We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cozy - but .......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Art & Ski-In Hotel Hinterhag Saalbach
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy - but .......”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

A very stylish and cozy hotel, there are however some flaws. Staff were nice and friendly, but several of them seemed to be surprisingly inexperienced for a four star hotel. Room cleaning was on a disappointingly low level, mainly limited to making the beds and emptying the paperbin (no cleaning of floor, washbasins, mirror, shower etc.).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann-Ingrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    15
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
26
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Having just returned from a weeks ski holiday at Hinterhag we're ready to book again for next season. The hotel is modern, clean and efficiently run. We had a room on the reception floor which was spacious and had a lovely bathroom. The views of the piste and the town from the balcony were a bonus. The only remotely negative comment I could make was that our room was opposite the door into the back of the kitchen from the hotel corridor (room 201). This wasn't a problem for us, however, there was a little bit of noise from staff singing along to the radio and coming and going up and down the corridor around evening meal time, although this ended around 10pm. The hotel was spotlessly clean with a wonderful spa area. The ski facilities were good and the hotel is a short walk to the top of the nursery slope and the famous apres ski at the Hinterhag Alm (unmissable)! Be sure to book a table in the hotel restaurant. It is a little more expensive than you would pay down in town but with its lovely dining area it is definately worth those few extra euro's. Pasta dishes 10-12 euro and around 22 euro for a steak. To sum up our stay I would say an excellent well run hotel in an amazing ski in/out location in a fantastic ski area.

Room Tip: Book a room with balcony for a view of the piste
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsH45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

My partner and I have stayed at the Hinterhagg three times now, the first stay Feb 2009, again in Feb 2010, and the third this February. A beautiful hotel in an amazing location, direcly on the slopes (a 15min walk down to the village - but quite a steep climb back up the mountain road)
Popular with mid 30's - 40's age group, more often now, it seems, with younger children that make use of the pool area after a day on the slopes.
The breakfast restaurant is superb, but with each visit we do tend to yearn a slight change in menu offering. The 'main' restaurant is quite small, seating no more than 60, is generally often half empty, possibly as the offering is quite limited and quite simple, ie pasta, which is quite expensive (22 Euros approx)
Over the years we have seen the hotel become more popular and the number of larger groups increasing - the only consollation being that there is no affilliation to holiday companies - yet!
Our greatest disappointment is that guests are not forewarned about the priority the hotel gives large parties to use of the restaurant and have on more than two occassions found it closed to exisiting guest, leaving us to make alternative arrangements at the last minute, which has been a bit of an inconvenience as it is quite a way up the slopes and you don't always want to drag yourself back out into the cold again.
We are still debating whether to go back again for 2012 (we generally would have booked by now) as the snow last year was not so good as previous years - which too impacted the closer slope restaurants / bars being open in the evenings as they had no custom / apres skiiers.
Let's hope Evi and Sepp keep this gem a secret a bit longer!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarywillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

This hotel is situated just 150m from the slope and Hinterhag Alm which is THE after ski place in Saalbach.
The hotel facilities are good with stowing room for ski and boots both inside the hotel and just outside as well. They have a great SPA area although a jacuzzi for some reason is not part of this wellnes area. Only pool, sauna and Turkish steam bath are available.
Rooms are good although they could be a bit bigger. We used every inch of our room.
Restaurant is ok but not in any way at a level you would expect from a hotel like this. This goes for both breakfast and dinner. Its ok, but nothing more.
The reception service is just ok - nothing more. Seems like they are tired of tourists with their "i give up" look in their faces.
The absolut worst experience we had was the first night we arrived. Our keycard to the room did not work and the hotel does NOT have 24 hour reception, bell boy or anything - its EMPTY! That resulted in us having to sleep at the reception area!!!! Until 7.30 when someone finally showed up to help us.

So, all in all a good hotel but with a few glitches. I would go there again for sure as well as recommend to others - BUT be aware of the just 16 hours reception service.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dandanell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

This hotel is just about perfect. Located a few minutes uphill walk out of Saalbach, with fantastic views over the Saalbach-Hinterglemm ski area. It is built completely of wood, not a drop of paint to be seen. Staff are all very pleasant and helpful, checkin quick and efficient, good-sized rooms with balcony and all necessary equipment - small bar/refrigerator, flatscreen TV, safe. Fast wifi internet in reception area. Excellent breakfast in spotless surroundings.
The hotel is tastefully decorated with the works - paintings and sculptures - of the artist owner; the most striking being the 3-storey high mirror tree filling most of the entrance lobby.
For the skier - a few metres from the front door there is a separate, secure building for storage of skis and boots (on heated racks of course). Walk 100m up to top of a short piste to take you to Saalbach centre and the start of the Saalbach-Hinterglemm adventure. At end of the day take the lift up again and either go straight into the most incredible after-ski atmosphere you can imagine, or ski right into the hotel to relax first before heading for the after-ski.
If you are hiring skis the hotel will arrange for free taxi to take you to the ski-shop at start and end of hire.
There is a wellness centre, visible through the glass floor of reception, with perfectly heated pool, sauna, steam room etc. On the roof is another sauna, with panoramic views over Saalbach-Hinterglemm.
I have travelled a lot but this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Not overly luxurious, just everything is right.
We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NotlobMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
2.3 mi away
Alpine Palace
Alpine Palace
#10 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#8 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
2.1 mi away
Adler Resort
Adler Resort
#18 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonnleiten
Hotel Sonnleiten
#30 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#4 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#29 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art & Ski-In Hotel Hinterhag Saalbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art & Ski-In Hotel Hinterhag Saalbach

Property: Art & Ski-In Hotel Hinterhag Saalbach
Address: Hinterhagweg 43 | 5753 Saalbach, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#21 Spa Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Art & Ski-In Hotel Hinterhag Saalbach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built from aged wood and glass, the design hotel Art & Ski-in Hotel Hinterhag is right next to the ski slopes above Saalbach and offer ski-to-door access and free WiFi. Art & Ski-in Hotel Hinterhag's spacious rooms and suites feature a flat-screen cable TV, a minibar, and a bathroom with bathrobes and a hairdryer. In addition, the suites feature a small seating area. All units also offer views of the surrounding mountains, and some have a balcony. A rich breakfast buffet is served until 11:00, with professional chefs cooking breakfast to order in front of the guests. A juice bar is also available. The Herzbuam restaurant offers a half-board arrangement with a rich salad buffet. Guests can create an individual 3-course dinner from the menu. Guests can also enjoy an entertaining evening at the Piano Bar and taste a wide range of delicious cocktails and long drinks. The Hinterhag Hotel's spa includes an indoor swimming pool, a Finnish sauna, a Panorama sauna on the rooftop and a steam bath offers panoramic mountain views and has an exit right into the snow. Massages are available on request . The centre of Saalbach is only a short walk away. Free private parking is available at the Hinterhag Art & Ski-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Art & Ski-In Hotel Hinterhag Saalbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art And Ski-In Hotel Hinterhag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing