We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“star rating completly confusing and misrepressentative.”
Review of Alpine Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpine Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“star rating completly confusing and misrepressentative.”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

When we booked this hotel through directline holidays we asked for clearer info as to whether we were booking a 3 star or 5 star room. They told us we were booking 5 star so we booked. When we arrived at the hotel we were told we had only booked a 3 star and the confusion was down to directline. When we spoke to the hotel manager he further insulted us by telling us they don't sell the 5 star to the British because "you know, the English, Irish and Scots are too stingy to pay the 5 star prices". He said that the Brits are not rich enough to be able to afford 5 star so they only advertise the 3 star rooms to us. Then worse was to come. We entered the dining room on the first evening and I asked a waiter if we sit anywhere and he said "yes" (turns out none of them spoke English). We chose a table by the window and were about to commence our meal when the restaurant manager came over with a german couple and a clipboard in hand and told us we were in their seat. Everyone was staring as we apologised, feeling humiliated. Clearly the nice tables are not for us Brits. The food was tremendous but the waiters spoke to us constantly in German and we could not understand the menu. Some evenings I felt so upset that I could not understand the food or what the waiters were saying even though I kept asking if they could explain in English, that I gave up and skipped courses just to get the ordeal over with.
This was such a shame because the food was lovely, the hotel was great, the spa fabulous. But we felt so unwelcome as English people and the 3 star rooms are totally grotty that we felt like second class citisens next to the oh so welcome, rich Germans. The Inghams rep was so nice that we tried hard to enjoy ourselves and not complain but to be honest, my advise is that if you are English, Irish or Scottish then give this hotel a wide berth...unless you speak fluent German!

Room Tip: 3 star rooms are small, grotty and in serious need of updating and refurbishment. Although apparentl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank judith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    63
    27
    11
    12
See reviews for
110
140
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Volendam
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed from 2/6 to 9/6 in this wonderful hotel, this is a real attraction, we had a great room at the back with views to the mountain.The room was beautiful with a great balcony and very luxury furnished.
We had full Board posted this is also very recommendable with a 5 course dinner every evening.Very friendly staff who even unpack your car and all luggage to the room.
All in all, it was a super holiday in a super hotel, we're going to come back here for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHoekstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed with our 6 month old baby. Stayed in the old wing and it was perfect for us. staff were so helpful they put a fridge in our room to store her milk. Gave us quiet spots in the restraunt and froze our ice packs for during the day. Pack lunches provided for during the day and the main food was excellent quality. Great location with easy access to ski lifts. Right next to mountain bike downhill course for enthusiasts.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riggy145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veenendaal
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is a really good hotel, especially for a ski-ing area. Perfect Cuisine and a fantastic room. The only minor are the russian people who stay there quite a lot.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nafetsDman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This hotel was part of a Thompson Holidays package ski deal. It is 50m from the nearest ski lift and right in the centre of town. The ambiance is superb. Facilities - saunas, hot tub, etc are excellent, beautifully clean and well managed. All staff are helpful, well trained and give very good service, with a genuine wish to please. Full, all you care to eat, breakfast with massive hot and cold buffet, late apres ski hot and cold afternoon snack and 7 course evening meal with choices.
We were upgraded to a very large room in the main (new) section of the hotel, without asking, overlooking the town and ski slopes on the other side of the valley.
The best value and probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Family run - and it shows it.

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the town, not the mountain, but if you are on a package deal don't worry t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardFPwllheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband and I had a great stay at the Alpine Palace. From the moment we arrived we felt pampered. When we discovered that they upgraded us from a room in the 3 star-"Altbau" to a 5-star Junior Suite we were over the moon! The accommodation is super clean, the staff is nice and the facilities (the heated (outside) pool, the sauna , the jacuzzi, the gym etc.) were terrific. The food was great, allthough it did take up a lot of time every evening (but what do you expect with 6 course meals). The gondolas are right next to the hotel, which is very convenient. The location is right in the town center, very close to the après ski bars. The room was fabulous, with a nice walk in closet, a big bathroom, bedroom and livingroom (and even a large balcony). The only thing that I grade a little less is the bed. It was a bit too hard to my liking, but that is absolutely personal. Over all: you can't go wrong if you book the Alpine Palace!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamLimburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Spent a week at the end of March at the Alpine Palace. From the moment you arrive the surroundings and level of service are Five Star. I had booked a single room and expected to be in one of the older rooms on the side facing the slopes. After one night I asked to move because although the room was perfect it was a little noisy at night. I expected to get the usual brush off but the staff could not have been more helpful and gave me an even more luxurious room on the other side of the hotel. They moved my bags for me with no fuss and even moved my skis and boots to the correct locker in the boot room. The hotel facilities are fantastic with the heated outdoor pool being lovely in the mild Spring weather. The food was superb even though it could be a little bit minimalist and there was plenty of choice at the buffet breakfast. All in all it was a superb stay and I can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: Avoid the slopes side if you want a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwisby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#8 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adler Resort
Adler Resort
#18 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
95 reviews
2.1 mi away
Saalbacher Hof
Saalbacher Hof
#3 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Berger's Sporthotel
Berger's Sporthotel
#5 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
731 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
Hotel Neuhaus Superior
#7 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design Hotel
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design H...
#15 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Palace

Property: Alpine Palace
Address: Reiterkogelweg 169, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5754, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
#14 Romantic Hotel in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpine Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition verses modern artThe spacious environment of the Alpine Palace competes to outshine the fairy tale landscape of the alpine mountain region in Saalbach Hinterglemm.The Alpine Palace is the top of its class when it comes to comfort and luxury, wellness and pleasure are concerned, with a cosy and stylish ambience.Living DeluxeLook forward to completely new, distinctive and diverse styles in interior furnishing. Whether you ultimately decide to opt for a magical 4-poster bed or a bathtub the size of a double bed, you’re certain to discover the beguiling charm of the enormous choice we offer when it comes to staying at the Alpine Palace. Stylish cosines and the assurance ot the highest levels of pleasure for our guests have always been instrumental in the choice of room design at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Alpine Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Palace Hotel Saalbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing