We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good family run hotel in the middle of saalbach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berger's Sporthotel
Certificate of Excellence
cornwall
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a good family run hotel in the middle of saalbach”
Reviewed January 16, 2010

A good hotel in the middle of Saalbach run by the Berger family. Very friendly staff with good service. Rooms are on the small size but very clean. A very enjoyable holiday over all.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fritzCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    234
    56
    14
    21
See reviews for
177
210
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

We arrived at the hotel and were allocated a room for 3 people with a balcony. As we started to unpack the owner came to our room and informed us that they had a nicer room for us..... We were then given what we believe to be a junior suite. It was perfect.... it had a balcony all round and the most amazig veiw. Two closets with plenty if space for all our clothes and enough room to hang our ski clothes after a day on the slopes. The evening meals are 4 course, we ate duck, veal, steak..... It is a set menu in the evening with about 3 choices for the main, salad bar, soup and dessert or cheese. There should be plenty of choice for all taste buds. We witnessed some people asking for steak, chicken wings and chips etc...... When sat at the table as they did not fancy anything on the set menu..... these dishes were prepared for them and that never seemed to be a problem. But why have chicken wings when you have 5 * food on offer!! We had nothing but praise for the chef, the food is gorgeous. My friend had an accident on the 3rd day which meant we had to leave early and travel to the u.k via train, reception were very helpful in sending and recieving faxes, telephone calls and messages. The owner came and talked to you every night to make sure that you were having a good time and if you had any problems. I do not think that this was fake, but a genuine interest in making people comfortable and feeling welcome in her hotel. She was concerned about my friends accident and talked to us a couple of times the evening prior to us leaving. As we left prior to breakfast, they had made up a lunch pack for us both to take with us, which was handed to us by the doorman as we left. We did not request this.... but that shows the care and thought that goes into making sure that you have a great stay with the Berger. The "lap dancing" club that everyone seems to have an issue with.... is located in the basement in a seperate room to the club itself, so if you don't want to see the girls..... don't walk through the door marked 'Table Dance' easy!! The flyers that were handed out advertising the club were done by both males and females, whom had big thick jackets, boots, pants on...... Unless you went down to the club, you would have no idea that it was there, if you were a child. No naked ladies waiting in the lobby as some would lead you to believe. We have stayed all over the world and we can say that the only place that comes close to the recepetion that you get at this hotel and in Austria is Thailand. The decor is unusual but i put that down to being Austrian.... It amy not look like the standard 4* in other parts if the world, however that what makes it unique for us, being a bit quirky and different.... Not just a chain hotel. We would loved to have stayed longer and may had back in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheGreatDane13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2010

There are no strippers dancing on reception if you have read that elsewhere. They work downstairs after dark! But to be honest the disco/table dance bar was unobtrusive and the hotel is genuinely suitable for families.

Rooms (basic twin) are more than suitable for ski trip but not I would say 4 star standard. We found the food and service to be excellent though and all in all made it really good value for money.

The hotel is certainly quirky, the dining room chandelier has a neon light that surrounds/ruins it but don't be put off by the negative reports. The staff really make this place a nice place to stay.

I would say that the spa is not excellent - the pool is not big at all and pretty cold. Don't expect to be doing lengths in the evening. If you are not skiing/boarding and a spa is important to you, then you might want to choose one of the other hotels in town.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pistebashers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Stayed here with my 2 teenage boys, my daughter and partner and there 2 small children, one of which was 7 months old. Nothing was to much trouble, them sterlised our bottles , arranged a cot and highchair.
Food was of an excellent quality , with 4 courses a night. Good choice at breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful.
We stayed in the rooms over the road from the main hotel, they were of a good size and where very clean with good maid service everyday.
Hotel pool was a bit cold but very nice. the is a lovely beauty shop there and i had a couple of treatments wish were excellent. I really enjoyed the waterbath body wrap.
Beds were really comfortable and there are plenty of pillows.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Had two weeks holiday at the Bergersports Hotel and was made welcome by Frau Berger and all the staff were very friendly and attentive. Food was excellent with a good selection.
Though a single traveller and without asking I was given a small double room which was very comfortable.
I went to Saalbach for a walking holiday and found it was a wonderful area for the scenery and variety of walks.
An alround great holiday

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldPete99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Just returned after a ten day stay at the Berger Sporthotel. From the moment you enter the hotel you are made most welcome by the Berger family and staff. The courtesy, care and helpfulness shown on entry continues throughout the stay. The room (314) was excellent in size, cleanliness and comfort. The choice of food was good and well prepared. This was an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon England
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Just returned from Saalbach. The village is very picturesque and the Berger Sporthotel was excellent. Just one comment, may we suggest a nonslip mat in the bath. We had a lovely time The food & service in the hotel was very good. The local bus service also good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syldoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#8 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#4 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
357 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alpine Palace
Alpine Palace
#10 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
#3 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
292 reviews
1.9 mi away
Adler Resort
Adler Resort
#18 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
#7 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berger's Sporthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berger's Sporthotel

Property: Berger's Sporthotel
Address: Dorfplatz 33, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#5 Spa Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#13 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#17 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Berger's Sporthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berger's Sporthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berger`s Sporthotel Hotel Saalbach
Bergers Sporthotel Saalbach
Bergers Sporthotel Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing