We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“April 01-08 2012”
Review of Pension Penhab

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Penhab
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“April 01-08 2012”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Had a super week with Matt and Annie (so funny that people mention them rather than the Pension itself in the reviews) - they do really make you feel like you are guests in their home. Our room was spacious warm and the shower hot! The honesty bar genius. Sadly we didnt have the best snow conditions which made negotiating the runs (a lot of them were closed) and resort a bit of a challenge but we knew were were risking this skiing so late in the season. I would highly reccommend this chalet to anyone thinking of making a booking. The two most genuine people you will ever meet - so perfectly suited to taking care of you in what is, for most, their most favourite week of the year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LISARICH1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Have just returned from a week at the Penhab, part of a three generation family group. Mat and Annie could not have made our stay better, the Pension is cosy and friendly, Mat's cooking is excellent. The three children in our group, aged between 4 and 7, felt at home and the situation is perfect for easy access to ski school and all the lifts. We can't recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marywant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

just back from my visit to hinterglemm and we were there on a student organised trip called BUSC anyway, Mat welcomed with shots and a warm and friendly outllok for the week, the breakfast was extensive and there was the option of sensational smelling meals! Mat is a chef you see. More than anything going to stay with mat and Annie felt like staying with friends we were free to chill out as we liked the honesty bar was a nice relaxed way to get to know mat and Annie and include them in the fun and more than anything nothing was too much trouble. Due to an early race day we asked for some earlier cereal than normal but they out of sheer kindness did a full breakfast which was so much appreciated!
Mat and Annie are the loveliest and most ideal couple you could ever think of to own a B7B they work hard and definitely enjoy their life just as much, they truly are living the dream and they love nothing more than sharing a week of it with you!!
CANNOT RECOMMEND ANYWHERE MORE!

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely ground floor however have been newly renovated and are rather pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

My family and I stayed at Penhab during the third week of Februar.
Very nice was the bill I had to pay for the ski rental. Not only did the hireguys came to Penhab, the price was a lot cheaper then the hiring companies at Hinterglemm.
Penhab is perfectly situated, very close to the slopes. You can make the choise to ski on the leftside or ont the rightside (very sunny if it shines) of the Skicircus Hinterglemm.
After a day on the mountain, nothing is better then a well cooked home meal. That is what Matt and Annie have for you,
All fresh and with great variety. Beware of the desserts; they're too good. Look out when Matt makes his Apple strudl. Once you take a bite, you're hooked for life!!!

Without a doubt in my mind, I'll be back next year.

Annie and Matt, thank you again for your hospitality and kindness.

See you guys next year!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytchett Matravers
2 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Have just returned (reluctantly) from a weeks skiing in Hinterglemm staying at Penhab. This is my third time at Pension Penhab. This time I went with a party consisting of my mother and father, sister and her family and me with two of my children. All had a great time. Matt and Annie, as usual, were so friendly and helpful, the Pension was very well kept and Matt's reworked menu went down very well with everyone. He even did an early tea for the younger children and a favorite pudding from last year as requested by my son; could not have done more to make our stay a great one. We have booked again for next year. The Pension and its fabulous location is perfect for us, it is relaxed enough for us not to have to worry too much about the children disrupting other guests, the renovations completed so far are looking good (the non-renovated rooms are also fine, just not with the finish of the re-done ones); I wouldn't want to go anywhere else. Thanks again Matt and Annie for a wonderful week; looking forward to next year already.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire_taylor100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

A group of us went to the Penhab Jan 2012 for the first time. This small chalet is run by Matt and Annie. They were friendly and helpful. They arranged for our rental of skis and boots at a very reasonable price.The chalet and rooms were clean and the food delicious. There was a reasonably priced bar where we were able to sit and mull over the day. We were not charged any extra for single rooms. The location of the chalet could not have been better. Almost on the doorstep were nursery slopes, lifts, moonlight skiing, apres ski bar, shops and town. We could not have wanted for more and will certainly want to be going back there. Thanks Matt and Annie for a fantastic week.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Just returned from another fantastic week at Pension Penhab!! This was my 4th trip there and as always I am itching to go back! Matt & Annie are fantastic and the service provided by them and the staff is excellent. The rooms are cosy and clean, the bar well stocked :) and Matt's cooking sublime!! close to the party atmosphere but still a nice quiet area and only a few steps from the slopes. Great value and a great time always had!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.3 mi away
Alpine Palace
Alpine Palace
#10 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#29 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpin Juwel
Alpin Juwel
#8 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design Hotel
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design H...
#15 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Unterschwarzachhof
Unterschwarzachhof
#33 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glemmtalerhof
Glemmtalerhof
#12 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Penhab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Penhab

Property: Pension Penhab
Address: Schwarzacherweg 145, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5754, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing