We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Summer walking holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Theresia Gartenhotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Theresia Gartenhotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Summer walking holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Overall a very good hotel. Well positioned on the outskirts of Hinterglemm, probably the quietest one.
We were in a Reiterkogel room overlooking the garden and pool. One thing to mention the balconies were overlooked by the windows of the room next door. The room was spacious, modern, clean and comfortable. There were no rooms on the opposite side of the coridoor so less disturbance.
The food variety was extensive and of high quality. There was a pre-ordering system for meals on your table at breakfast where you tick what you want that evening. You also could have a packed lunch selected from the extensive breakfast range.
Facilities; Nice garen and outside pool, good indoor pool but temperature very warm. Although we didn't use it the sauna was large with good faciity. We did use the family steam room outside of the sauna which was nice.It had buttons for different scents.
Free use of bikes was ok but on many the saddle couldn't be adjusted.There is a caged football pitch near the pool and you coukd hear the ball echoing about a bit. I suppose it depends on usage.
The staff were good and helpful. The maid-service was impressive-non intrusive.
Unfortunately our check out was messy and uncomfortable. We had to leave at 7am. We wanted breakfast to the room at 6am but were told it was not possible. Eventually it arrived at 6;40am so we were rushing. Soon after i rang reception for help with the bags but no reply!
This doesn't alter the big picture though, it is a very good hotel not the best in this category we've stayed at but close to it.

Room Tip: At the rear of the hotel if your lower down you have less view but it may be a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casperdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    36
    9
    6
    7
See reviews for
239
176
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We went in Feb half term and is our 4th ski trip as a family. We've got 3 kids, 9, 7 and 5 and it was by far the best ski holiday and value for money we have been on. (We've been with Mark Warner and Powder Byrne before). The rooms were family friendly and the food was excellent. The children loved their ski instructors and if we weren't back from skiing when they were then there was a fab creche they could go to. They could even go to this until 9 at night whilst we had our supper. We've booked already to go again next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I would totally recommend Hotel Theresia for your skiing holiday. The hotel & staff offer an excellent standard of care, for instance the waiters/waitresses would get to know you/what drinks you would like and offered them before you even asked.....which made the holiday extra special and easy!

The bedrooms were lovely, the food was fresh and delicious, we also asked for various extra's for the adults and children and were always greeted with 'of course' with a smile which we really appreciated! The owners are lovely, the energy of the staff and hotel is caring and friendly and our every need was accommodated for. Marianne was delightful and offered my friend and I a treatment room to use (free of charge) as we are therapists, although we only asked to use a couch. We are just in the process of re-booking for next year.. and bringing other family members.

The skiing around the hotel is amazing with many beautiful runs within walking distance! Top location, top hotel with top facilities!

Room Tip: If you want a sunny balcony to sunbathe choose the front of the hotel which will also give you a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireM154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel during Easter Week on a skiing holiday and had a brilliant time.Without doubt the staff and the owners of this lovely Hotel were the most friendly and helpful team we have ever encountered anywhere. Excellent food with a good choice for both breakfast and dinner. We both celebrated birthdays whilst we were there and without any prompting our table was beautifully decorated on the actual days and we received a lovely bottle of wine as a gift. This was really well appreciated. At the end of a days skiing there is a great cake/ ice cream buffet including soup so with the skiing being a bit iffy it being late in the season, this was basically lunch! Added bonus of an outdoor pool/jaccuzzi at 32c/34c. Indoor pool as well with excellent Spa with steam rooms/ jaccuzzi/sauna and treatment therapys available as well. In house Ski School and Ski Rental shop and ski bus stops right outside the front door. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: We travelled with Inghams which utilises the smallest double rooms at the Hotel. These are at the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobG49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is in a very good location, with a lift into the ski system c 200m walk and skiing back to the door via run 39a. The regular ski bus service also stops directly outside the hotel. This is our second stay at the Theresia Gartenhotel. Our first stay was in a relatively quiet week before Christmas but this time it was a busy week after Easter and the hotel was full. It was a testament to the hotel and staff that we really didn't notice any difference in the service provided between the two visits. The staff were as friendly and courteous under pressure as was the service in the restaurant. On arrival we were greeted with a glass of sparkling wine whilst our check-in was sorted and the staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. We have stayed in Saalbach - Hinterglemm on numerous occasions over the last 10 years but have not found anywhere to match the overall quality, service and value for money of this hotel. Our room (Reiterkogel) was spacious, spotlessly clean, quiet and comfortable with plenty of storage space. The room service was excellent and there were free soft drinks in the minibar replaced daily. You can even choose between 4 types of mattress on the beds! The bathroom was a good size with endless hot water.
We had 2 teenagers in tow who really appreciated the space, free wifi throughout, spa facilities and the meals. The excellent food consists of an extensive breakfast buffet, afternoon cakes and soup followed by a selection of evening menus which you can mix and match between. Extra large portions for hungry teenagers were no problem. Bar prices and cost of house wines were also very reasonable.
The spa area was great and we really enjoyed a swim in the heated outdoor pool after skiing followed by a steam or a sauna. The wellness area was very well equipped and despite the hotel being full there was always a time when you could access the facilities without being over crowded.
We had an extremely enjoyable week and found the food and service excellent. We have already booked our next trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenny015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during Easter week and had three rooms in total. The rooms were large and extremely well appointed with lovely balconies, plenty of space for luggage and complimentary soft drinks in the room's mini bar. The toiletries/shampoos (even nail buffers!) provided in the bathrooms were particularly nice too. I spend several weeks a year in leading hotels all over the world for my work and have never been offered 4 choices of mattress before. The special mattress gave me pain free sleep for first time in years and I have now bought a similar one for myself at home.
The spa is superb, the beautifully warm outdoor pool with its own massage jets was just lovely in the early evening followed by various steam experiences with different fragrances, loungers to relax on, plunge pools etc. Complimentary organic juices of various flavours are also provided.
The buffet breakfast was one of the best I have ever had and was matched by the exceptional menu in the evenings. For a hotel of this standard the prices of the drinks were very reasonable. Nothing was too much trouble and the hotel staff were happy to provide pretty much anything that our teenage children wanted. Even though the hotel was full, the service was really outstanding and the staff very helpful at all times.
In early April we could ski almost back to the hotel with just a short walk over the road and when the snow is at resort level another run takes you virtually into the carpark. There is also the possibility to take the ski bus which is right outside the door.
A truly amazing experience and I cannot think of anything negative to say at all.
We have already booked to go back in December.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PattieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

we stayed at the johan hotel connected to the theresia gartenhotel. lovely flat which even had a dishwasher. fantastic service. the waiters in the restaurant so so fantastic, we came with 3 kids/teenagers. they were amazing. the could order anything, even if the had allready orders something else. the hotel is run very well, everybody is so nice and does the upmost to help you. The only thing - the bikes werent ready yet. because the weather was so nice, its would have been so grand to ride a mountain trip. we ll be back :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runiski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.4 mi away
Alpine Palace
Alpine Palace
#12 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
1.6 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#4 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Die Sonne
Hotel Die Sonne
#3 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alpin Juwel
Alpin Juwel
#8 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
#7 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design Hotel
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design H...
#13 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theresia Gartenhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theresia Gartenhotel

Property: Theresia Gartenhotel
Address: Glemmtaler Landesstrasse 208, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#1 Green Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Spa Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Theresia Gartenhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRADITION MEETS ECO-CHIC At the heart of Salzburg's Grass Mountains, the Gartenhotel Theresia Superior combines exclusive interior design and contemporary art with timeless tradition and ecological philosophy. The stylish "Mountain Green SPA" with heated indoor and outdoor pools, an organically certified gourmet cuisine (2 bonnets Gault Millau 2016), gorgeous rooms, children's club and ski slopes, lifts and partner skischool right on the doorstep as well as ski rental at the hotel. The proprietor also runs private tours through the hotel gallery, featuring artist like Andy Warhol. Free guided walks, biking tours and use of cable cars, tennis courts in summer. Additional guided tours with the hotel owner include trips to local organic farms. The hotel is selected member of: Health & SPA Premium Hotels, AllergyProfis - hotels & restaurants, Family Salzburger Land, Bio Paradies Salzburger Land, Autriche pro France Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS so you can book your Theresia Gartenhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theresia Gartenhotel Saalbach
Theresia Gartenhotel Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing