We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mix of nice perks and annoyances”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ALL INKLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2014

booked at venere.com, we had superior double room with balcony (bed was expected to be a queen/king size, but appeared to be a combined twin with 2 separate blankets), mountain view. price was 920 ear/4 nights. stayed in mid march 2014. one day (out of 4) the hotel cleaning personnel haven't cleaned the room (and didn't provide shower gel/towels - provided only on special request in the evening). the fire place was not stoked even once during 4 days (was it a real fire place at all?). the reception requests filling in quite a big questionnaire about the guests particulars (address, age, contact details, credit card details, etc.). Breakfast was good. No kindergarden - the hotel is a quiet place. The ski room is excellent, though sometimes with an odour. The location is a quite a walk from the centres of both Saalbach and Hinterglemm (more than 10-15 minutes at least). The WiFi was a complete mess: constant connection failures, crazy passwords and special equipment (you have to get special router in the room from the reception, and install it yourself every time you need a connection; router is a Eur 40 deposit). Ski shuttle is great: quick, convenient, friendly (though not English speaking - a common feature in the region). Overall - very strange mix of nice things, and absolutely hostile features.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kei-jei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 322 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

First time ever on an all-inclusive ski holiday and this hotel provided nothing short of an excellent experience. Very clean, super rooms, great staff, delicious and plentiful food, fine facilities. A little out of town but walkable. However there is an on-call shuttle bus that will take you anywhere at any time. Cannot speak highly enough about this place. No downsides other than they really need to sort out wifi which is very poor and intermittent. Will return.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Malim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed in Die Sonne the first week of March 2014 and we had a wonderful stay. The rooms are beautiful, the food is delicious, the people are very helpful, the swimming pool and sauna area is beautiful. The shuttle buses are perfect, no waiting times at all. We stayed on the All inclusive base. It will be very difficult to find something better for the same price next year.

Room Tip: rooms on the back side do not have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed for 4 days and did not regret a single moment. We have 12 and 14 year old boys and they also enjoyed it. Definitely go for the all-inclusive. The hotel is slightly out of town but after some apres ski you will want to come back and have no desire to stay in town longer. The ski area is excellent and the lifts and general services on the slope second to none (heated seats on the lift). For a family with any age kids I can highly recommend this hotel. The food is good with much choice for all. We were also very lucky to get a renovated family room which was very comfortable, cosy and fashionably cool.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LVDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for 4 years on the trot and have already booked for 2015! We travel as a group of 5-6 adults and love this hotel for so many reasons. The standard of the rooms and cleanliness is second to none, the food and dinner service is excellent, the 2 shuttle buses (and the great drivers) make getting around the resort and to and from the ski lifts effortless. We took advantage of the all-inclusive this time and it represents excellent value for money. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and I can thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: At least 2 floors up to avoid any noise from below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reganandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We have reviewed this hotel previously on trip adviser and the fact that our group are already booked to return to this great hotel in 2015 speaks volumes about the service and facilities that are on offer. This year was the first time that we have taken advantage of the all inclusive offer and it was well worth it, we booked direct with the hotel for the first time(rather than via a tour operator)the booking process was was easy and well managed.

Once again the family and staff made us all very welcome, many people from all over Europe return to this hotel at the same time each year and this adds to the home from home feel that we get each year.

Can't wait until our next visit!!!

Room Tip: Book direct and you may be able to choose your room, but all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skilord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our Ski holiday and I couldn't wait to post a review about this hotel.

We booked through Sunweb and managed to secure the last 4 rooms available. We paid more than we normally do for this accommodation but with the great reviews about their food, spa and shuttle service we thought this time we would splash out. We were all so glad we did.
Arrival was friendly, attentive and smooth. We were all shown to our rooms and everything about the facilities were explained to us. We were given a tour of the spa.
The food - breakfast had everything from continental to fried or cooked to order, lunch between 12.00 and 5.00 was great and a good variety and the evening meal was fantastic. Choice of wines were great too. The bar was a great meeting place for all guests to mingle and the bar staff were amazing - remembering our favourite drinks.
The bedrooms so spacious and very well equipped. Plenty of hangers too. Spa robes and towels in a basket which are yours to use for the duration of your stay.

Every little touch well thought through.

The shuttle service was no hassle, they can take you and your ski kit to any of the Saalbach Hinterglemm lifts. We hired our skis through Sport 2000 (cheaper than Intersport) and kept them at their storage by the main gondola so each day we were dropped off there. On one occasion the driver waited for us to get out ski equipment and he took us over to another lift. We made sure to tip for the service.

Everything was perfect.

I would most definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunSandsnowlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
1.2 mi away
Adler Resort
Adler Resort
#15 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#10 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#3 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Interstar Hotel
Interstar Hotel
#16 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
80 reviews
0.9 mi away
Art & Ski-In Hotel Hinterhag Saalbach
Art & Ski-In Hotel Hinterhag Saa...
#26 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Berger's Sporthotel
Berger's Sporthotel
#6 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALL INKLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALL INKLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE

Address: Altachweg 334, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#5 Best Value Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#5 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range: $272 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ALL INKLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your ALL INKLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonne Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing