We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facilities, food and friendliness”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Theresia Gartenhotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hexworthy, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Facilities, food and friendliness”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We are lucky enough to visit many places in the world, but the fact that we return to the Theresia every summer, (12 visits so far), illustrates how much we enjoy the hotel, facilities, food and scenery. We meet many other families from all over Europe who also return every year for the same reasons.

Good quality food is particularly important to us, as are facilities to keep us occupied when the weather is not suitable for walking in the mountains. The Theresia meets all our needs as far as the quality, quantity and choice of food is concerned and we always enjoy the sauna world after a long day. There are always plenty of optional activities provided by the hotel and information is provided about events in the village.

The service is always excellent and Marianne and Harald Brettermeier take a personal interest in their guests. We are always amazed how even the youngest waiters and waitresses manage to converse in a range of languages and all menus and information about the hotel are provided in English.

Over the years we have seen the hotel decor change from very traditional to a good mix of traditional and modern. We have welcomed the introduction of the Joker card which gives free access to a number of facilities but most importantly, as many journeys on the local cable cars as you can fit in!

We would thoroughly recommend a stay at the Theresia.

G&T P

Room Tip: Whilst we always book a Zwolferkogel room, it is on the front and can be noisy because of the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    43
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
262
189
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for a week in September 2012. All staff were friendly and welcoming, Our room was kept spotless, and was spacious and well appointed. The option to choose your packed lunch from the breakfast buffet was a good one on fine days, and the afternoon cake buffet very welcome after a day on the mountains. We enjoyed the evening meals - there was a choice of three menus and the option to pick and mix from the different menus. Staff in the restaurant were very helpful and attentive.

The inside pool isn't large, but was adequate, and the sauna and spa area was lovely. We did not use the outside pool.

It is a pleasant 5 minute stroll along the river into Hinterglemm, and around 40 minutes the other way into Saalbach. The Joker card gave free access to four lifts (two in each village) and free bus travel to beyond Saalbach and up to the end of the valley.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie3974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberpframmern, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Wonderful atmosphere, nothing is too much trouble for the staff. friendly, helpful, and the guests are friendly too. We have been here many times and can recommend it for families, couples and any one who likes to relax and feel really welcome. Excellent on all points. A design hotel without the snobs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spotty12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a week spent at this fabulous hotel. The owners and staff couldn't do enough to make our holiday special. I have coeliac disease and require a strict gluten free diet. Our waiter asked the chef each morning what was suitable for me and marked each item on the menu + or -. The huge choice of food available was amazing.Lunch and afternoon tea in the garden was delightful. Our room was a reiterkogel very spacious and lovely view of the garden and swimming pool. It could be a bit dull but sunny in the evening. Altogether a marvellous holiday, l can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Garden rooms are very quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isobel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Hotel Theresia is a lovely hotel set amongst beautiful surroundings. It caters for all ages and has excellent family orientated facilities - our group included 2 boys aged 12yrs & 10yrs and Granny too - plenty on offer to keep us all happy during our stay. The owners and staff are very friendly, helpful and most accomodating - nothing is too much trouble. The accomodation and facilities are of a very good standard, comfortable and very clean. You certainly can't go hungry here, the food is very tasty and plentiful, using healthy and organic produce, there's even a daily offering of deliciously tempting "afternoon tea & cake" - apple strudel, cakes & ice cream to satisfy any sweet tooth! There's alot to do here - hiking, biking, tennis or simply relax by the pool or pamper in the spa....take advantage of the Joker card kindly supplied by the Hotel, this allows you to indulge in many free or discounted activities. Overall, a very enjoyble, relaxing, satisfying experience - hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aleks B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We've just returned from a week at the Theresia Gartenhotel in Hinterglemm and had a great time. We chose the hotel because it looked modern yet traditional, was relatively small in size, was just outside the main village and just looked abit different (organic produce). We were also aware that it was a great place for families/children (and we don't have kids), so we were a little apprehensive about how this was going to work out. But, the place has it sussed. Kids are well catered for (as mentioned in previous reviews) and all seem to be extremely happy & chilled. BUT, if you want a holiday away from kids then this isn't the place for you, as there are loads of them around, especially in the outdoor pool area.

For us though, having a real mix of guests (old and young) was what really made this hotel different from others we've stayed at in Austria. The lounge area was fantastic - modern but comfortable - with large sofas as well as more formal tables & chairs. Great for chilling, reading, pre/post meal drinks, playing board games - a great place to be on your own or catch up with others.

We loved the Cow Bar (and the Teufelskräuter Fire Liqueur as recommended by Tibor on our last night) and also thought the dining area was lovely. But, above all, the staff were all so friendly & efficient. I don't think we've ever stayed in a place where the staff were so friendly and lovely.

We booked through Inghams and opted for a Reitekogel room, which was advertised as having a mountain & garden view, but what we actually got was a rather disappointing view of the steep bank at the back of the hotel, which made the room quite gloomy. This was the only negative of the holiday. The room itself was smashing - very spacious & modern and very comfortable. We were out walking all day anyway so the balcony/view wasn't too much of an issue. I think if we'd had a better view then this holiday would've been 100% perfect. As it was, we still had a fantastic time, and thoroughly enjoyed our time at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms to avoid - Reitekogel rooms have corner balconies and are overlooked. Some have limited views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brettermeier, Inhaber at Theresia Gartenhotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear guest from Wales,
thank you very much for your rewiew. It was a pleasure for us to read, that you enjoyed the stay in our house so much.
During summer and winter season we welcome guests of all ages from 0 to 100+ :) and for all of them we offer many amenities - according to the age, the needs, etc. Of course, during the European school holidays many families spend their holidays in hotels all over the world and at the Theresia****Superior, too. Therefore we recommend to our guests, who are asking for a calm and relaxing period, to avoid the school holiday time and to choose May, June or September instead of the busy July an August.
We hope very much to see you again!
Greetings from the grassy mountains of Salzburg to Great Britain!
Yours sincerely,
Marianne Brettermeier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A fabulous hotel and area to stay in so many ways. The hotel location is great and there are so many activities in the area, you will be hard pushed to fit everything into a week. The JOKER card is an amazing free card that allows you to have access to so many free activities, bus trips or reduced entry to parks, ski lifts and rental shops. As a family it is hard to make fault with this hotel. The rooms are great and very clean. The staff were wonderful and could not have done more to make us feel comfortable and welcome. The food is just beautiful and very healthy and they use lots of organic produce. The chef cooked dairy free foods for our son and this was so wonderfully handled and not a problem at all. They found out he loved pancakes, and at the next days breakfast he was presented with a beautiful plate of pancakes with his favourtite filling. This hotel caters for many different allergies and is a real find for families where this is a challenge on holiday. The facilities were brilliant, there is a family steam room and the spa is beautiful. If I could find anything slightly negative it would be that the childrens area could be slightly updated but it really was not an issue for us. The childrens mountain walks were brilliant for kids. The hotel is definately on our list to visit again as soon as we can.Summer or winter we will be back.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quiet and have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.9 mi away
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
#4 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
297 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#7 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adler Resort
Adler Resort
#19 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#3 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Palace
Alpine Palace
#10 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
365 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
#8 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theresia Gartenhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theresia Gartenhotel

Property: Theresia Gartenhotel
Address: Glemmtaler Landesstrasse 208, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#1 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Spa Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Theresia Gartenhotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRADITION MEETS ECO-CHIC At the heart of Salzburg's Grass Mountains, the Gartenhotel Theresia Superior combines exclusive interior design and contemporary art with timeless tradition and ecological philosophy. The stylish "Mountain Green SPA" with heated indoor and outdoor pools, an organically certified gourmet cuisine (2 bonnets Gault Millau 2016), gorgeous rooms, children's club and ski slopes, lifts and partner skischool right on the doorstep as well as ski rental at the hotel. The proprietor also runs private tours through the hotel gallery, featuring artist like Andy Warhol. Free guided walks, biking tours and use of cable cars, tennis courts in summer. Additional guided tours with the hotel owner include trips to local organic farms. The hotel is selected member of: Health & SPA Premium Hotels, AllergyProfis - hotels & restaurants, Family Salzburger Land, Bio Paradies Salzburger Land, Autriche pro France Hotels. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Theresia Gartenhotel Saalbach
Theresia Gartenhotel Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing