladies went out of their way to be friendly. Absolutely first rate service.

The food was excellent throughout. As a vegetarian, good food is often hard to come by in typical ski hotels, but this hotel is far from typical. The salad bar was excellent, and four further vegetarian courses were varied and delicious every night. A fish option was also available for each starter/main courses. Breakfast was a good selection, with omelettes available too. The fresh bread was beautiful. In short, we felt thoroughly spoiled by a week of wonderful food (I came home several pounds heavier!).

The hotel is in a quieter part of Hinterglemm, on the outskirts, but that suited us to a tee and was part of our reason for chosing it. It was just a 10 minute walk into the main part of town. Unfortunately, the piste which should have made it virtually ski back to door (piste 39a) was closed during our stay, but the ski bus runs regularly (every 20 mins) and we had no problems getting to lifts in a morning or coming back in the afternoon. There is a lift just a 5 minute walk (in ski boots) away, from which you can work your way round the ski circuit.

All in all, we could not find fault with the hotel, the food or the staff. After 10 years of skiing, this is the best hotel we have stayed in and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna_10111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Our group of 4 adults & 1 child (2) have just returned from this hotel. From the moment we entered the doors to leaving we were spoilt. the staff did all they could to help with any query from the bedroom cleaning ladies, the waiters, the reception and the owners. The food was first class and beautifully presented. As you imagine with al a carte menu, the 5 courses for evening meal were not huge portions, but, after eating all 5 courses there was more than sufficient. The rooms typ3 were spacious and had a lovely balcony and outlook.The rooms were lovely and quiet overnight.
We took advantage of borrowing a pushchair and also a sledge which were free of charge. The childrens play room we also used a little.(you cannot leave a two year old for long) but while he was in there, he was secure, and loved it. It was quite funny to see our just gone two year old 'talking' to a german child of about four years old, goodness knows what the conversation was about.
My only negative comment was while I was reading one day with the balcony door open a cat walked silently in straight past me and sat at the door to go through into the corridor and into the hotel however. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation but I'd keep my doors closed

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brettermeier, Inhaber at Theresia Gartenhotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear family Mags,
thank you very much for your very nice review. We are very pleased, that you liked your stay in our house so much. Please excuse the bad behavior of our 16-year-old black (with a white spot under the chin) family cat Peter. Unfortunately, he will never understand that not the whole hotel is his home, but only our family apartment and terrace on the first floor of the hotel and the surrounding hotel garden.
We really hope to welcoming you again in our hotel! Please opt for a room/suite on the 2nd, 3rd,4th or 5th floor next time, because Peter is too old to jump upwards on your balcony and therefore you can then leave your balcony door open.
Kind regards from Saalbach-Hinterglemm,
Family Brettermeier & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The service was outstanding. We have been at the hotel many times. It is one of our favorites in Europe. Of special surprise was the excellent and attractive serving at dinner of the salads, hors-d'oeuvres, and main courses. The "designer" of the servings deserves a special praise.

All the help was very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huebner2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed here from 1st February 2014 for a week and this is just about the best hotel we've been to in Austria, in 8 years of ski-ing at various resorts.
The hotel is beautifully decorated, with pieces of art all over the reception and dining rooms, as well as in the corridors, and although the style is modern, it still manages to retain an Austrian charm. The staff are wonderful, friendly, yet very discreet, and the standard of service is excellent.
The food is divine, and I can honestly say we never had a bad meal. The room we had was on the first floor and was one of the traditional rooms, overlooking the front of the hotel, so we had a big balcony and a lovely view; our friend's room was on the fourth floor, more modern, and smaller, but they were both wonderful rooms, and very clean.
The hotel is just on the outskirts of the village, about a 5 minute walk (10 in ski boots!), so I would recommend getting the ski bus to the Zwolferkogel gondola, but the bus pulls up right outside the hotel. However, unusually for Austria, there wasn't a timetable for the buses, so you just had to wait for one to turn up!
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and the ski resort itself as well. The apres ski in Hinterglemm is very good and the resort has some lovely hotels and restaurants.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

An excellent modern hotel with very good staff and good comfortable accomodation a little out of town but bus stop right outside.ski hire and instructors in house which was a plus.Food was very good and of a good selections of dishes to suit all tastes.
We were in low season so the hotel had few children and left before the
Half term started,a plus as far as all of us were concerned as have long left that stage.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank 349christopherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.9 mi away
ALL INKLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
ALL INKLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
#1 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
333 reviews
1.6 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#4 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
420 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#10 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adler Resort
Adler Resort
#14 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Designhotel WIESERGUT
Designhotel WIESERGUT
#19 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpine Palace
Hotel Alpine Palace
#9 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theresia Gartenhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theresia Gartenhotel

Address: Glemmtaler Landesstrasse 208, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#1 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#1 Green Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Spa Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range: $359 - $642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Theresia Gartenhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRADITION MEETS ECO-CHIC At the heart of Salzburg's Grass Mountains, the Gartenhotel Theresia Superior combines exclusive interior design and contemporary art with timeless tradition and ecological philosophy. The stylish "Mountain Green SPA" with heated indoor and outdoor pools, an organically certified gourmet cuisine (2 bonnets Gault Millau 2016), gorgeous rooms, children's club and ski slopes, lifts and partner skischool right on the doorstep as well as ski rental at the hotel. The proprietor also runs private tours through the hotel gallery, featuring artist like Andy Warhol. Free guided walks, biking tours and use of cable cars, tennis courts in summer. Additional guided tours with the hotel owner include trips to local organic farms. The hotel is selected member of: Health & SPA Premium Hotels, AllergyProfis - hotels & restaurants, Family Salzburger Land, Bio Paradies Salzburger Land, Autriche pro France Hotels. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Theresia Gartenhotel Saalbach
Theresia Gartenhotel Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing