We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel; lovely food; good position; cat does appeat to own it :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kristiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kristiana
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Hotel; lovely food; good position; cat does appeat to own it :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Great week. Rooms small but fine; great value, Really excellent food, far better than I expected for the price! (~£650 for the week inc flights with crystal). Really nice individual hotel; owner gave us a winetasting one night. His art decorates the hotel: fun!. Small but modern and spotless sauna/wellness area, open after skiing till 19:00. As the guide says, a towel will cover your modesty :)

Smoking in the bar is not exclusive to this Hotel; there appears to be no enforced smoking ban in any Saalbach bar (FWIW I dont remember smoking in bars as a problem in St Anton last year?)

The cat (name "Tequila" is a feature. It is NOT allowed in the restaurant (was let in once by a guest's child but cat promptly ushered out by staff). It does, however, appear to own the hotel and will greet you on reception, ride the lift, and looked disapprovingly at us when we arrived back late after a night on the town :)
Excellent food; well varied and presented with choices - that nights menu supplied at breakfast to choose unless its a gala/themed night.
Staff are Austrian and German is appreciated, tho they speak English.
Highly recommended and many thx.

Room Tip: wifi only in ground floor and first-floor rooms, apparently
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xenu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    21
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Very good location for skiing, good food, very friendly service at dining room.
Too many smokers at the bar. The bar smells with cigarettes. Not good for kids.
Management not very friendly and helpful at solving problems with room, it was quite disappointing.
There are certainly friendlier accommodations in Saalbach!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 535michal535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

My wife and I plus two friends have just returned from Saalbach and the Kristiana Hotel. Whilst we agree with many of the comments made by previous guests and do not wish to over old ground, we must say that the food and service is excellent and the postion of the Kristiana good if you want be just off the main drag as we prefer. The wellness centre is clean and modern and well worth a visit. The decor of our room was dated but our friends room was good so I suppose it depends on your views and luck of the draw. A special mention for Claudia who runs the bar and reception on a evening, nothing was too much for her, she was friendly, charming and always had a smile for us. Would have no problems recommending the Kristiana.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hryzko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Just back from a great skiing week in Saalbach where we stayed with Crystal at the Kristiana Hotel.

It was mostly everything you would want. Good service, friendly staff, lovely food (although the arrival dinner on Saturday night was only all right - but we putty that down to them trying to cater for guests arriving at all sorts of peculiar times). It has a nice sauna area (mostly unused and not used at all by Brits due to the nudity), small games room, good ski storage etc. The rooms are a little basic but are spotless, cleaned, serviced and towels changed daily. The hotel is well positioned, three minutes walk from the Berkogenbahn lift and near to but far enough away from the resort centre to avoid night time noise.

We have two issues. The first is that apart from the quite small and sometimes very smoky bar there is no where to sit. It has no lounge. To get away from the smoke, on three evenings we retreated to the restaurant and played cards in there. The staff and manager were ok with this so we suspect it has happened before.

The other issue is the cat. She is a gentle friendly creature, but if, like me, you suffer from a cat allergy then her presence can only be difficult as she is allowed to freely roam around the hotel. We encountered her in the bar - of course, the lift, the dining room and the lobby (where she settled comfortably on our ski bag the moment we arrived). Anecdotally we also heard from other guests that she had been in their rooms and, as I woke up streaming more than once we did wonder if she had been in ours when it was cleaned. The effect was this spoiled things for us as I had to put up with the symptoms of a severe cold all week - due only to the cat. It could have been much worse though as I usually get very severe asthma attacks when exposed. Fortunately (and possibly due to the fact that the hotel was kept spotlessly clean so no cat fur spores were left around) I escaped this.

I make a point of this because there was no mention of the cat in anything we saw from Crystal and we think there should have been. Quite simply, we would have gone elsewhere if we had known and we made this clear to the Crystal rep as there are many people who suffer from the same issues. I can only envy the guests who could pet the cat - who was really a very nice and popular animal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mousie401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

We found the service excellent and the staff were always friendy, helpful, attentive and thoughtful. The food was always of a very high standand and only served when we were ready for the next course. Our room was a good size and comfortable. The ski room is the largest we have been in with heated boot storage and lots of room for sitting down. The hotel is well situated, close to lifts to both Saalbach and Hinterglemm systems. I would happily recommend this hotel for anyone, including families, who wish to visit this ski area, summer or winter.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EandIonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Just back from a great skiing holiday in Saalbach. Stayed at the Kristiana and was shocked that the cat was allowed to roam around anywhere in the hotel and also in the dining room when guests were having dinner and breakfast, totally unhygienic and would be unacceptable here in the UK. On one occasion the cat was trying to jump onto our table as dinner was being served. One day the cat was sick in the hotel lobby, it was disgusting.

Our room was number 205 which was very much in need of a refurbish. There was flaurecent lights at the side of the bed which would have blinded you we had to cover them up with maps of the resort. There was a half inch gap in the bedroom door we had to drape a dressing gown down the side of the door to have some privacy.The only good thing about the Kristiana was the food but the cat would put most people of, on that note we would not go back and stay there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We found the hotel friendly and welcoming. The food was extremely good and nicely presented. Everything was unhurried and gave you a relaxed feel about the stay. Would definately recommend this hotel, the friendly family, comfortable rooms, plus the excellent quality of all meals. In addition Saalbach is attractive and has excellent access to lifts with brilliant walking and mountain views.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are very quiet if you wish for a silent night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.2 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#4 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#9 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berger's Sporthotel
Berger's Sporthotel
#5 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Alpine Palace
Alpine Palace
#10 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bauer
Hotel Bauer
#21 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
#6 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kristiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kristiana

Property: Kristiana
Address: Oberdorf 40, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#13 Spa Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#15 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kristiana 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kristiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kristiana Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing