We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ski in / Ski out, comfort and convenience in Hinterglemm”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Marten

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Marten
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Ski in / Ski out, comfort and convenience in Hinterglemm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

We recently booked the Hotel Marten at short notice for a 5 day break over half term. Flew Stansted - Munich with easyjet on Monday morning....hired car with Sixt (only if all hire car co's were that good) and within 2 hours 30 mins we were in Hinterglemm surrounded by vast amounts of snow.

Hotel Marten is situated 2 mins beyond the Hinterglemm tunnel, just above the two main lifts at the end of the valley. The position of the hotel is frankly brilliant if, like us, you really value walking out of your hotel and putting your ski's on. On return similarly no hassle ski straight to the door. For those who are desperate to be in the town this will not work but from a skiing perspective it was a great find.

Equally good find was Hubsi's Ski Shop, below hotel at bottom of piste and next to the bubble lift. Firstly this a well run family ski shop and Hubsi not only had very good quality skis, boots etc but could not have been more friendly with it. My children hate this moment of the holiday as I tend to get unbelievably upset by the general lack of service and help (esp in France), but unusually the experience was so quick and painless that we all managed to get out on the mountain for a couple of runs on the first afternoon.

Hotel Marten was as you would expect of a 4 star Austrian family run hotel. Mr and Mrs Feiersinger were often to be seen enjoy a drink with friends in the bar, Steffi was really helpful behind reception, and generally the other staff were friendly and eager to please. Rooms were comfortable although if we could we would have booked a superior room with bath rather than just shower. Beds and pillows were average to good and mattresses of a tempur style. We slept well. Food is fine without being memorable or spectacular which is exactly what we wanted. Breakfasts are ample. Sauna room seemed to be well occupied although if you are not good around nudity you probably won't visit. Table tennis kept kids happy. All in all a solid choice and we would definitely return. My only message to hotel is that they should halve the size of the enormous reception desk and make the bar area a little more cosy. A few extra tables in middle of room would give it a warmer feel.

We enjoyed our first visit to Hinterglemm despite the four days of snow we had to endure whilst there. The lift system is ueber modern and highly efficient, not one queue all week, and I have rarely seen so many mountain restaurants anywhere except Zermatt. We particularly enjoyed the panorama alm. The skiing is predominantly for intermediates and pretty extensive for low llying Austrian valley resort in Salzburgerland. We have to go back to see it in the sun one day as i imagine it will look stunning in good weather. We will definitely return to Hotel Marten.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3KMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zevenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We are a ski group from Holland and we are 5 years in this hotel
Every year we are very wellkome also this time. The rooms are very clean and the food in the evening wish the good wine were exellent.The hotel is situetet in the mountain so we can ski to the cable at the room in to different area's.
This is an hotel to have a rest and a good ski holyday.

Room Tip: The room for one person is too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rclaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zevenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

This hotel has 4 stars but it is better to the people who visit them,
The food in the morning and evening is very good .Also the personel kindness
at the reception.We are a ski group from Holland and we stay in this hotel the last 4 years. The group like this hotel because they understand what we do in the mountains skien and also other walking /byking/ and nordic walking.
It is not a hotel for jung people
Our age is 60+ the wellness is top of the bill

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rclaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

Hotel is located directly on the slope. From our Junior Suite “Classic” we had fantastic view on Zwozlfer-Nordbahn and Hochalmbahn (as You can see on my photos). Location is very important if your skiing fan and you don't want to move your car from garage.
Food is very good with many different tasty meals in the evening and standard breakfast every morning. There was plenty of food so you can eat as much as you want. Service during meals is superb, my German language skills are not very good but that was not a problem as all people in Marten speak English. Prices of the beverages and liquors are saalbach-standard.
Wellness and sauna centre is very clean and cosy. There are 3 saunas and for me it was enough.
Our Junior Suite was big enough, well decorated and with balcony. Car garage was included in our room rate. You can purchase ski pass directly in the hotel reception.

Ski Circus is the best ski region I have ever visited. It's well maintained, all lifts are new and fast. The DSV active Ski & Sport magazine selected the Skicircus Saalbach Hinterglemm Leogang as the most attractive ski area in Austria. International acclaim came in the renowned English magazine "Where to Ski and Snowboard" with no less than "the best European resort development of 2009".

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichalGdynia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

The hotel is run by family, you can really feel it. They also run a restaurant up, for skiers. Very clean, nice ambient. Great location for skiers. Very good service. Delicious cuisine! Really, especially for Austria! the only thing I did not like was all these German people completely naked in sauna in front of children. I am Polish, probably more conservative...

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReallyChoosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saalbach-Hinterglemm hotels
1.5 mi away
Alpine Palace
Alpine Palace
#10 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#30 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design Hotel
Alpen-Karawanserai Time Design H...
#15 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sonnalp
Hotel Sonnalp
#28 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
Hotel eva,VILLAGE
#9 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Panther
Hotel Panther
#36 of 76 in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marten

Property: Hotel Marten
Address: Martenweg 9, Saalbach-Hinterglemm 5754, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 76 Hotels in Saalbach-Hinterglemm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marten 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marten is a calm family run 4 star hotel, located in the village of Saalbach-Hinterglemm in the heart of "Glemmtal" Valley. Set on the sunny side of the valley, it is a little paradise for hiking and cycling holidays, a skiing break with best snow conditions or for holidays with the family in "Salzburger Land". Stylish and cosy rooms and suites, a large spa area with outdoor pool, saunas and beauty treatments as well as culinary delights with local produce await you at Hotel Marten - one of the most beautiful hotels in the holiday resort of Saalbach-Hinterglemm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Marten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing