We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old school after ski” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hinterhag Alm

Hinterhag Alm
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: German, Austrian, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: During the last decades Saalbach-Hinterglemm has established itself as one of the most popular ski resorts in the Alps. As we know skiing and apres-ski belong together. The best place in the Glemmtal is the Hinterhag Alm!The Hinterhag Alm is located directly next to the Kohlmais-slope just a few meters above the Hotel Hinterhag and maybe 2 skiminutes away from the center of Saalbach. Since its opening, the Hinterhag Alm has a legendary reputation: behind the aged wood day-by-day daily people meet at 4 PM to celebrate a party together with live music!
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Old school after ski”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Good music and atmoshere. Reasonable priced. Go there after your last run and have a large beer or Jägertee. That real after ski life!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Uuno_turhapuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josef F, Inhaber at Hinterhag Alm, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hallloooo uuno_turhapuro,


thank you very much for your review.
We feel very delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your stay at our Hinterhag Alm.
For us it is great to hear that you had a good time here and and we will also give the compliment to our staff.

We are already looking forward to welcome you as soon as possible in our Hinterhag Alm at 4pm.

with best regards from Saalbach

Josef Fersterer and the Hinterhag Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    32
    14
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Skip for lunch tho après ski has good rep”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Had lunch here this week with my husband. Absolutely no atmosphere, food choice much more limited than elsewhere, waiter very grumpy and it took over 20 minutes to get the bill. I hear it's fab for après ski, but skip it for lunch

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eimear C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location for après ski”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Location at top of Turm 6er great for close by hotel we were in or easy 200m ski back to Saalback center (as long as you didn't drink a beer ;). Busy so great for atmosphere and a people watch.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank andyHalifax_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josef F, Inhaber at Hinterhag Alm, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear andyHalifax_UK

thank you very much for your review.
We feel very delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your stay at our Hinterhag Alm.
For us it is great to hear that you had a good time here and and we will also give the compliment to our staff.

We are already looking forward to welcome you as soon as possible in our Hinterhag Alm at 4pm.

with best regards from Saalbach

Josef Fersterer and the Hinterhag Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Haallloooo .... Best Après ski in the Alps :0)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Just back from second trip to Saalbach this season and most nights spent in the best Après ski bar ever!!
Great to mix with all nationalities enjoying the best Après ski Music... Your guaranteed the best Après ski Everynight... :0)) Never been anywhere that can compare to the atmosphere ....
"Jeden Tag Hinterhag!"

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tezfca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josef F, Inhaber at Hinterhag Alm, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Hallooooo Tezfca,

thank you very much for your review.
We feel very delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your stay at our Hinterhag Alm.
For us it is great to hear that you enjoyed your time here and and we will also give the compliment to our staff.

We are already looking forward to welcome you as soon as possible in our Hinterhag Alm at 4pm.

with best regards from Saalbach

Josef Fersterer and the Hinterhag Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grumpy Waiters”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

After reading all the reviews, thought we'd call in for lunch and scout the place out. Wont be coming back later as the staff are so miserable and unhelpfull. Shame really as we are a party of 12 and our bar bill was €3500 last night, their loss, there are a lot friendlier places in the village.

Helpful?
Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Josef F, Inhaber at Hinterhag Alm, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking time to write a review.

We are sorry to hear that we didn't had enough space for your group of 12 persons.
The Hinterhag Alm is well known as we are fully booked every day and for bigger groups it´s better The next time we could reserve a table for you all and we will promise you- you will have the best hours! Jeden Tag - Hinterhag !

We hope to welcome you to another time and remain

with best regards from Hinterhag Alm

Josef Fersterer and the Hinterhag Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Hinterhag Alm also viewed

Saalbach-Hinterglemm, Salzburg Region
Saalbach-Hinterglemm, Salzburg Region
 
Saalbach-Hinterglemm, Salzburg Region
Saalbach-Hinterglemm, Salzburg Region
 
Saalbach-Hinterglemm, Salzburg Region
Saalbach-Hinterglemm, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Hinterhag Alm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing