We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alpine Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“so good”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Staying at the Alpine Palace was a great experience. My husband and I had a lovely room in the new part of the hotel on a high floor, my son in the older part of the hotel.

Our room was beautifully appointed with a wonderful view of the slopes as did my son's. Whilst our room was new, his room was a little tired but comfortable. My husband at 6'4" would have struggled to sleep in the smaller bed in the old part.

Staff at the hotel are both professional and thoughtful, with excellent service in the resturant from Elise and Valentina, who looked after us so very well all week. The food is excellent here but some may find it rich, I tried to remind myslef I did not have to eat every course but I did.

Tamara and Mike in the bar added to our stay and Mike even told my son where to find the best snowboarding slopes.

The spa woudl be my only negative, whislt it is excellent, I have expereinced better as even the relaxation room (wonderful with water beds) is situated on the route into the spa where excited children are shouting to get to the pool. The little touches of being given coconut salt scub etc to use was much appreciated. it was disappointing that the hottub was not bubbling for our entire stay.

Having stayed at the Theresia Garden earlier this year, I struggle to know which I prefer, however the proximity of the Alpine Palace to the Reiterkogelbahn gondola certainly is a benefit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisnSue2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    64
    27
    11
    12
See reviews for
111
142
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed in ear;y March 2012 as part of a group of 4 (two couples) at this beautiful hotel which sits next to one of the south facing pistes in to the resort/village. It is a very short walk to the gondola at the bottom of this run so it almost ski in/out.

The spa is beautiful, with a lovely out door pool and hot tub which catch the afternoon sun, and ample heated beds, swimming pool, saunas and steam rooms etc in doors, with a separate nudist area and 'clothed' area, for those wishing to use these facilities.

The staff in the restaurant would delightful, and the food extremely good. The breakfast buffet is fabulous; huge choice, including lots of organic and healthy options as well as pastries, waffles, and hot options. There are also fresh juices of all types, and a machine pressing oranges... or even prosecco should you wish.

Dinner is a lovely formal affair but not stuffy- some people were in jeans, others more dressed up, and either felt comfortable. The 5 course dinner is beautifully presented, and provides lots of choice, whilst offering local specialities.

Our room (one of the newer rooms) was lovely and spacious, and beautifully designed. There are plenty of towels (even a basket of spare towels to take to the spa, although there are more there too) robes, slippers and very nice toiletries. A different chocolate or sweet appeared each night at turn down, and fresh water was provided.

The hotel facilities are super, and all extremely beautifully presented. Our 'deal' included a sleigh ride and a trip to the 'wolf cabin'. We felt the deal was extremely good value, and both the sleigh ride and the trip to the cabin proved to be real high-lights to our trip.

This is a family run hotel, and the family members make a point of running the trip to the 'Wolf cabin' as well as meeting people at dinner. We met other guests who go back to this hotel twice a year; one in summer for the biking/walking, and once in winter for the skiing; I can see just why. TREMENDOUS!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here with a large group (200) to go skiing.

The hotel is located directly next to the ski lift. This makes it great. Next to the location the hotel is really good. The rooms are spacious and clean. The reception is really nice and fast. We didn't have WIFI in the room, This is a bit of a downside for a 5 star hotel.

The restaurant was quite good, only the staff here could get more training. They are quite rude and just doing their job. The food was good (dinner). The breakfast is really good.

I would recommend to stay in the new building/ rooms. These are by far better then the old side of the hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend to stay in the new building/ rooms. These are by far better then the old side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kleinetijger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Looking at other reviews for this hotel it certainly seems that you get lucky or unlucky. On a postive note the facilities at the hotel are undeniably special and so is the food. However, the service was the worst that we had ever experienced and to the extent that it made us feel very unwelcome.
From our experience the staff were rude and i would go as far as to say that there was a level of disdain aimed in our direction. I would not like to go as far as to say this was because we were English but perhaps instead because we were not from another Country. I simply think that the hotel is under poor dysfunctional management.
I can confirm previous writers accounts that it was certainly implied that the English can not afford the top rooms in the hotel. We were also told that the hotel was full when it wasn't when we asked for the balcony room that we had booked - instead we were told that the hotel does not sell balcony rooms to English travel firms. There is no 'bell boy' baggage collection service as you may anticipate on arrival and they ignore indoor no smoking laws that apply in England. The lowest moment was when we were told by the restaurant manager that 'the chef' refused to serve 'tap' water and we would have to go to our room if we did not want to pay for the hotel mineral water. Please do not assume we were too tight to pay... we were happily paying 50 euros per bottle of wine but would not match that on water.
If you select this hotel you should not expect any level of personal service, you should expect the best tables to be reserved for the top customers and left empty if they do not come to dinner, you will have access to the best food and spa in the resort and you should try to book one of the balcony rooms.
Sadly for us our much awaited annual family holiday became a very low event to the extent that we dreaded going back to the hotel despite the amazing facilities and food available. Due to our experience we would never go back to this hotel. We were made to feel so uncomfortable that for the first time i was looking forward to returning home from holiday.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a balcony room and in the new alpine palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Miss_UnderstoodHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Good location next to the Reiterkogel gondola lift. Best food we ever had in a hotel. Very relaxing wellness with sauna's, steamroom and an indoor and outdoor pool. We have been hete twice now and will definately comeback again next year.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annelein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Spent a wonderful week at this hotel. The service was efficient and friendly from the moment we arrived until checkout. The staff are courteous and friendly. 1st impressions are exactly like on the website. The lobby which has "zones" also doubles as the bar/lounge and has been decorated beautifully. It offers a great space to meet, greet, relax, have a drink or use the wifi. The breakfast is one of the best on offer in any ski hotel I've stayed in. Fresh food, fully stocked with an egg station. Dinner was a relaxed affair with 5+ courses and innovative food. The kids food is typical, chips, smiley faces, chicken but they can eat of the adult menu. The kids rooms are fantastic, they have 2. My children used the teen room and enjoyed the freedom the hotel offered to meet and hang out with other kids. There is live entertainment most nights in the "bar zone" of the lobby. We had a family suite which was amazing, very large, 2 bathrooms, modern and plenty of room for clothes, cases etc. The spa is also very modern, relaxing, with indoor and outdoor pool and reasonably priced treatments. The ski lift is right next door to the hotel as is the hire shop. Lockers for all guests in hotel beside the lifts. Couldn't be more convenient. Ski instructors from Snow and Fun where also great. My boys and husband skied with Heri and had the best week skiing around. They all enjoyed joining him for lunch, meeting in the hotel for a chat in the evenings, thank you Heri and lovely to meet you Sonia. Special thank you to Elis, what a lovely young waitress.!We hope to return to this wonderful hotel next year and couldn't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: Rooms are warm so use the 3 way door for ventilation. Family rooms large and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel-happy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Went with Nielson on skiing trip.Alpine Palace What a place to stay.Rooms adequete and warm unless you upgrade to suites which we did not since we only were in room to sleep and shower.The Spa area is to say the least the best I have experienced, included in the price ,with outdoor heated pool and jaquicy(very warm even when it snows) There are also steam rooms and suanas for both shy and the completly unclothed guests.The food is remarkably good ,7courses of the best food I have experienced on a package holiday,and there have been a number over the years,
The staff are very helpful and friendly particularly in the dinning rooms.
As previous guests have mentioned the drinks in the bar are expensive by comparison to the bars in the village.
For a sking hoiday this is agreat place to stay.I suspect it is just as good in summer.My wife and I will be returning for more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#8 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adler Resort
Adler Resort
#18 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
99 reviews
2.1 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#2 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Berger's Sporthotel
Berger's Sporthotel
#5 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
742 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
#7 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design Hotel
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design H...
#17 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpine Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpine Palace

Property: Hotel Alpine Palace
Address: Reiterkogelweg 169, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5754, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#14 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpine Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel royal, enjoy Lässig! Tradition meets modernity at the 5*S sports, wellness and gourmet hotel in the heart of the ski- & hiking circus Saalbach Hinterglemm. 2000m² Alpine Spa, 470m² event area, helicopter scenic flights, wood workshops, private Wolf’s hut. Free wi-fi; incl. JokerCard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Alpine Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Palace Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing