We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Peter”
Review of Hotel Peter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Peter
Westville, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Peter”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Spent 2 weeks at Hotel Peter December 2011 and January 2012. We really enjoyed our stay there. The staff were incredibly helpful and kind and nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel is a typical Austrian Inn with the most wonderful atmosphere which is enhanced by its owner Hans Peter. What a character. A jovial, happy man who makes your stay a pleasure. We were there for New Year and Peter made a huge effort with all things that evening including putting on a magic show, a fantastic meal and an amazing fireworks display. My teenagers were very happy with the food and the atmosphere. This was a ski in ski out hotel. The positioning could not be better for apre ski, for skiing as it is right in the hub of all that goes on yet the rooms are quiet and you can get a good nights ski. What a wonderful place and a wonderful host.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborahsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Two things that are really unique. 1. Peters Magic shows 2. The "Felsensteak"

Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank AxelWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2009

My family and I stayed at Hotel Peter for the week of New Year's Eve. Over the holidays, I believe they have a one week minimum stay, with half-board. We had a wonderful time, and were very pleased with the hotel. The best part was the location. The hotel is literally next door to one of the main gondolas leading up into Saalbach's wonderful "ski circus" (an enormous ski area). The other gondolas around town are within a five to ten minute walk (in full ski attire). The dinners were multiple course feasts, and for the most part pretty good - and enormous. You cannot go hungry there. Breakfasts were standard buffet fare (fruit, yogurt, meat, cheese, bread, cereals). The rooms were fine - for the excellent low price, we felt like we got a gret deal. Our room was very spacious and practically a small suite - with a dining/living room and a sleeping room. One downside was no fridge. The hotel is perfectly designed for skiing, with an equipment room in the basement and a door leading from there directly out to the gondola. The hotel itself is old, and probably has not been renovated for a long time. Peter himself is quite a character - an older Bavarian gentleman, very friendly, rambunctious and even pretty crazy – as we witnessed when he got ahold of firecrackers on New Years. On New Years Eve and on every Friday night he puts on a pretty good magic show, complete with live doves and real white rabbits. The restaurant also offers their house specialty - a certain steak that the guest cooks on a stone at the table. Peter brings it out with great fanfare and sings a song and the whole restaurant joins in - it is quite amusing. The special was never on the menu for guests, but you could order it if you want to pay the ridiculously huge price for a small steak. The restaurant is open to regular outside customers as well as hotel guests, so there was a mix every night. The main downside is that smoking is allowed in the main dining room, and the hotel seemed to attract mostly heavy, heavy chain smokers. New Year ’s Eve they were even smoking reeking cigars. We couldn't stand it, and we left before midnight to ring in the New Year on our Balcony, as a fireworks war broke out on the street below us and around town. Most of us did not manage to watch the magic show on Friday night either, because the smoking was so oppressive. There was a small, non-smoking dining room elsewhere, but frankly all of the fun was in the big room. So you had to choose. And the small dining room was closed for New Years. All in all, it was a great experience, but frankly I would not stay there again until Austria outlaws smoking in restaurants. Hotel Peter is one of the last old-style guest house hotels that remains in Saalbach. The others have all been bought out by fancy hotels and converted into upscale, modern and very expensive facilities. I don’t know how long he will be able to hold out against the onslaught. If you are looking for a place that is reasonably priced and still in the heart of Saalbach, this is it. Also - he even has parking! Peter has some 15 or so spaces reserved in Saalbach's wonderful, huge underground parking garage, literally only a 2 minute walk from the hotel. And the parking is free for the guests. Make sure you tell him to save you one. There was free wireless.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyra-Belaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
#7 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpenhotel Saalbach
Alpenhotel Saalbach
#63 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#8 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#2 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berger's Sporthotel
Berger's Sporthotel
#5 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
742 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kendler
Hotel Kendler
#11 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peter

Property: Hotel Peter
Address: Oberdorf 177, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5753, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Peter 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing