We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty expensive luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alpine Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We came from our winter vacation in Hinterglemm yesterday.Stayed in best hotel of that valley for one week.We took junior suite deluxe-60m2, quite enough for family with 4 members.
The room is made in combined style-modern with some retro alpine furniture.Did not like beds, we all slept bad-not comfortable.
We also missed evening room prepairing-almost all 5* hotels around the world have it.
When we arrived fruit box waited in our room and also Mozart chocolates.
Breakfasts were very good, with wide choices, some exotic fruit was missing(Mango, Papaya).We ordered mango extra(free of charge).
Dinners were weeker.Not for gourmets.Some day ok, some not.Some of desserts not combined properly.Tiramisu only for 3/5.We had much better Tiramisu in Falkensteiner Nassfeld.
Snack time-15.30-16.30 is meant well after skiing day, but half of time was not edible, normally with only one choice of course and one soup!?.
We liked ski depots, big enough, warm.
The pool is a bit small for luxury, wellness hotel, also resting place....

All of the staff is very polite, guest friendly, doing their best.
We don't like smoking in hotel lobby.The whole hotel smells from tobacco.
So, still things to improve for quite high room price in their prime season-800 EUR/night Junior suite deluxe for 2 adults, 2 children.

Room Tip: junior suite deluxe
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ales A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alpine Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 372 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

We booked a very expensive room 2500 euros for 5 days, the food was fantastic the service was good the position of the hotel is out of this world, we checked in just as it was dark and in the morning opened the curtains to look at a wall, no mention of this before booking.

we complained they showed us a terrible room, I completed the questionnaire explaining the issues only to be told thanks for filling it in.

Our advise ask for a room on the front and pay a bit more and have a great holiday.

Room Tip: Dont do what we did, pay more and look out the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivan047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Had a brilliant ski holiday here. Fantastic service. Amazing facilities. 3 mins from ski lift. Staff friendly and helpful. We stayed in the old part and our bedroom was basic but clean and warm, but we were able to use the spa. An amazing price for top notch hotel. Will return. Food was excellent, you wont go hungry!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank norwichlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I will just say it, the best skiing hotel I have stayed in, which after 25 years of skiing is saying something. We had a superb time at the Apline Palace.
The best thing about the hotel is the hospitality. Somehow they manage to make a community out of a disperate group of guests from around Europe.
We have been lucky enough to stay in a few decent 5* hotels over the years and for me the difference 4*=>5* isn't the number of gadgets in the room, rather the quality and hospitality of the staff. Here the AP can't be matched in our experience in the Alps.

The AP is classified as 5* and it lives up to the classification but note that if you are booking through Crystal you will stay in the old wing of the hotel that is probably what one would expect of a traditional Austrian hotel 3/4* However we reckoned that to enjoy the facilities we would not spend much time in the room. -simple.

The wellness area is a full-on spa with outdoor pool.
Dinner is excellent. Dress, smart-casual.
Breakfast overwhelming, including freshly squeezed orange, a lovely touch.
Bar and wine list is expensive, but excellent quality, remember it is a 5* hotel. Our bar bill was €450 but worth it!!

Shame that Hinterglemm is not snow sure otherwise we wouldn't need to look elsewhere.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Geordie_Skier_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed in the traditional wing where the rooms are basic but warm and clean. The reason I use this hotel is for the facilities in the Spa area and the excellent half board option. The Spa has sauna, steam room, indoor pool, outdoor pool, hot tubs and relaxation areas and a beauty salon where you can indulge yourself with a massage or other treatment. The breakfast is fantastic with fresh fruit, bakery, freshly made omelettes and waffles and fresh orange juice. The evening meal is always a lengthy affair with 5 to 7 courses so leave yourself plenty of time to enjoy it. The staff are very polite and the fixtures and fittings in the hotel are very nice.

I have stayed in this hotel on three separate occasions and for the price you cannot in my opinion get better in the Hinterglemm area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Normsthename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Went with a small group skiing great hotel,right in heart of town but ski lift about 3 mins from hotel, food excellent, staff great, very clean and great facilities outside pool use it when it's snowing lovely and warm. It used to be a small alpine hotel but now has a new hotel built on the side, old hotel has small rooms ok but very dated with tired carpets,,so if you can afford it stay in the new rooms. Outside hotel can also be very noisy due to bars and delivery Lorrys turning in early morning. But would go back

Room Tip: Stay in new hotel rooms not old wing
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnharp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Recently four of us have returned from a weeks stay in the Alpine Palace. Excellent location right next to one of the ski lifts or less than 10 mins from another lift giving you the choice of which mountain side you wish to ski. Great skiing around the ski circus which gave you the opportunity to stay out all day to do the complete circuit.

Hotel staff very friendly, everyone spoke. Lovely décor throughout, clean hotel. Wellbeing facilities were excellent, in door & out door polls, hot tub, sauna, chill out area

Bedroom was in the older part so adequate for our stay, again clean, and warm. Had a rode, towels and slipper for the wellbeing centre which was nice.

Food – Fantastic buffet breakfast and 7 course meal on the night which 6 out of 7 days was waiter/waitress service. Late afternoon snack severed between 1530-1630 was enjoyable if you returned in time. The evening food was presented like you see on ‘Master Chief’ colourful, fancy and very tasty. As some reviewers have said this can take up to 2 hours, but what is the rush after a full days skiing.

After the evening meal there was on several nights music in the bar/reception area

Without repeating what other reviewers have said the four of us who stayed enjoyed the hotel, location, food & staff here and would not hesitate to come back or recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Although we booked a twin bed room we ended up in a double bed with two mattresses on!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#8 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adler Resort
Adler Resort
#15 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
103 reviews
2.1 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#3 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Berger's Sporthotel
Berger's Sporthotel
#6 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpin Juwel
Alpin Juwel
#9 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
282 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
#7 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpine Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpine Palace

Address: Reiterkogelweg 169, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5754, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#7 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#14 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range: $157 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpine Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel royal, enjoy Lässig! Tradition meets modernity at the 5*S sports, wellness and gourmet hotel in the heart of the ski- & hiking circus Saalbach Hinterglemm. 2000m² Alpine Spa, 470m² event area, helicopter scenic flights, wood workshops, private Wolf’s hut. Free wi-fi; incl. JokerCard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Alpine Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Palace Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing