We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Theresia Gartenhotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during Easter week and had three rooms in total. The rooms were large and extremely well appointed with lovely balconies, plenty of space for luggage and complimentary soft drinks in the room's mini bar. The toiletries/shampoos (even nail buffers!) provided in the bathrooms were particularly nice too. I spend several weeks a year in leading hotels all over the world for my work and have never been offered 4 choices of mattress before. The special mattress gave me pain free sleep for first time in years and I have now bought a similar one for myself at home.
The spa is superb, the beautifully warm outdoor pool with its own massage jets was just lovely in the early evening followed by various steam experiences with different fragrances, loungers to relax on, plunge pools etc. Complimentary organic juices of various flavours are also provided.
The buffet breakfast was one of the best I have ever had and was matched by the exceptional menu in the evenings. For a hotel of this standard the prices of the drinks were very reasonable. Nothing was too much trouble and the hotel staff were happy to provide pretty much anything that our teenage children wanted. Even though the hotel was full, the service was really outstanding and the staff very helpful at all times.
In early April we could ski almost back to the hotel with just a short walk over the road and when the snow is at resort level another run takes you virtually into the carpark. There is also the possibility to take the ski bus which is right outside the door.
A truly amazing experience and I cannot think of anything negative to say at all.
We have already booked to go back in December.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    43
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
261
189
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

we stayed at the johan hotel connected to the theresia gartenhotel. lovely flat which even had a dishwasher. fantastic service. the waiters in the restaurant so so fantastic, we came with 3 kids/teenagers. they were amazing. the could order anything, even if the had allready orders something else. the hotel is run very well, everybody is so nice and does the upmost to help you. The only thing - the bikes werent ready yet. because the weather was so nice, its would have been so grand to ride a mountain trip. we ll be back :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runiski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We arrived late at night to be greeted with a huge cold plate of various meats & cheeses & offered a welcoming apple juice as we were checking in. Our room - 203 was glorious with views to the mountains, loads of space, a balcony & free mini bar of water & juice. Our daughters stayed in 410 - which was small an ideal for one person. The staff were fantastic & worked extremely hard to ensure our stay was enjoyable. The spa facilities were amazing as were the pools....so many different options for adults & children inside & out.....swimming at night in the open air was an option for the hardy! We really liked the ski shop on site and the ability to walk across the road to ski lifts which connected the whole resort. The resort was small but beautiful. Thank you to all & we hope to come back in the summer!

Room Tip: Pay a little more to have a view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

From the welcoming glass of sparkling wine on arrival to the free tap water at dinner (not common in Austria) and the minibar kept full of free water and fruit juice, this hotel works really hard to make you feel really welcome. It is a designer hotel in a traditional Austrian shell and is outstandingly comfortable. The staff are amongst the most professional to be found anywhere.
Then we come to the food. Dinner gives you a choice from three menus on a mix and match basis including an organic veggie menu. It is hard to see how the food could be better.
Rooms are typically Austrian and very comfortable though the bath/shower would be tricky for less mobile guests.
So what could be improved? Very little - the ski store is too small when the hotel is full but i understand that is being addressed. In theory you can ski in and out but the lift across the road from the hotel is very steep and would be difficult for beginners and the red run back to the hotel is also steep and disappears later in the season. Best to use the ski bus which stops right in front of the hotel.
Austrian hotels are generally good but this must be amongst the best.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front get the sun but the road is noisy especially when the snow plough goes up early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have stayed twice in the Theresia and it has been wonderful both times. The staff are patient and helpful at all times. We particularly liked the wine waiter, he obviously loves his job and is quite entertaining at times. Also the gentleman that serves the afternoon tea always had a little chat to us each afternoon. We had a family room with two floors. Our boys had a bed that pulled down out of the wall, which worked very well as in the day it turned into a living room. The hotel is just out of town, about a 10 minuet walk into Hinterglemm, but we quite like that. its not a problem with skiing as the lift goes from just over the road and you can ski back to the hotel in the evening. I think the best bit for us is the food though. I love organic food and there is always a good selection available. We love the farmers buffet which is served once a week. If I didn't want to try other resorts I would go back to this hotel every year. It is wonderful and has a very happy family feel to it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppy-Oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

What a great find! The rare combination where adults and children holiday together in mutual harmony and everyone has a brilliant time! A fabulous, family friendly hotel with exquisite food. As everyone with small children will appreciate, going skiing with them can be hard work and rarely feels like a holiday. Hotel Theresia makes it all very easy - the creche is fantastic (and free!), ski school and ski rental is in the hotel and the staff are truly wonderful - nothing is too much trouble and the ski instructors drop your children back to the creche/kids games room after ski school finishes at 3pm, so you get to ski the whole day and have apres ski too - what's not to like?!

Room Tip: The family suites are fantastic - Alpengarten, Tristkogel and Hocham.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wow just fantastic hotel facilities, staff and food. Best European ski trip I' ve had and will be back for sure. Room 203 was fab, smart clean with fre soft drinks all week. Spa is just amazing and lovely each day to swim steam. Food tasty and varied and staff friendly but not pushy. Hotel art collection is also a plus and as its a family run hotel host is happy to share with you. A real Gem! !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Battie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.9 mi away
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
#3 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
292 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#8 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Palace
Alpine Palace
#10 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#4 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adler Resort
Adler Resort
#18 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
95 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
#7 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theresia Gartenhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theresia Gartenhotel

Property: Theresia Gartenhotel
Address: Glemmtaler Landesstrasse 208, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#1 Green Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Spa Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Theresia Gartenhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRADITION MEETS ECO-CHIC At the heart of Salzburg's Grass Mountains, the Gartenhotel Theresia Superior combines exclusive interior design and contemporary art with timeless tradition and ecological philosophy. The stylish "Mountain Green SPA" with heated indoor and outdoor pools, an organically certified gourmet cuisine (2 bonnets Gault Millau 2016), gorgeous rooms, children's club and ski slopes, lifts and partner skischool right on the doorstep as well as ski rental at the hotel. The proprietor also runs private tours through the hotel gallery, featuring artist like Andy Warhol. Free guided walks, biking tours and use of cable cars, tennis courts in summer. Additional guided tours with the hotel owner include trips to local organic farms. The hotel is selected member of: Health & SPA Premium Hotels, AllergyProfis - hotels & restaurants, Family Salzburger Land, Bio Paradies Salzburger Land, Autriche pro France Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Theresia Gartenhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theresia Gartenhotel Saalbach
Theresia Gartenhotel Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing