We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kendler is good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kendler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Kendler
Certificate of Excellence
Chipperfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Kendler is good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here recently on a lads ski trip, 3rd time in Saalbach.

The hotel is in a good location at the top of Saalbach high street, couple of mins walk to 2 lifts and about 5 down the street to the Schattburg, the staff are friendly and helpful especially the waitresses in the dining room, breakfast is good although can be a bit of a scrum as its not laid out in a logical way so everybody crosses paths to get what they want, evening meals (5 courses) were exceptional.

There were 5 of us in various room types, such as the 'Studio' (room 308) which was a 3rd floor room with balcony overlooking the lift/slope behind the hotel, its spacious and modern with a large bathroom, plenty of space for drying stuff only slight criticism is that it has a wardrobe thats smallish, if there were 2 adults and 2 kids in here it would be challenging, friends were in another 'studio' which was half the size (304 I think) but same rate ?. Another friend was in a single room on the 1st floor and said it was all good.

The spa is very good, indoor/outdoor pool with jets, bubble beds and aqua massage. The sauna/steam/infra-red cabins etc were also good and looked new and were kept clean and regularly stocked with fresh towels.

The Boot room is secure (room key entry) and has heated boot racks that work, Access is then up the stairs to the terrace and on to the street and more or less straight to the lifts.

As mentioned I've stayed in Saalbach 3 times, at the Aurwirt and the Neuhaus (see my TA reviews) prior to here, this is my favourite and I would return.

Room Tip: 308 is a good room or 'Studio' as they call it, check before you go as you could get a '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Like2getaway01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    26
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
38
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just arrived back in the UK from our tenth stay at the Kendler. This time was different as we had a 5 month old grandchild and our two daughters and husbands - a real family affair.
They could not have been more accommodating and helpful for our new addition. This is a real family run hotel with personal service that is efficient but friendly, has all the Tyrolean charm, all the modern spa, gym and other facilities and is perfectly located - what else could we ask for ?
We are already planning to go back again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a one week stay at this hotel. If you want a hotel close to the ski lifts, friendly staff, wonderful food, beautiful room, great pool, fully equiped ski room this is the hotel to stay at. The attention to detail is amazing - this can be found in the room, reception, swimming pool, sauna, bar and restuarant. Both myself and my husband think this is most probably the nicest hotel we have ever stayed at. Well done to the owners and its staff who get full marks for customer care. We will highly recommend to others and will be returning again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great place, 50m to the main telecabin.
Beautiful facilities...(which we never used!!)
Ski guide Thomas is great and free!
You can ski to the door from two separate locations.
Saalbach has an awesome apres ski
Stayed 4 nights in v comfortable rooms.
On the negative... get your wallet out !!
BUT buy cheap pay dear....well worth the dollars!!!

Room Tip: 104 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the-smilecentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Kendler does not look that great on website...average I would say !
But being there, makes you feel much better then expected !
The rooms are very nice, clean, comfortable...
The restaurant is surprisingly good with great friendly staff !
The location of the hotel, 50 mtr from the Bernkogelbahn, 75mtr from ski-rental, 200 mtr from the TOP apres-ski in Saalbach (Bauer)...so all is perfect !
Parking is next to the hotel, reachability of the hotel is easy...
One bad item is the fact that you can do breakfast till 12.00...but after 10.00 the re-fill is slowly or not done...
I understand a lot...but then don't offer till 12.00 !

Room Tip: I think there is no preferred room...but mountain view is nice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilbert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Hotel Kendler is ideally situated in the pedestrian area in Saalbach. Both skirentals, access to the slopes, and countless bars and apres ski-facilities are in the immediate vincinity of the hotel. We were four friends travelling together and we chose Kendler because of their excellent restaurant and nice facilities. Both food, rooms and other hotel amenities (such as spa area and pool) proved to be excellent and we had a wonderful stay. When we return to Saalbach for some more skiing (which we will) our choice of hotel will be quite easy - Kendler!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We recently stayed for a week at Hotel Kendler, and were very satisfied. After a swift and friendly check in, we found our spacious room on the 3rd floor, overlooking the pistes and surrounding mountains. There's free, outdoor parking behind the hotel.

Every morning at breakfast and evening for dinner, we were met by a friendly and professional staff, who were ready to satisfy all of our culinary needs. The vast range of dishes and wines were all excellent, and it is a long time since we've eaten such well-composed and tasting meals at a hotel. Our regular waiter, Laszlo, was always great, and gave us good suggestions from the wine list. All of his colleagues were wonderful as well!

Wednesday morning, we were met by the hotel's ski guide Thomas, who took us to Leogang. His knowledge of the ski system and the mountain range was excellent, and we enjoyed the day together. Free of charge, as he was employed by the hotel. Thanks Thomas!

The hotel's extensive spa & fitness area is also "top-notch". Our two teenage kids loved every afternoon in the pool, after long days of skiing, and so did the adults as well:) Bathrobes, extra towels, slippers and beverages included.

Our youngest son turned 14 during our stay, and he (and we) were surprised by the owners, who turned up at our table with a birthday cake (Sachertorte), with a "Roman candle" and all!

The only (minor) disappointment was the hotel's poor WIFI connection in the rooms; very variable, and therefore impossible to work from the hotel room and catch up on e-mails etc.

All in all, we felt like we were at home the whole stay, and the staff made us feel most welcome. I would recommend the hotel to anyone who is visiting Saalbach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterjbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#9 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alpine Palace
Alpine Palace
#10 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#4 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
#6 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design Hotel
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design H...
#15 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berger's Sporthotel
Berger's Sporthotel
#5 of 77 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kendler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kendler

Property: Hotel Kendler
Address: Oberdorf 39, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 77 Hotels in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Kendler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Kendler in Saalbach, Austria offers rooms in five categories, a gourmet restaurant, a spacious spa area with indoor & outdoor heated pools - the perfect combination for your holidays in Austria. Our family-run hotel is cosy,exquisite and central in Saalbach, located directly beside the ski-slopes. Spend wonderful holidays in one of Austria’s top winter sports resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kendler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing