We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous hotel”
Review of Kristiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kristiana
Reviewed August 18, 2010

The hotel was clean and modern and our family room was quite spacious. The food was fantastic. Breakfast was the normal cereals, breads, meat etc and the four/five course evening meals were excellent, always plenty of choice with half portions available for the children and great service. The hotel is located about 2 mins from the centre and slightly uphill but that didn't bother us, infact it was a plus for us. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreshAir6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 127 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2010

We have just returned from a 2 week stay in this hotel and it was nothing short of wonderful. The food was excellent and the kids got half portions of our food which meant they tried and like lots of things they would never have voluntarily chosen, the family and staff were a delight. It was fantastic value for money in a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VAMEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Just got back from a week's skiing in Saalbach,where we stayed in the Kristiana Hotel.

The food (5 courses!!) was excellent and varied through out our stay. In fact I would go to say that some fancy/posh restaurants couldn't beat the presentation and taste of some of the meals we had.

The hotel has a quirky decor (the owner does his own art! that is everywhere!!) but is ideally situated in Sallbach for the town centre/ski slopes (approx 5 mins walk but it is up-hill after a day's skiing). T

he rooms are clean and have plenty of space (but again the decor is a little 'strange'). Like a previous reviewer has mentioned, the shower has no curtain so the bathroom can get a bit waterlogged.

Staff were really friendly and certainly made us welcome.

Overall : Saalbach is a nice little town, with access to many red/blue slopes. Plenty of bars, even a small casino and many restaurants (but you don't need them as the Kristiana's food is so good)

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pgtWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed at the Kristiana over Christmas 2009; my wife and I and two adult sons. We booked largely on the basis of the good reviews. It was very quiet (a third full if that)Generally, the hotel, whilst not bad, did not live up to our expectations.

For four star accomodation, our rooms were very basic. Very dated (though we could live with this), the smallest portable tv, a hand held shower and no shower curtain, small, well used towels and no hair dryer (though one was provided on request). It was very clean however.

The owners were friendly but not what I would call particularly hospitable. Food was generally good. A good choice at breakfast (but identically set up each day and a bit repetetive). Evening meals were good, though salad buffet identical each evening with the usual four varieties of lettuce.

My wife and I popped into the Kendler (also four star) one evening for a drink. Quite a difference; they seemed more geared up, more professional and more welcoming.

Would I stay here again...yes I would, but there are probably better hotels. It just lacked "that something" for us.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
Thank salvenstadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We are full of praise for this hotel, having just spent a week there. It is situated in a quiet location but within a few minutes walk from the centre of saalbach. Our room (cleaned daily) was comfortable and of ample size with plenty of storage space for our walking gear. A shared balcony provided additional room to sit and enjoy the magnificent views of the Shattberg East and Westgipfel.
Barbara and her staff were extremely helpful and attentive, particularly during meal times when the food was 'something else'. Breakfast was served buffet style with plenty of choice of cereals, cold meats, cheeses, preserves etc. The four course dinner was of a consistently high standard throughout the week with plenty of variety. During our stay free wine, beer and soft drinks were served between starter and dessert. This is a hotel we would definitely return to and feel happy in recommending to others.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EddyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Stayed for one weeks skiing holiday. Hotel room was very clean and tidy. All rooms seem to have balcanies, ours had a safe and plenty of draws and cupboards for clothing. Not all rooms have hair dryers and ours only had a 14 in TV (but who needs a TV when you are on holiday). Hotel is located 2 mins slow walk from the ski slopes and lifts. 10mins slow walk to the Ski School meeting point. The food here is of the highest quality and plenty of it and alot of care is taken in its presentaion. There is a choice if 3 diffreent main courses to go wuth the soup, starter, dessert and selection of cheeses. Breakfact & Evening meals are served within a 2 hour window (not so sure how good the menu is if you are a strict vegitarian). Staff very helpful and all speak perfect English. I would highly recommend this hotel without any reservations at all. Skiing equipment can be stored in the basement of the hotel with heated pipes to hang boots & gloves.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

Had a 4 night break with Thomson Lakes and Mountains we were very fortunate to stay in such a lovely hotel at a bargain price!The room was large and comfortable the food was excellent and the location perfect.I was suprised to see the resort so quiet which would not suit younger people.Im sure the season in winter is very different. We loved the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#10 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#3 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berger's Sporthotel
Berger's Sporthotel
#6 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
#7 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
170 reviews
2.0 mi away
Adler Resort
Adler Resort
#15 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
105 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Alpine Palace
Hotel Alpine Palace
#9 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kristiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kristiana

Address: Oberdorf 40, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#13 Spa Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range: $256 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kristiana 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kristiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kristiana Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing