We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW!!! what an excellent hotel”
Review of Alpine Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpine Palace
Certificate of Excellence
hinckley
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“WOW!!! what an excellent hotel”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Fantastic decor. Finest food, never seen a breakfast selection like this. Staff very friendly and professional, especially Janette the young waitress. Pool, whirlpool very refreshing after a mountain hike! Very good views from 3rd floor, stayed in 3* rooms but very clean and comfortable.
Situated perfectly for town and mountains. Couldn't fault a thing. Thank you

Room Tip: 3rd floor south facing room 332 very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HinckleyHutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    63
    27
    11
    12
See reviews for
110
138
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Torhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a perfect stay in this hotel!

+
Very friendly staff,
children welcome,
great view from your room at the mountains,
Excellent kitchen, even for a vegetarian!! The breakfast buffet is never been seen before!
A very hot and nice pool, very clean!
next to the lift that brings you to the mountains,
In the summer a Joker pass with great free benefits of the surrounding,

-
I can 't think of anything!!!

We will sure come back to this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TineVDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Truiden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband, my son of 8 and I stayed in the Alpine Palace Hotel for 10 days in July. We really had a great time. Living in Belgium, we are used to good cuisine and we were suprised by the fine gastronomic diners in the hotel at evening, with systematic choice between meat, fish and veggie dishes, creative and colorful presentations and an interesting wine card. The rich and varied breakfast buffet was also a good way to start each new day. Moreover the activities organized by the hotel were falmily-friendly with excellent local mountain guides ... The location of the hotel is also interesting for (half) day trips: nearby numerous mountain lifts, 5 minutes from the kids friendly waterpark Captain Hook, 20 minutes from Zell-am-See, 1 hour driving from the Krimml waterfalls and from Salzburg ... Very helpful and friendly personnel and excellent indoor technogym fitness.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The food was excellent and very varied. The staff were all helpful and friendly. Lunch was a repetitious but plentiful packed lunch or a very good small buffet in the hotel. Evening meal waiter served impressive meal very well presented and varied. The spa area was superb and extremely relaxing. I stayed in one of the 3 star rooms which was adequate if somewhat small and lacked air conditioning. The dining areas also lacked air conditioning and were very warm most evenings. Service in dining room at night very slow and so if you had plans for the evening which involved a 7.30 pick up you only had time for salad and main course. The real downside to the hotel was the lack of early morning provision if you had an early flight. This is the first hotel that I have stayed in which did not do early breakfasts. A picnic lunch was offered but this has to be carried with the rest of the luggage. We eventually did manage to get a drink 5 minutes before our 7am. departure. There are several steps up to the hotel with no ramp and if you did not know about the lift in the basement luggage had to be lifted up about 18 steps . The hotel is in a great location with a gondola virtually on the doorstep and another just down the road. The joker card is a great asset for cable cars and bus travel. Good bus service up and down the valley and plenty of well marked walks. The weather was very good during our stay with only a little rain mostly in the evenings. This was my second visit to the hotel and can recommend it. If weather is bad spa facilities and great and the hot tub is a good way to loosen up after a long hike in the mountains.

Room Tip: If you can afford the superior accomodation it is worth it, rooms are cooler ,very spacious beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We agree with "William1066" except that, in our room on the 3rd floor, we didn't find any problems with kitchen noise or smells. We were initially allocated a room without balcony, but our tour rep. arranged for this to be switched to one with balcony, which was far more acceptable. The trouble with the non-balcony rooms is that a) they outlook onto a blank wall and b) there is less opening window area, so more oppressive in hot weather. Our tour company (Inghams) had warned us of noise from a hotel under construction next door, but this proved so little as to blend in the general village background. There was more noise from the adjacent cable car!
Yes, the food was of splendid quality and exquisitely and artistically presented. The staff couldn't be faulted on efficiency nor friendliness.
We came for the walks; favourites were - 1. Schattberg-Ost/Dillinger Eck/Limberg Alm
2. Zwoelferkogel along the ridge to Stoffensch, then down to Ellmau Alm and Winkler.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old wing are 3-star. Avoid non-balcony rooms. The new wing is luxurious if you can affo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterwf2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmacolm, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Staff were all really helpful and friendly. The food was just amazing with everything you could imagine for breakfast, lovely buffet or packed lunch and then a seven course evening meal with really interesting dishes. The spa area in the hotel is great with beer saunas and salt rubs in the evenings. Hotel is in a great spot with lifts for walking and while we were there a bikes and beats festival. I recommend hiring e bikes and cycling to Zell am Zell. Want to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was my first trip to Austria. Third for my wife. The hotel looks impressive from the outside. There is quite a bit of building work going on in Hinterglem but it wasn't oppressive.
We stayed in one of the three star rooms. Functional rather than luxurious. We soon found out they were not airconditioned and for the first part of the week, as the weather was unseasonably hot we had two very uncomfortable nights. We also found out the three star wing is over the kitchen. This contributed to the stuff atmosphere inside. In fact this was the only bad point.
But mid week the weather cooled off a bit.
The main good points are both the staff and the qualit of the food on offer. The evening meals were 5 star luxury gourmet fine dining. But also nutritionally balanced and healthy. I had no idea healthy food could taste so good AND look such artistry.
Breakfast, I have never seen such a sumptous spread. I didn't know where to turn. They also did a packed lunch on request and a delicious buffet lunch for those eating in.
Particularly important for me is I have a food allergy. I am allergic to Gluten and with it's reputation for pastries, noodles and dumplings I approached the idea of a holiday in Austria with some trepidation. I need not have worried. While I couldn't have everything the food I did get was delicious and filling. Even a Gluten Free packed lunch with proper gluten free bread served. There is one for the books.
Then there are the staff. Friendly, courteous, charming. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. I don't normally leave a tip but this time I did.
The spa facilities were the icing on the cake. My wife and I enjoyed many a wallow in the hot-tub and pools and sauna. But we didn't completely immerse ourselves, staying clear of the nude area!
One or two hints for the Hinterglem Saalbach area.

1) Plan very carefully what you want to do on Sunday. Austria is a staunch Catholic country and unlike in the UK IT DOES CLOSE on Sunday.
2) The Joker Card is a must.
3) Do your homework if coming in the summer. Most of the cable-cars to the mountains were not running.
4) The excursions we did were Salzburg, Zell am See, Kimmel Falls and, a must, Gross Glockner Mountain. But the road up is not for the feint hearted (saw numerous crosses at the sides of the road). So do an organised coach tour. At least the coach has size on its side!
5) The Postbus service is efficient and a good way of seeing the area.
6) We ate and drank locally. Can particularly recommend Vogelbeer and Haselnus Schnapps.
7) Kick back, relax, let the speed of the Alps chill you out and completely re-charge your batteries.

Room Tip: If you can afford the five star rooms go for them. Do not use one of the three star rooms if the wea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WILLIAM1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#8 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design Hotel
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design H...
#15 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.1 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#4 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Theresia Gartenhotel
Theresia Gartenhotel
#2 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adler Resort
Adler Resort
#19 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
4.0 mi away
Interstar Hotel
Interstar Hotel
#18 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Palace

Property: Alpine Palace
Address: Reiterkogelweg 169, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5754, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#14 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpine Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition verses modern artThe spacious environment of the Alpine Palace competes to outshine the fairy tale landscape of the alpine mountain region in Saalbach Hinterglemm.The Alpine Palace is the top of its class when it comes to comfort and luxury, wellness and pleasure are concerned, with a cosy and stylish ambience.Living DeluxeLook forward to completely new, distinctive and diverse styles in interior furnishing. Whether you ultimately decide to opt for a magical 4-poster bed or a bathtub the size of a double bed, you’re certain to discover the beguiling charm of the enormous choice we offer when it comes to staying at the Alpine Palace. Stylish cosines and the assurance ot the highest levels of pleasure for our guests have always been instrumental in the choice of room design at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Alpine Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Palace Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing