We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always personal and attentive service”
Review of Saalbacher Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saalbacher Hof
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always personal and attentive service”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I have stayed at the Saalbacher Hof more than 15 times and always enjoy being back at the hotel and always leave looking forward to my next visit. Always personal and attentive service. Enjoyed my double espresso with warm milk and a glass of water being brougt to my breakfast trable on a tray. Tamara provided very proper, professional and friendly service in the bar in the Winter garden. Enjoyed the band playing in Castello.

Room Tip: You can choose a variety of rooms based on your preference for views and morning and/or evening sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Einar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saalbacherh_Hof, Manager at Saalbacher Hof, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments we are very happy to have so loyal guests as you are and that we could keep up with your expactations also in this year again. We hope to see you soon again here at the Saalbacher Hof. All the best in the meantime. Kind regards Family Dschulnigg & Geissler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    59
    15
    12
    5
See reviews for
93
157
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandnes, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Saalbacher Hof is one of the best hotels you can stay in. If you wish to sleep good, eat good and live good , this is the hotel to use.

I liked the location of the Hotel, no traffic and just out of the reception you have the pedestrian.
The people that work there are very service minded and professional, the best part they interact and blends in.

Room Tip: Ask for deluxe room,these are large and new,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rune A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saalbacherh_Hof, Manager at Saalbacher Hof, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments we are very happy that we could keep up with your expactations and we hope that we are going to welcome you another time here at the Saalbacher Hof. All the best in the meantime. Kind regards Family Dschulnigg & Geissler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were two couples staying at this excellent hotel for a week. We were all very satisfied with the stay. The location of the hotel was perfect, in the middle of the centrum of Saalbach and close to the skilifts. The rooms were big and clean and the beds were very good. We slept like stones every night. The food was fantastic, both for breakfast and dinner. It was 5 course dinner every night, with several choices for each course. It was also salat buffet and dessert buffet. We used the Jacuzzi, swimming pool and sauna every afternoon. The swimming pool was small, but ok. We bought a package through STS Alpereiser, so I actually dont know the net price for the hotel. This is an excellent hotel which I defintly can recommend to others and where I want to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erling_Siring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saalbacherh_Hof, Manager at Saalbacher Hof, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments we are very happy that we could keep up with your expactations and we hope that we are going to welcome you another time here at the Saalbacher Hof. All the best in the meantime. Kind regards Family Dschulnigg & Geissler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My son and I have just returned from a week skiing in Saalbach. We chose the Saalbacher Hof as a result of feedback from trip-advisor and we were not disappointed at all. We found this to be a very good hotel.

In terms of location, the hotel was just a short walk to the main ski lifts and there were any number of bars and ski hire places close by. We also found that the supermarket opposite was pretty handy when stocking up on snacks for the day.

The hotel itself was excellent. Check in was easy and we were made very welcome when we arrived. The room was also very good. It was a double delux with twin beds. We found that there was plenty of room for the both of us and that it was a very comfortable place to be. The bathroom was great, especially the shower. As with the rest of the hotel, the room was spotless. We stayed half board and found the food to be very good. Breakfast was a buffet with hot and cold selections and lots of choice. Dinner was a five course affair. The menu had two or three choices per course and there was usually a buffet selection for one of the courses each night. The variety and quality of the food was excellent and the service was pretty good too.

We also made use of the spa. The swimming pool isn't that big, though it's really nicely designed. There was the usual jacuzzi and a really nice sauna too.

All in all, this was an excellent experience and I'd definitely recommend this hotel. It is pricey, and I'm sure that you can stay in Saalbach for much less, however I do think that the cost is appropriate for the service, food and accommodation on offer.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front of the hotel on the third floor and there were occasions when we were woke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saalbacherh_Hof, Manager at Saalbacher Hof, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments we are very happy that we could keep up with your expactations and we hope that we are going to welcome you another time here at the Saalbacher Hof. All the best in the meantime. Kind regards Family Dschulnigg & Geissler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Our friends have raved about this hotel and have been returning for the last ten years. It had a lot to live up to and it certainly did not disappoint.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special - the staff training must be very good! Our particular praise goes to Rado and Veronica for whom nothing was too much trouble. Rado makes a superb fresh decaff coffee by the way. Food was excellent, huge choice - with lots of organic produce especially the vast variety of bread to choose from.The hotel is very comfortable, cosy yet stylish and immaculately clean.Comfy beds, goose down quilts.. I could wax lyrical till you nodded off. One of the joys after a hard days skiing was the spa and swimmingpool with the beautiful view of the slopes. Bliss.The owners have got the whole thing right and I could not recommend it more highly. We'll be taking more friends with us next year for our return visit. Only small gripe is smoking is allowed in the bar/cafe - but that is Austria rather than the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but we paid a bit more for a superior room which was larger and very quiet in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrF409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saalbacherh_Hof, Manager at Saalbacher Hof, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments we are very happy that we could keep up with your expactations and we hope that we are going to welcome you another time here at the Saalbacher Hof. All the best in the meantime. Kind regards Family Dschulnigg & Geissler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Been at the Saalbacherhof five times now - would not consider staying anywhere else! This time I had the misfortune to injure myself on the slopes and was confined to the hotel for four days. Used the lovely library to read my ebook and chat to fellow guests and staff. Every meal was a treat, service friendly and caring. The only small problem is the allowing of smoking in the cafe - bar, something we're not used to nowadays. A great holiday despite the lack of skiing!

Room Tip: Never chosen a room as we travel with Inghams on holiday package, but never been disappointed, altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saalbacherh_Hof, Owner at Saalbacher Hof, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Mr. or Ms. Malcolm C.,

thank you for your great review. We are very happy that you have had another great stay at our hotel, beside the fact that you couldn't go for skiing for 4 days.

But nevertheless you could enjoy some hidden places in the hotel where you were able to enjoy the time off from working.

Concerning the café and the smoking in there we would like to give also our smoking guests the chance to spend a drink while having a cigarette. But we also offer non smoking places - like our lobby, the Lärchenstube in our s'Wirstshaus and many others.

We hope to welcome you soon again for another skiing holiday.

With our kind regards from Saalbach,


Family Dschulnigg & Geissler and the SBH team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just back home after an excellent week in the Saalbacher Hof in Saalbach. Not cheap but you get what you pay for - great food, great room and great service and staff. We stayed in the deluxe tower suite which had lots of space and a walk-in closet. The bathroom was big and the room even had a little corner with at tall table and 4 chairs where you cold sit and enjoy some food or drinks. There was also a nice balcony with midday sun.

The room had a fantastic view of the Schattberg (mountain) and the mountain scenery (room 320).
The hotel has a nice pool and spa facilities. In the summertime there is also an outdoor pool and a nice garden. The hotel has a great central location with all the lift close by.

Food
Breakfast was great with good choices of cereal, fruits, bread and juices. You could have eggs done anyway you like by a chef standing at the buffet.

Evening
Great variation during the week. Every morning you had to choose between several options for the evenings food. At lest one of the courses was a buffet style take what ever you like - the days with the dessert buffet were great :-)

What we didn´t like was having to pay 10 euros a day to use a baby cot. At this level of pricing, the bathroom should also have had some better products, like a specific shampoo, conditioner and the things you normally find in a 4 or 5 star hotel.

We have been coming to Saalbach for the better part of 20 years. Having previously stayed at the Alpenhotel just down the street, I must say Saalbacher Hof is a much better experience. The service, food, room - yes everything is leagues better. It´s well worth the small price difference.

Saalbach is also beautiful in the summer, so we are considering a stay at the Saalbacher Hof this summer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saalbacherh_Hof, Inhaber at Saalbacher Hof, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Mr. or Mrs. Schrage,

Thank you for your email. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel at your fullest.
Also it is great to hear that you love our food variation in our restaurant as well as the service.

Concerning the bathroom products we are offering some high quality soap of ADA cosmetics. But we are planning to introduce some other high quality products for body and hair in addition in the next few months in all of our rooms.

We are already looking forward to welcome you soon again at our hotel Saalbacher Hof. Maybe also for a summer holiday at ours we will send you a brochure as soon as it is ready.

With our kind regards from snowy Saalbach,



Family Dschulnigg & Geissler and the SBH team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#8 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berger's Sporthotel
Berger's Sporthotel
#5 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
742 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Alpine Palace
Hotel Alpine Palace
#10 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
#7 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
167 reviews
0.7 mi away
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
#4 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
303 reviews
1.9 mi away
Adler Resort
Adler Resort
#18 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saalbacher Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saalbacher Hof

Property: Saalbacher Hof
Address: Dorfplatz 27, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#4 Best Value Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#12 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saalbacher Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family managed top 4* Hotel, located centrally in the pedestrian road with only a few meters to the main lifts. Indoor Wellness Spa: Swimming Pool, Solarium, Jacuzzi, Sauna area, Gym, Beauty- & Therapy department. Outdoor Wellness: Heated pool, beautiful garden and Tennis court. Charming rooms of all categories from F³ Standard Double rooms to newly built Deluxe rooms. Restaurants with an excellent high standard kitchen, cafe with bar, conference rooms, library, nightclub Castello. Special offers and family rates upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Saalbacher Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saalbacher Hof Saalbach
Saalbacher Hof Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing