We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing skiing holiday!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Theresia Gartenhotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I would totally recommend Hotel Theresia for your skiing holiday. The hotel & staff offer an excellent standard of care, for instance the waiters/waitresses would get to know you/what drinks you would like and offered them before you even asked.....which made the holiday extra special and easy!

The bedrooms were lovely, the food was fresh and delicious, we also asked for various extra's for the adults and children and were always greeted with 'of course' with a smile which we really appreciated! The owners are lovely, the energy of the staff and hotel is caring and friendly and our every need was accommodated for. Marianne was delightful and offered my friend and I a treatment room to use (free of charge) as we are therapists, although we only asked to use a couch. We are just in the process of re-booking for next year.. and bringing other family members.

The skiing around the hotel is amazing with many beautiful runs within walking distance! Top location, top hotel with top facilities!

Room Tip: If you want a sunny balcony to sunbathe choose the front of the hotel which will also give you a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireM154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 568 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel during Easter Week on a skiing holiday and had a brilliant time.Without doubt the staff and the owners of this lovely Hotel were the most friendly and helpful team we have ever encountered anywhere. Excellent food with a good choice for both breakfast and dinner. We both celebrated birthdays whilst we were there and without any prompting our table was beautifully decorated on the actual days and we received a lovely bottle of wine as a gift. This was really well appreciated. At the end of a days skiing there is a great cake/ ice cream buffet including soup so with the skiing being a bit iffy it being late in the season, this was basically lunch! Added bonus of an outdoor pool/jaccuzzi at 32c/34c. Indoor pool as well with excellent Spa with steam rooms/ jaccuzzi/sauna and treatment therapys available as well. In house Ski School and Ski Rental shop and ski bus stops right outside the front door. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: We travelled with Inghams which utilises the smallest double rooms at the Hotel. These are at the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobG49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is in a very good location, with a lift into the ski system c 200m walk and skiing back to the door via run 39a. The regular ski bus service also stops directly outside the hotel. This is our second stay at the Theresia Gartenhotel. Our first stay was in a relatively quiet week before Christmas but this time it was a busy week after Easter and the hotel was full. It was a testament to the hotel and staff that we really didn't notice any difference in the service provided between the two visits. The staff were as friendly and courteous under pressure as was the service in the restaurant. On arrival we were greeted with a glass of sparkling wine whilst our check-in was sorted and the staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. We have stayed in Saalbach - Hinterglemm on numerous occasions over the last 10 years but have not found anywhere to match the overall quality, service and value for money of this hotel. Our room (Reiterkogel) was spacious, spotlessly clean, quiet and comfortable with plenty of storage space. The room service was excellent and there were free soft drinks in the minibar replaced daily. You can even choose between 4 types of mattress on the beds! The bathroom was a good size with endless hot water.
We had 2 teenagers in tow who really appreciated the space, free wifi throughout, spa facilities and the meals. The excellent food consists of an extensive breakfast buffet, afternoon cakes and soup followed by a selection of evening menus which you can mix and match between. Extra large portions for hungry teenagers were no problem. Bar prices and cost of house wines were also very reasonable.
The spa area was great and we really enjoyed a swim in the heated outdoor pool after skiing followed by a steam or a sauna. The wellness area was very well equipped and despite the hotel being full there was always a time when you could access the facilities without being over crowded.
We had an extremely enjoyable week and found the food and service excellent. We have already booked our next trip!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenny015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during Easter week and had three rooms in total. The rooms were large and extremely well appointed with lovely balconies, plenty of space for luggage and complimentary soft drinks in the room's mini bar. The toiletries/shampoos (even nail buffers!) provided in the bathrooms were particularly nice too. I spend several weeks a year in leading hotels all over the world for my work and have never been offered 4 choices of mattress before. The special mattress gave me pain free sleep for first time in years and I have now bought a similar one for myself at home.
The spa is superb, the beautifully warm outdoor pool with its own massage jets was just lovely in the early evening followed by various steam experiences with different fragrances, loungers to relax on, plunge pools etc. Complimentary organic juices of various flavours are also provided.
The buffet breakfast was one of the best I have ever had and was matched by the exceptional menu in the evenings. For a hotel of this standard the prices of the drinks were very reasonable. Nothing was too much trouble and the hotel staff were happy to provide pretty much anything that our teenage children wanted. Even though the hotel was full, the service was really outstanding and the staff very helpful at all times.
In early April we could ski almost back to the hotel with just a short walk over the road and when the snow is at resort level another run takes you virtually into the carpark. There is also the possibility to take the ski bus which is right outside the door.
A truly amazing experience and I cannot think of anything negative to say at all.
We have already booked to go back in December.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

we stayed at the johan hotel connected to the theresia gartenhotel. lovely flat which even had a dishwasher. fantastic service. the waiters in the restaurant so so fantastic, we came with 3 kids/teenagers. they were amazing. the could order anything, even if the had allready orders something else. the hotel is run very well, everybody is so nice and does the upmost to help you. The only thing - the bikes werent ready yet. because the weather was so nice, its would have been so grand to ride a mountain trip. we ll be back :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runiski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We arrived late at night to be greeted with a huge cold plate of various meats & cheeses & offered a welcoming apple juice as we were checking in. Our room - 203 was glorious with views to the mountains, loads of space, a balcony & free mini bar of water & juice. Our daughters stayed in 410 - which was small an ideal for one person. The staff were fantastic & worked extremely hard to ensure our stay was enjoyable. The spa facilities were amazing as were the pools....so many different options for adults & children inside & out.....swimming at night in the open air was an option for the hardy! We really liked the ski shop on site and the ability to walk across the road to ski lifts which connected the whole resort. The resort was small but beautiful. Thank you to all & we hope to come back in the summer!

Room Tip: Pay a little more to have a view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

From the welcoming glass of sparkling wine on arrival to the free tap water at dinner (not common in Austria) and the minibar kept full of free water and fruit juice, this hotel works really hard to make you feel really welcome. It is a designer hotel in a traditional Austrian shell and is outstandingly comfortable. The staff are amongst the most professional to be found anywhere.
Then we come to the food. Dinner gives you a choice from three menus on a mix and match basis including an organic veggie menu. It is hard to see how the food could be better.
Rooms are typically Austrian and very comfortable though the bath/shower would be tricky for less mobile guests.
So what could be improved? Very little - the ski store is too small when the hotel is full but i understand that is being addressed. In theory you can ski in and out but the lift across the road from the hotel is very steep and would be difficult for beginners and the red run back to the hotel is also steep and disappears later in the season. Best to use the ski bus which stops right in front of the hotel.
Austrian hotels are generally good but this must be amongst the best.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front get the sun but the road is noisy especially when the snow plough goes up early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.9 mi away
ALL INKLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
ALL INKLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
#3 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
322 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#10 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adler Resort
Adler Resort
#15 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#2 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
409 reviews
1.6 mi away
Berger's Sporthotel
Berger's Sporthotel
#6 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
752 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpine Palace
Hotel Alpine Palace
#9 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theresia Gartenhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theresia Gartenhotel

Address: Glemmtaler Landesstrasse 208, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#1 Green Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#1 Spa Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#1 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range: $353 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Theresia Gartenhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRADITION MEETS ECO-CHIC At the heart of Salzburg's Grass Mountains, the Gartenhotel Theresia Superior combines exclusive interior design and contemporary art with timeless tradition and ecological philosophy. The stylish "Mountain Green SPA" with heated indoor and outdoor pools, an organically certified gourmet cuisine (2 bonnets Gault Millau 2016), gorgeous rooms, children's club and ski slopes, lifts and partner skischool right on the doorstep as well as ski rental at the hotel. The proprietor also runs private tours through the hotel gallery, featuring artist like Andy Warhol. Free guided walks, biking tours and use of cable cars, tennis courts in summer. Additional guided tours with the hotel owner include trips to local organic farms. The hotel is selected member of: Health & SPA Premium Hotels, AllergyProfis - hotels & restaurants, Family Salzburger Land, Bio Paradies Salzburger Land, Autriche pro France Hotels. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Theresia Gartenhotel Saalbach
Theresia Gartenhotel Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing