We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel, amazing service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ALL INKLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our Ski holiday and I couldn't wait to post a review about this hotel.

We booked through Sunweb and managed to secure the last 4 rooms available. We paid more than we normally do for this accommodation but with the great reviews about their food, spa and shuttle service we thought this time we would splash out. We were all so glad we did.
Arrival was friendly, attentive and smooth. We were all shown to our rooms and everything about the facilities were explained to us. We were given a tour of the spa.
The food - breakfast had everything from continental to fried or cooked to order, lunch between 12.00 and 5.00 was great and a good variety and the evening meal was fantastic. Choice of wines were great too. The bar was a great meeting place for all guests to mingle and the bar staff were amazing - remembering our favourite drinks.
The bedrooms so spacious and very well equipped. Plenty of hangers too. Spa robes and towels in a basket which are yours to use for the duration of your stay.

Every little touch well thought through.

The shuttle service was no hassle, they can take you and your ski kit to any of the Saalbach Hinterglemm lifts. We hired our skis through Sport 2000 (cheaper than Intersport) and kept them at their storage by the main gondola so each day we were dropped off there. On one occasion the driver waited for us to get out ski equipment and he took us over to another lift. We made sure to tip for the service.

Everything was perfect.

I would most definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunSandsnowlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 333 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel with great staff and very welcoming atmosphere. We have stayed here twice now and I can only say that the service is exceptional. We initially stayed here in 2007 and had a brilliant time. We were thinking that the second time anywhere is never as good as the first but I can only say that the second time was even better and truly exceeded our expectations. Since 2007 the wellness area has been built and the pool area modernized. The bedrooms are clean, well kept and spacious. The food is of a very high standard and there is great variety. Our son was very happy in the creche and would of stayed there all day if he could. We will definitely be returning to Hotel Sonne. This is one hotel which really takes care of the little things that count and it makes such a difference.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stargirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights with Christmas, the service was even better then expected, nog only at the bar, sauna and restaurant, but also with all the extra's. You don't even have to leave the hotel to service your skies, or buy your ski passes.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We've just returned from a brilliant ski holiday at Hotel Sonne - we were there with our 12 year old son and another family.

Every single staff member was friendly, welcoming, warm and super efficient - thank you all.

Facilities at the hotel were superb - pool and spa area for families, with a separate spa/relaxation area for adults only - the perfect way to unwind at the end of a hard day's skiing.

The food was simply amazing, really loved it. I think the children's menu could have had a little bit more variety, but no major complaints here. And we were there on an all-inclusive basis, which was fab.

I had been a little worried about the location of the hotel (not close to lifts, and the slope down to the hotel was closed the week we were there) but the taxi shuttle provided by the hotel was incredibly efficient - taking you to all ski lifts in the mornings and picking you up in the evenings - no hanging around at all. So if this is a concern for you - don't worry, it's absolutely not a problem.

The bedrooms were always clean and comfortable - sometimes the door banging of other guests was a bit noisy :(

We had a fantastic time, and highly recommend Hotel Sonne. Thank you very much for a very happy, memorable holiday :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stregapuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a very good skiing week and Hotel Sonne has very good staff who are friendly and helpful. Brano and his colleague transfer and pick you up from all ski lifts within minutes - great shuttle service. We had very good food and all drinks are included in the weekly fee. The New Year party was very well organised and good fun. Some of the new rooms could need better sound proofing as there are many kids around and it can get noisy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salzburger67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Room lovely nothing to complain about, reception area fine. Staff friendly. Not tried food yet. But we are in an ajoining room and I can here the guests in the room next door breath, the dog in the corridor bark and am very cross. As this is the first year we have stopped going to kids hotels to get away from kids noises with our teenager, but am in a room next to 2 small kids and they are not being quiet. My room at the kids hotel was quieter. You cannot have a four star hotel with no insulation in the doors so you hear everything. The parents are not even talking loudly and you can here them.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
2  Thank VTP2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We (a couple in their 30s with a 2 year old toddler plus grandparents) had a lovely, relaxing stay at Hotel Sonne in Saalbach in July 2013. I rate the place very highly for any active family looking for somewhere to stay in this part or Austria. Why?

1) beautiful hotel. It is clearly a historical building that has enjoyed its location at the foot of the mountains for a while, and entering the lobby area with the open fire makes you feel welcome from the very start. However, this classic 'gemütlichkeit' combined with the contemporary, newly renovated room interiors brings an aesthetically pleasing atmosphere to the place. For a little extra €€€ we upgraded to a corner suite and we were very impressed with the quality of the finish, both in the living/bedroom area as well as the bathroom; the grandparents were equally happy with their double room.

2) food is tasty. The hotel offers an alternate buffet and served dinner to guests, and although we were slightly worried (food in Germany and Austria *tend* to be on the salty side) in the end that was unnecessary. The chef tries to make most of the local ingredients. The only disappointment was the kids' buffet, which mainly consisted of some kind of carbs. I guess my son is in the absolute minority of kids who like fish and vegetables, but still it would've been nice to have had some other options than chips and cheesy pasta.

TIP! If you like fish, cross the little creek and walk along the water for about 5 mins towards Saalbach town and stop by the trout farm. They not only allow you to fish your own out of their pond, but prepare them freshly for you. The magic sauce inside the trout is to die for, and the trout itself was one of the best I've ever had on the grill!!!

3) location. For those who want to be right in the town centre, it isn't for you. It is about 15mins walk. But there are many walking options directly from the hotel (just ask staff) and from any room you look right onto the mountains as you're in the valley.

4) perfect for kids. The hotel run a wonderful kids programme, which includes a trip up the slopes on one of the kiddy friendlu lifts and a hike down. The hotel grounds are equipped with a garden and an outdoor playground as well as a small but nice indoor pool. I believe they are in the process of building an outdoor pool, but have mixed feelings about it as it isn't warm enough for outdoor swimming most of the year and it'll be at the expense of their big grassy playing field where I saw boys enjoy ballgames until dusk. Really lovely to have this outdoor space that is shielded from the nearby road and is therefore safe. I guess the hotel owners are a young couple with a small boy themselves so they will hopefully continue running the place with families in mind!

5) wellness and spa. Now, my husband and I have been to many spas across the world... And we like a variety of styles. But it is no exaggeration that this hotel has one of the most tasteful spas we've ever been to. It is situated on the upper floor of a side building, and is entirely made out of wood and decorated with natural materials such as stone and antlers. There are 3/4 saunas and steam rooms and the relaxation room has waterbeds with an ipad. It isn't huge, but has everything you need.

There is a hidden Kneipp garden at the back of the building where one can walk through and on various stones and waters of different temperatures, which is meant to be good for blood circulation and general wellbeing. Definitely worth having a look!

All in all, a very pleasant, relaxing holiday venue for anyone looking to get away from the more urban parts of the world!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank mrsdelpiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
1.3 mi away
Adler Resort
Adler Resort
#14 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#10 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
255 reviews
0.7 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#2 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Art & Ski-In Hotel Hinterhag Saalbach
Art & Ski-In Hotel Hinterhag Saa...
#36 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
99 reviews
2.9 mi away
Interstar Hotel
Interstar Hotel
#17 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
81 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alpine Palace
Hotel Alpine Palace
#9 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALL INKLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALL INKLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE

Address: Altachweg 334, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#5 Best Value Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#5 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range: $259 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ALL INKLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your ALL INKLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonne Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing