We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Theresia Gartenhotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Top Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was my sixth time spending my ski holiday in Hotel Theresia and I have always been delighted with my stay. We usually book a Reiterkogl room looking over the outdoor pool and jacuzzi. Most rooms in the hotel have a contemporary decor, are spotlessly clean and any special requests( extra pillows, softer mattress) are attended to without delay. I always find the hotel staff helpful and courteous and of course the reception staff speak impeccable english which is great for anybody whose first language is English.

There is great emphasis on sourcing local fruit,veg and meat and preparing or cooking them with great care and attention to detail and again I am never disappointed. I particularly enjoy all the extra little touches provided gratis to the guests such as the provision of sparkling water, fruit juice and chocolate in a little fridge in each room. Apres ski soup and breads, cakes, petit fours and ice cream served until 5pm is another thoughtful touch.
I also enjoy the Saturday night buffet dinner as this is the day most guests arrive and the wonderful display of hot and cold foods certainly whet ones appetite. On all other days guests choose their evening meal from four menus which includes a regional, a vegetarian and two gourmet ones.
The spa area has been designed with flair and an eye for detail and is for adults only. Both the outside pool and the jacuzzi are well heated and one can spend a most enjoyable time there relaxing under the stars.
This is a hotel you can recommend to your best friends in the knowledge that they too will enjoy their stay there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    43
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
261
189
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent 5 days here in January, the first skiing holiday for our Australian family. We loved this hotel. We were traveling with 2 older children and they accommodated us in a fabulous suite, overlooking the snow. The ski school was literally next door and the beginner slope across the road. The instructors were so good with our kids - particularly the snow boarding instructor - and the hotel staff were friendly, and spoke excellent English! As first timers to the snow and a ski resort, we were concerned we would feel intimidated but on the contrary, we felt welcomed.The food was outstanding. Healthy, top-class. We were not there during a particularly busy time and perhaps this helped, but it seemed to us that the owners take a personal interest in ensuring standards are maintained and the hotel is running smoothly. I organized everything by email and received prompt responses and helpful advice. The village had been recommended to us - but choosing a hotel was guesswork. It is not often that a hotel exceeds expectations but this one did.We could not have asked for more. A memorable experience.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KatrinaB752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We are just back from a week at Hotel Theresia and Hinterglemm. We picked this hotel because it was a little outside Hinterglemm and therefore quieter. It is however near enough if you want to partake in night life. We booked this hotel as part of a D.I.Y. ski holiday because the holiday companies didn't suit us. The hotel organised our transfer from Salzberg which was faultless. We contacted the hotel many times before the holiday looking for reassurance on several points and they replied promptly and accurately. The decor in the hotel is modern despite having a traditional exterior. Our room was good, the food was varied and perfectly presented, and the staff were welcoming and helpful. The wellness spa was good and relaxing. I filled in a questionnaire at the end, I felt that the rooms could have radio as well as TV stations, they have just sent an email to me to say there was radio afterall if only I had pushed the correct button. I assumed that nobody ever read customer surveys, how wrong I was! I cannot find fault with this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank matt c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here the week before Christmas for some early season boarding in Saalbach/Hinterglem. We have been skiing/boarding in Austria for the past 10 years sometimes twice a year and stay in a different resort most years so have seen a wide variety.

The good:
- Very nice looking hotel, clean and well maintained.
- Very friendly staff.
- Excellent food (with good vegetarian options) and afternoon cake buffet.
- Nice spa although the outdoor pool wasn't attractive (see below).

The not so good:
- Further away from town/lifts than indicated when booking (we booked with Thomson) a little too far to go out in the evening and too far to walk to the lifts in the morning, ski bus does stop immediately outside, ski in is only via a fairly harsh red run.
- Our room was probably the smallest room we have ever had in Austria but as stated above clean and well maintained.
- The real problem for us was the number of very young children, it was impossible to get a seat in the lobby during the cake buffet and the noise was unbearable with very young children and babies tearing around and screaming. This didn't stop at meal times with constant screaming from the babies and kids runing around the buffet and salad bar areas. We discovered by talking to some parents in the spa area (the only child free area) that the hotel was offering a special "kids go free" during that particular week, as a child free couple who paid a premium for a higher class of hotel in the hope of some peace and relaxation after a day on the slopes it would have been nice to have known this.

I imagine this hotel is great for families but for us as a couple it was very unpleasant.

Room Tip: Garden side rooms are small but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malgus74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brettermeier, Inhaber at Theresia Gartenhotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear guest Malgus 74,
thank you for writing a review. We are very pleased, that you liked our excellent food, the spa, the friendly staff and the hotel in general.
You are right, the hotel is not situated in the village center, where it is very noisy during the nights (because of the many discos and bars). The hotel is situated just 5 to max. 8 minutes from the centre of the village on foot along the main walking trail. Opposite the hotel you find a baby lift for the beginners and the "Mitteregg" draglift (200 m from the hotel) by which you have the access to the extensive ski area . Perhaps you didn’t realize, that there is a skilift on the other side oft he river. From the hotel, this lift station is not so easy to see, because in front of the hotel are many trees that cover the lift and the lift station.
You can reach the hotel on skis from the south side and the north side oft he valley as well - without using a car or ski bus. The ski run back tot he hotel via Mitteregglift is blue and easy, the one from the Reiterkogel and ends next to our garden is a red one and can only be used by advanced skiers. The free public ski bus stops directly in front of the hotel (approx. every 20 minutes).
It is a pity, that you spent your vacation in our „Superrate-weeks“ (all rooms and suites at a very affordable unit rate for adults, children up to their 18th birthday for free), which we offer since many years at the begin and at the end of the winter season (2 weeks before Christmas and at the end of March/begin April). Lots of families take advantage of this opportunity and book these periods. And, of course, also during the European school holidays many families spend their holidays in hotels all over the word and at the Theresia****S, too. Therefore we recommend to our guests, who are asking for a calm and relaxing period, to avoid the school holiday time.
We hope to welcome you at the Theresia again, but please inform yourself before booking about the quiet weeks with no or few children in the hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Family Brettermeier & staff
PS: We believe that you have booked through the travel agency Inghams, because we don’t have guests from the travel agent Thompson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Visited this hotel first time, mainly deal with feedback from TripAdvisor.
Unfortunately can't confirm it.
1. Saturday dinner with buffet instead 4 course menu was very strange for us.
2. Sunday Gala dinner without any owners or program was strange also.
3. Paid consulting in SPA center without any agreed actions keep our impressions that this hotel is very specific.
4. At 9:00am impossible use elevator, because staff use for service(linen, cleaning, etc.). You have to wait more than 15 minutes.
This is our impressions for first three days. Hope next four days wil be better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IgorPala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

My family and I (3 teenagers and 2 adults)spent a week at the Theresia Garten Hotel during Christmas.I can safely say it was truly wonderful.On arrival we were made to feel very welcome,the rooms were very clean and comfortable and the spa is great after a hard day on the slopes.The Christmas Eve celebrations were lovely and made extra special with the carols around the Christmas tree.
Afternoon tea is a great treat,cake,strudel,ice cream and soup...forget the diet! Whilst the staff are very busy during meal times especially during the Gala dinner,they are very attentive and ensure you are well looked after.
If hiring ski gear at the hotel,aim to get to their shop asap as it does get very busy but the staff are very helpful and will change boots etc.My son had a problem with his snow board and it was sorted promptly.
The ski bus stops right outside the hotel or it is a short walk to a red T bar lift.It takes about fifteen mins to nearest cable car which isn't too bad as it's relatively flat.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent the week before Christmas here with a room in the Johann part of the hotel. Everything was so convenient for us - ski rental and ski school office in the hotel, nursery slope just across the road and free ski bus right outside. The facilities are first class: outside pool and hot tub; indoor pool; sauna; family steam room. The half board food was outstanding. However it was really the staff that for us set this hotel apart from others - they were so helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We took advantage of their special offer: 738 Euro per adult (kids free!), including half board and 6 days ski pass. Great value for this kind of accommodation. The only minor criticism is that the room did not have enough space for ski wear to be hung but we did have the smallest family room and we find this a problem in many places. Overall very highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the hotel - no view to speak of but no road noise at all. However, I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.4 mi away
Alpine Palace
Alpine Palace
#10 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.6 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#4 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#9 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
#3 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design Hotel
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design H...
#15 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
#7 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theresia Gartenhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theresia Gartenhotel

Property: Theresia Gartenhotel
Address: Glemmtaler Landesstrasse 208, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#1 Green Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Spa Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Theresia Gartenhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRADITION MEETS ECO-CHIC At the heart of Salzburg's Grass Mountains, the Gartenhotel Theresia Superior combines exclusive interior design and contemporary art with timeless tradition and ecological philosophy. The stylish "Mountain Green SPA" with heated indoor and outdoor pools, an organically certified gourmet cuisine (2 bonnets Gault Millau 2016), gorgeous rooms, children's club and ski slopes, lifts and partner skischool right on the doorstep as well as ski rental at the hotel. The proprietor also runs private tours through the hotel gallery, featuring artist like Andy Warhol. Free guided walks, biking tours and use of cable cars, tennis courts in summer. Additional guided tours with the hotel owner include trips to local organic farms. The hotel is selected member of: Health & SPA Premium Hotels, AllergyProfis - hotels & restaurants, Family Salzburger Land, Bio Paradies Salzburger Land, Autriche pro France Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Theresia Gartenhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theresia Gartenhotel Saalbach
Theresia Gartenhotel Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing