We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpine Spa for the pampered skier”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Alpine Spa for the pampered skier”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We came to ski but no matter how well located it is and how well planned the ski storage/boot rooms are in fairness this hotel is much better described as a luxurious Spa or Wellness Hotel as the Germanic like to call them. Look no further to soothe your post ski ailments in saunas, steam rooms, indoor and outdoor pools, treatment areas and so on :-)
The restaurant was good but the bar was great, a perfect gathering point no matter what time of the day with friendly attentive service.
The room was spacious, modern and clean just like all public areas throughout the hotel. If there had to be a single negative comment it would be the overheated room but that was easily sorted with a window left ajar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAS_BRS_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    40
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
119
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanarkshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just back from a week holiday to Hinterglemm were we stayed at the Karawanserai and can't fault this hotel or the ski area.
The lobby and bar area are very relaxing the rooms are spacious with everything you need. The spa area is fantastic and one of the best we have used on a ski holiday. He food was very good all week and service of the staff first class.
Top this off with a very well connected ski area with plenty of runs to keep you busy for the week through in a few good après places and you have a top ski holiday.
Will look to visit this hotel next year

Room Tip: Make sure you have double superior or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGrimesReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had been looking forward to this hotel for a while and it didn't disappoint! After a shaky start with our arrival (we were shown to the wrong room - twice) and after getting over the receptionists teams initial lack of customer service (which they apologised for later) we settled into our room and started our holiday in an absolutely glorious resort.

We had a junior suite which was a great size and was well laid out. The fixtures and fittings were high end and well designed. Rooms were exceptionally clean and there is also a turn down service. I'd recommend upgrading as some of our friends were in a standard room and while they were lovely they were a bit on the small side.

We were on half board. The menu was varied and food was of excellent quality. Breakfasts consisted of usual continental fare with added omelette bar which was great.

The staff went out of their way to help you and we would particularly like to mention Sorin (bar manager) who kept us sane and entertained throughout the week and made our holiday. Christian in the restaurant and Anna Maria also looked after us really well - thank you!!

The hotel is really close to the lift and the resort centre so it was effortless to get on the pistes in the morning. The lifts were also quiet with no queues!

Unfortunately I sustained an injury on day one so couldn't ski for the rest of the week. While this was an huge blow, fortunately the hotel spa, pools and fitness suite were stunning, helped relax my back and also kept me entertained. I had several massages which were top class and also quite reasonable in comparison to some places I've stayed.

The best thing about this hotel is that its a great place to meet others and the staff almost encourage everyone getting along. We met some great people and made some really good new friends.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room and make sure that they match those that are advertised on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilSmithLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent hotel, friendly staff, especially in the restaurant, good food and free wifi. The hotel is also in an excellent position. Phones must be on silent in the lobby and restaurant so it was nice to be able to relax without listening to phones ringing, (although some appeared to ignore this despite the bowl of water with mobile phones in it at reception which was a bit of a hint). The spa was also excellent to relax in after a day’s skiing. The rooms where quiet and beds comfortable. Also it was my birthday whilst staying and when we went to dinner at night the table had been decorated and I was presented with a bottle of schnapps.
However there were a couple of issues during our stay. I was pleased to discover from the information pack in the room that checkout time was 17:00 and we could use the spa until then, as we were not being picked up until 14:00 this was excellent. So on the morning we were to leave we checked if this was the case with the receptionist and were told no problem in keeping the room until 13:30. So we went upstairs and packed leaving valuables in the safe so we could return from the spa cool down and change. We then went to pay the bill and another receptionist told us we had to be out of the room by 12:00, we could only keep the room if they aren't busy. We had to vacate the room and where told that they had a room to keep the luggage in and that we could use to get changed. We then returned to the room and repacked our valuables and carry-on luggage. On returning from the spa we were taken to the luggage room only to find no luggage or suitable place to change as it was just a storage room. We eventually found our luggage still in our room; needless to say we were not happy.
The other issue we had concerned the beds, I had requested, before travelling, normal separate twins, not Austrian twins. As I am male and travelling with a male friend we wanted separate beds. On checking in the receptionist confirmed this was the case but on getting to the room the beds where connected together into a double. The lady that showed us to the room said they could not be separated until the next day as a maid had to do it, I was not impressed as I had been suffering from a nasty virus for the last few weeks and did not want to risk passing it on, my friend is not that good a friend and they had confirmed the beds would be separate before travelling. So we dismantled the beds ourselves.
Apart from the above couple of issues I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a relaxing stay. (only reason for not getting 5 stars are the above issues)

Room Tip: standard twin/double is quite small might be worth an upgrade. We had room 409 and it had excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intermediateskier63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed in the Alpen-Karawanserai for a week over 12/13 New Years and couldn't fault the place.

The hotel was clean and well designed with a central location, delightful rooms, excellent spa and delicious food.

On arriving we were offered a selection of home made soaps and given a glass of tea while we checked in. The room we were given was spacious, clean with a nice en-suite bathroom. The shower was not separated off from the rest of the bathroom so irritatingly turned the room into a water room but this wasn't too much of a concern. The room faced the road and adjacent mountain and had a small balcony.

We booked the hotel through Neilson Ski which included half board meals. Breakfast included a large buffet of cold meats and cheeses, a wide variety of cereal, breaks/croissants, fruits and yogurts. There was also a chef cooking fresh eggs and omelettes to order. Dinner consisted of a five course meal each night (including options) and there was also a special New Years gala dinner. The vast majority of dishes were well presented and tasted good. Each night was different but all included a antipasta salad buffet to start and a cheese board to end.

The hotel includes both a gym/sauna on the fifth floor but also an extensive lower ground spa area. The spa included a variety of sauna and steam rooms, indoor and outdoor pools, treatment area and relaxation room. I thought this was excellent and is a real selling point. The majority of the spa area is Austrian style mixed nude which some guests may find unusual.

The bar and lounge area is all very nice and staff were always helpful. There is also a separate smoking lounge area.

All in all I would really rate this hotel and recommend those looking for a high quality relaxing break. It is suitable for families and couples alike.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickg385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Alpen-Karawanserai over Christmas and couldn’t fault it. It’s a stunning boutique hotel with everything you need for a skiing or wellness break. It's modern yet cosy and inviting with a lovely welcoming atmosphere. I also like the fact that they have a smoking room so the lobby isn’t full of smoke and ashtrays.

Our standard room was very large with a comfy bed and great ensuite shower room. (We did talk to some other guests who were also in a standard room which was considerably smaller – we looked on the floor plan and they had the smallest room on the floor, however they still enjoyed the hotel and facilities). The only thing I would have liked is a tea and coffee maker in the room but other than that it was perfect.

The dining room is very relaxed but still sophisticated and the 6 courses every night are incredible. We enjoyed the gala dinner on Christmas eve which started with a champagne reception. The 8 course dinner was delicious, as you would be served in a top London Hotel – the main course was Chateaux Briand.

The hotel is almost full board with a light lunch and afternoon tea served daily.
Not all staff speak or understand English but are always happy to assist and very friendly.

Drinks at the bar are hotel prices as you would expect, and they have a great wine list.
They do have carafes of water available in the dining room so you aren’t forced to purchase bottled water.

The Spa Is wonderful but the Indoor pool is a little small, however the heated outdoor is larger and a great experience. We didn’t have any treatments but the facilities seemed impressive.

Highly recommend for couples and families, we will be returning.

Room Tip: Room 301 is tiny, we had 310 and it was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kinsmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a delightful stay at the Alpen-Karawanserai; the food was excellent, as was the service. The rooms (while a little on the small side) were perfectly appointed and had a lovely view. The spa was great, impeccably clean and quiet...I can't say a bad thing about this hotel! I felt incredibly welcome from the moment we arrived; we will return to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.1 mi away
Alpine Palace
Alpine Palace
#10 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
362 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#8 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adler Resort
Adler Resort
#18 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Theresia Gartenhotel
Theresia Gartenhotel
#2 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
541 reviews
1.3 mi away
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
ALL INCLUSIVE Hotel DIE SONNE
#3 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
292 reviews
1.9 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#4 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design Hotel

Property: Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design Hotel
Address: Hasenbachweg 222 | 5754 Saalbach Hinterglemm, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5754, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leading Spa Hotel opened from September till May in Saalbach Hinterglemm. Next to the ski slopes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing