We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unterwirt - Don't bother!”
Review of Unterwirt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Unterwirt
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We have skied as a group of around 10 adults for over 15 years and this place is the worst that we have had to stay. Food very mediocre. No atmosphere. Unfriendly owners and staff. As you can guess won't be going back there this century.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waynecorps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 37 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2009

We were booked for 2 weeks but after one week we advised that we were misreable and wanted to check out as we wer not happy. They were aggressive and rude, and I can only say I have never been exposed to such an unfriendly enviroment and service at a holiday destination in my life.
The accommodation was sparsely decorated - there was no soap in the bathroom, the hot water was non existant 9in winter) there was aplug which did not fit the bath and it took 15 minutes and some plastic bags to try and resolve this.
The reception was militant and not at all welcoming - we were not advised of the location of the rooms or any of the services available. We had no idea about the meal selection procedure and it was all in German. We would regularly arrive at our table and it had beengiven away toother guests they would then try and make us sit at a dirty table for 2 (there were 4 of us) Should you require a cup of coffee after 9.45 at breakfast it was a real problem and they really let you know you were inconveninencing them. the meals selection was minimal - only one plain yoghurt at breakfast. It was extremely expensive for what you got. Definately not value for money. When we did try to get assistance we were told - we will see.....and trust me this was not in a friendly manner either. upon departure we met some Austrians who also advised this was the worst experience they had had and would not go back to the hotel. Very diappointing when one knows you look forward to a special holiday only once a year.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funlovingSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2008

I stayed at the Gasthof Unterwirt last summer. The hotel itself was okay, rooms were fine with bathtub, tv and balcony that included great views over the surrounding mountains.

The biggest complaint I have is regarding the food. The travel agent we used included both breakfast and dinner in the price, so we more or lessed were forced to eat at the hotel.

The breakfast was "just" pretty uninteresting, but the dinner was more than bad. Over cooked pasta, meat with sinews, everything was just bland and greasy and it made you feel like they wanted to feed as many as possible with minimum cost and effort.

I suppose you could leave and eat elsewhere, and so we did a few times. In general however, the Austrian food and restaurants is great.

I could stay at the Unterwirt again, but I wouldn't eat there.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2008

Location of the Hotel is great. Just on the middle of the Village near the Ski Lifts.
All the rest is awful.
Half Board makes me remember when I was eating in the Cantine of the School. Plates are miserable in a country where you normally can have great food.
From Saturday to Friday you find always for the breakfast same food. You have to be always on the back of the employees to ask for replacing the plates.
It is described on their Web Site like a 4 courses meal. In fact you only can choose between 2 plates and add a Salad Bufet that was the same each night.
On the Dinner the deserts are like fast-food.
We got a pudding that was just water mix.
Never got a piece of fruit.
The soup is water with some oil...
About employees simpaty... What a miserable and disgusting environement.
We could only find an employee simpatic, but the others,... no comments.
Enfim... A place to not recommend unless you don´t plan to eat there.
About the room, it is acceptable, but decoration is very bad, so you don´t feel confortable inside the room.
There is no Wireless.
I have been already in other Hotels in Saalbach, and this experience was very bad.
Spending a few Euros more and go to another Hotel in Saalbach will be in my opinion considered an investement for a better Holidays.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank TripComment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2008

Just spent a week at the gasthof unterwirt arriving on the 28th of dec for the new year, had read the previous review so was prepared for the place to be a bit of a dump !. we arrived at 10 am to be told the room was not ready and check in is usually 2 pm,we expected this and were not too bothered as we needed to collect ski passes etc and have a look around the village. Arrived back at the hotel about 1pm, the room was ready we were pleasently suprised, quite large with a proper bath and spotlessly clean, ok you don't get any soap and the towels aren't the best but you can buy a bar of soap from the spar around the corner for 40 cents and if you miss your egyptian cotton towel that much take it with you. The hotel has very large heated ski and boot room which can only be accessed by key card and is free of charge, it also has a sauna and steam room which is also free.we stayed half board, the breakfast was as we expected, friut, cereals, juice, meats, cheese, several different types of bread, tea, coffee etc. Everything seemed fresh and was always kept topped up. Evening meal was four course with a choice of main course.from the moment we arrived we found all the staff to be very helpfull and could not do enough for us even to the extent that as soon as we walked into the dinning room on an evening we had a beer and a glass of wine on the table as soon as we sat down!. If you don't like the food on the menu they will also cook you something you would prefer. The location of the hotel is excellent, with the schattberg expess cable car being about 50 metres away, from there you can ski both sides of the valley and get to leogang and hinterglem without using the ski bus.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jase380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2007

What an unwelcoming place! The owner didnt manage to crack a smile the whole time were were there and the hotel was run with a militant fervour with absolutely no deviation from 'THE RULES', which were numerous. The carpets were thin, the duvets thinner, the ambience thinnest. When we requested soap we were begrudgingly handed a microscopic bar - didnt dare ask then if there was perhaps some shampoo?...

Surely it doesn't cost a lot to have passage lights that stay on until you get to your door instead of plunging you into darkness 10 seconds after putting them on, or giving some basic toiletries, or towels bigger than a napkin, thin and starched rigid? There was nothing unbearable - it was clean, it was organised - but all it needed to make it complete was a big "Not Welcome' mat at the front door.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Je lepší zvolit vyšší patro
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Irena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
1.8 mi away
Ripper
Ripper
#72 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpenhotel Saalbach
Alpenhotel Saalbach
#55 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
91 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#31 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Zur Dorfschmiede
Hotel Zur Dorfschmiede
#43 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
33 reviews
2.1 mi away
THOMSN-Rock.Hotel
THOMSN-Rock.Hotel
#58 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#3 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unterwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unterwirt

Address: Unterdorf 31, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 76 Hotels in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Hotel Class:3 star — Unterwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Unterwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unterwirt Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing