We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but busy and hence slow”
Review of Schattberg stube

Schattberg stube
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
Restaurant details
Altenmarkt im Pongau, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice but busy and hence slow”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Good food, friendly, great location, but we found a warm summer evening so the whole village was out. Good pricing though.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    57
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Waitress”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Waitress here was absolutely fabulous (I don't know her name but had brown hair). Very lovely. Food very tasty and fills you up! Hurrah!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good mountain restaurant”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Normally the restaurant at the top of a main lift in a top ski resort is a tourist trap, not so at the top of the Schattberg lift. The stube is a table service restaurant with efficient service, good food and reasonable prices. Yet another reason to ski Saalbach/Hinterglemm.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vogelgesang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect local cuisine”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

During a skiing vacation one just wants to get stomach filled with good food. Fast and efficiently. Schattberg stube is perfect for this. We spent one week in Saalbach early March '13. We found out this restaurant was perfect for us. Cozy, not too expensive and very good.

What we usually miss when travelling on Austria is a good salad. When you order a normal portion you usually get just a few slices of tomato or cucumber. Also a quality of appetizer salad (gemischter Salad) varies. This restaurant had perfect salad. Good potato salad + variety of veggies with vinegar. We really liked Wiener Schnitzel (only pork, not veal available) but it was duck (Barbarian Ente) that blew our minds! Delicious, a taste one could die for! Only reason I am not giving 5* was "Saalbacher Pan" with beef, pork and chicken. All meats in the dish were dry and quite tasteless.

Place gets wuite crowded after 7pm so you better get in after 6.45 or so if you want to get a table. Portions are big and stimmung in the place is perfect with Tyrolian music and waiters wearing Lederhosen. Nice!

Helpful?
Thank sten_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Probably the best "budget" restaurant in Saalbach”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We came back here again and again after we had tried some others every now and then.

The "schnitzels" were pretty good (not the top), other meet plates were also above the average in the village and the pizzas were the best we found in Saalbach. The "apfel strudels" were really home-made, very good and really big. Also the other desserts were big. The service was fast and kind.

You need to go there quite early (latest half past six) to get the table without queuing. You can wait in the bar, but I advise you not to eat there (if you are not a smoker), because there is allowed to smoke - and people really smoke there.

This was the best we found in the village if you want to get reasonably priced meals. There are also a lot more expensive restaurants (mainly linked to the hotels) that in some cases can offer a good meal, but compared to the price this is better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Protravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schattberg stube also viewed

Saalbach-Hinterglemm, Salzburg Region
Saalbach-Hinterglemm, Salzburg Region
 
Saalbach-Hinterglemm, Salzburg Region
Saalbach-Hinterglemm, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Schattberg stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing