We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel.”
Review of Hotel Sonnleiten

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sonnleiten
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel.”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel twice in the past 3 years. I enjoyed it very much each time, as the rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. We also had a balcony which overlooked the village and mountains.

The location of this hotel is ideal for skiing. You can walk about 200 meters from the hotel to a slope, then ski down to the lift. In the evening you can ski back to the same spot, and walk home in minutes. If you want to go into town at night, then you need a car. Walking is not ideal from this location. The hotel is somewhat isolated, but quiet and private.

The spa is very nice and clean. We got sport massages and they were great! The lobby bar has a great view and the service is great.

Breakfast is acceptable, and in the afternoon they offer free snack/soup. Dinner however is not so good here. The first time we stayed here we did Half-Board and were disappointed. The food was always called something fancy, but it was not up to par. The second time we stayed at Sonnleiten, we decided to drive into town for dinner.

Finally- the noise level here is not bad but on my first stay I did hear a neighbor snoring really loudly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina2316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    26
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
37
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights towards the end of the summer season. We were here mostly to mountain bike, so the relatively quiet vibe was fine by us. They do run a tight ship, meaning meals run to precise schedules (don't get there towards the end of the designated meal time - it's all packed away!), and some of the staff were a bit abrupt - but in fairness, I think this had more to do with them accommodating my lack of German language skills and adopting English for our conversations, so some of the subtleties of the communication may have been lost. Our room was just lovely, very generously sized and the price for the summer stay was amazing - given that it included a large breakfast buffet, dinner (4 courses) and the Joker card (for riders, that means full lift access around the area). So a sweet deal. Some people lament that it is a little way up the hill, but if you are here for walking, hiking or biking - then it's really not a big deal anyway! It's not actually that far, and you're generally out and about most of the day and only have to walk it once or twice. In fact if you duck off the "Milka Line" trail a tad early, you can almost coast straight into the hotel! Loved it, would definitely come again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

wonderful hotel with friendly service. Service takes care of the family atmosphere and they respond swiftly for your every need. It offers very good packages for bikers (joker card, isotonic drinks, cleaning dirty clothes every day, bike workshop). The hotel has two swimming pools (indoor and outdoor). You can order a massage. The hotel is located very close to the lift and trail "milkaline". Meals served in the hotel are amazing.
I recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bielu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragoer, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights with my family in July. Hotel Sonnleiten is the perfect hotel if you like good service, food, pretty pools, amazing views and clean rooms + comfy beds! On top you get a "Joker card" that gives you access to all kinds of free stuff like bike rentals, gondolos, hiking tracks and swimming pools. We where on halfboard and the food was great. Buffet one night - the next a la carte. Will go back for some more clean air and amazing views.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koebenhavn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 10 days in July 2012. I booked the hotel primarily because of the good advertising they did to reflect it as a bike friendly hotel. The staff were always polite and helpful and the room was lovely and cleaned daily to a high standard. The food was exceptional but too much..........I chose this resort because i knew it from the winter season when it is very lively but sadly in the summer it is very quiet. We ventured out at night a few times but most places closed about 10-11 and on returning to the hotel where dissapointed to find the hotel bar closed also. The following night the bar staff closed the bar at 11 despite a rumour that the UK travel operators claimed in their brochures it is open to midnight. The same bar staff member was on duty at breakfast so you can appreciate their predictment but the hotel should really have a designated bar person. Im sure with the drink prices a tidy profit would cover the costs of the bar staffs wages. ..............Hardtails bikes were free and the Joker card issued by the hotel was well used and a great free offer. The hotel didnt offer packed lunches which was disappointing considering the resort and hotel promote biking and hiking as a daily past time. We undertook the 7 summits of Saalbach which did require a packed lunch as there are no serviced hotels/huts along the route...... The Gondola opens at 7.30 for 10 mins in the morning for this trip. We waited to get the 9 gondola so we could buy food and in the end that cost us in getting the last free bus home at the end of the valley and an expensive taxi fare was incurred....We are pretty fit to, so if you do it get the 7.30 gondola up the hill. Overall a great holiday but yes the hill home is very steep if you choose the more direct route but you can zig zag up the less but longer road to the hotel............Dont underestimate the 7 summits.

Room Tip: We had 203 at it was spacious with a balcony and view of the town and hills. No complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whistler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay - the staff were friendly, the food was good and the facilities were excellent.
We had picked this hotel as it appeared to be 'biker friendly'- and it was ! Our son vrought his own bike with him. We all used the Joker Card extensively, as it enabled us to enkoy walking and good food whilst he used the excellent bike courses.
BUT: the track from the village to the hotel took the edge of the holiday. There is a bus from the hotel in the ski-ing season, but not in the summer. I could only cope with the climb once a day, so we missed out on a number of evening events which we would have attended.
My son and his family are returning to saalbach this year - but not at Sonnleiten .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonnleiten S, Inhaber at Hotel Sonnleiten, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
For all of you who are now unsure after reading reviews telling you that the hotel is not located at the pist, far away from town, reachable only with taxi on a steep steep hill and so on ... we created a special site on our website.
http://www.hotel-sonnleiten.at/skihotel-an-der-piste-saalbach-salzburger-land.html
Please convince yourself.
By the way - a 50meters walk in the morning to the pist warms up your body
and muscels for a safe wintersport pleasure.
For returning to the hotel you can take the TURMLIFT as long as it runs - with skis or without skis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Lovely, friendly family run hotel.
I was slightly guarded having read the reviews on here but was pleasantly surprised on arrival. We stayed for 5 nights in a mountain view room during March for some late season snow action. Agreed the hotel is not strictly "ski in - ski out" but it's only 100 steps from the well equipped ski room to the side of the nursery slope from which you can access some bigger lifts which will take you into the ski system. Yes, you have to cross the road (via a very efficient passenger lift) in order to reach the bubble which accesses the other side of the valley, but it's a matter of another 100 steps. Make sure to get up the nursery slope lift by 1600 and you can turn right after 50 metres and slide down into view of the hotel.
The hotel itself is very clean, warm and friendly. Our room was in the traditional Alpine style with daisy head shower and a balcony overlooking the slopes. Agreed, the walls are a little thin but not too much of a problem if you're following a fairly natural daily routine.
The food was great in my opinion - a good spread at breakfast including cooked items, cereals, fruits etc. It was well replenished between 0730 and 1030.
Dinner, contrary to other reviews, was excellent - a real surprise - an open salad bar followed by a choice of three starters and three mains. The cooking was excellent - stylish and not overpowering. Highlight of the stay was some pink pork served with a pea puree.
Yes, there's a naked sauna. Didn't venture there but did check out the excellent outdoor pool which was well heated for late March. Robes, slippers and towels supplied in the room.
We found the staff to be excellent. The reception staff are there if you need them i.e. they didn't launch into a huge welcome performance but were very helpful when asked about anything. The barman gave us some great ski tips to make the most of the sun and slopes.
This is not 5 star fluffy luxury but rather a real Austrian family run hotel with a good vibe which is kid friendly, has great food and is only 100 steps to the slopes.
If you want some Austrian musical entertainment, turn right after jumping off the nursery slope lift at the end of the day and grab a deck chair overlooking the setting sun and prepare for an audio barrage at about 4pm - good fun.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swimmingpoolmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#8 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Art & Ski-In Hotel Hinterhag Saalbach
Art & Ski-In Hotel Hinterhag Saa...
#31 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
#7 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sonnalp
Hotel Sonnalp
#29 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bauer
Hotel Bauer
#21 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
109 reviews
2.8 mi away
Designhotel WIESERGUT
Designhotel WIESERGUT
#13 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonnleiten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnleiten

Property: Hotel Sonnleiten
Address: Hinterhagweg 361, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonnleiten 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the middle of our "Home of lassig" in the Skicircus Saalbach Hinterglemm Leogang Fieberbrunn ... ... arises a completely new hotel complex on the compound of today’s Hotel Sonnleiten with the highest demand for quality. The new AlpenParks Sonnleiten will contain 36 hotel apartments and suites. Some with a sauna, all with a kitchen and terraces or balconies. The in-house restaurant, bar and lounge, the on-site heated swimming pond, an underground garage, secured ski and bike storage, charging stations (for e-bikes and electric cars), as well as countless hotel services guarantee perfect, relaxing and very individual holidays for our guests again. Currently closed Planned reopening winter 2018/19 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Sonnleiten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing