We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pension Strolz

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Pension Strolz
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Brancaster
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Summer Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a brilliant holiday in June with Inghams Holidays. Hotel is in a quiet area away from main streets. Food was excellent and great that we could pack our own lunch, staff really friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the front I would suggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjcat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    31
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We went on a family skiing holiday over the New Year in Mayrhofen and had a superb stay at the Strolz. The food is excellent - the meal in the evening real does make this place stand out from anywhere else I have stayed in Austria - delicious, great portions and beautifully presented. The spa facilities are impressive, the perfect place to unwind after a day on the slopes and the staff are great - friendly, helpful and informative. In fact we were so impressed that we are returning again next season!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank asbestas33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I spent 6 days here with my partner for the recent Snowbombing festival. I cannot fault the staff, they were polite, courteous and we felt welcome. The breakfast was also great (scrambled egg, bacon, boiled eggs - still runny!, cheese, ham, juices, breads, toaster, cereals... and more!). The only criticism I had was that when we arrived we were told we had been moved to make room for a family to the room we were going to stay in. This room was in a separate room just across the way from the main hotel (about 20sec walk), where you had to go for breakfast each morning. The room we had was two single beds at opposite ends of the room (attached to the walls), which wasn't exactly ideal for us. I am aware that there are lots of Austrian twins (two single beds which are together), which would have been fine. The room was quite dated, and my bedding smelt a bit musty. However these weren't massive issues! We did have a balcony which looked out on the mountain which was lovely.

In all, it wasn't a terrible stay, but it wasn't amazing either. I do appreciate that it must be a big ask for the Snowbombing/BeOutgoing team to organise 3000 people into the hotels in and around Mayrhofen. Even though I gave it only 3 stars, I would recommend it, as I'm sure it's a very different experience outside of snowbombing.

Not a far walk to the main town, A little walk up to the Penken, and even further to Ahorn. But with depots in and around the lifts, you dont have to lug all your gear around. The hotel also has a boot room (unsecure) which was useful.

Room Tip: Try and get a balcony room if you can! And I would say the main part of the hotel looks nicer (from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KCabot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just returned from holiday in Mayrhofen. We spent a one great week there. Strolz is very nice, warm, clean hotel with very kind staff and big dog inside who makes you smile every time:) Sometimes I felt like at home not at hotel. The biggest THANKS we would say to the restaurant, the dinner was incredible every evening. Sauna/ swimming pool area isvery beautiful and nook. I would recommend this hotel to my firends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fegda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel from 2nd-9th February 2013, and I have nothing but good things to say about our stay.

The hotel location is set back from the main centre, which we quite liked, but is only a leisurely 5 mins walk onto the main street through Mayrhofen (only 10 mins walk to the Penken lift). Although there is a ski-bus stop 100m from the front door if you'd prefer.

The hotel itself is very "traditionally Austrian", spacious, comfortable, and very clean. we loved the quirky decorations throughout the hotel, it feels like they've got a real 'family' feel to it.
We had a corner room on the 3rd floor, so it was very big and our balcony stretched all the way round the corner. There is plenty of wardrobe space for all your ski/snowboard clothes, jackets, etc, and space on top of the cupboard for storing your luggage. The bathroom was modern, and had all the amenities required.
Towels and linen were changed every day... the maid even folded our pyjamas ;-)
The ski room is located at the basement level and is accessed directly via a side door and stairwell, which is very handy. The ski room is MASSIVE, with loads of ski/board racks, and has heated boot storage with plenty of space for ALL guests boots.
The swimming pool, and spa area is based on the lower level too. The pool is huge and we found it great for unwinding after a day on the slopes, we even used it in the morning before going out on a couple of occasions when the weather wasn't great. Perhaps the pool could be heated a little bit more ... but that's a minor personal gripe and doesn't count as a negative ;-)

The restaurant was very nice, you are allocated a table at the start of your stay and it's yours for the week. We particularly like the time slots allocated for meals. Breakfast was served between 7.30am and 10am, and dinner was served between 6.30pm and 8pm. The flexibility of these times is great as it means you can easily squeeze in an extra 30 mins in bed, or an extra few apres drinks, without worrying about missing your meal!
The food was incredible! Each day there was a full choice of cooked breakfast, cereals, fruit, etc. There was a 4-course meal every evening, and we didn't have one bad course throughout the week. Seriously, this is really really good food! We were a wee bit concerned initially that we would struggle to finish 4-courses every night, but we needn't have worried!
All of the staff were extremely friendly and very very helpful, and always had a smile and time for a chat.

All in all, a great stay. I'd HIGHLY recommend this hotel and we are already planning our trip for next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavidMacfarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have just returned from a week at The Strolz Hotel in Mayrhofen.
we booked quite last minute, and because we got a good deal.
our expectations, were not particularly huge, but what a lovely surprise.
a typical Austrian hotel, the decor inside was old fashioned and busy but full of Austrian charm, very warm, clean, and as we found through out the week, very friendly.
Our room on the 3rd floor, had a huge balcony on two sides, the rooms although dark, and possibly a little dated, were immaculate, the beds comfortable and all very clean, as was the bathroom.
The staff at dinner, were charming, smiley and very patient when constantly asked by one of the 6 of us, for another drink etc etc.
Meals as others have written were superb.
Breakfast was a laid-back great experience, help yourself buffet, hot and cold, and much more choice than I would have expected.
We were assigned our table on day one, and had the same one every day which was great.
Evening meal of 4 courses was excellent, far far better than I would have believed, great taste, great presentation, and flair. All 6 of us were very satisfied every evening.
Additional wines, beer tea coffee etc in the hotel was very reasonable.
The boot room under the hotel was one the the best I have ever experiences, large, warm, heated boot racks, great.
although we took our swimwear, we didn't have time, but the pool, sauna (beware Brits nude), jacuzzi area etc, were very clean, larger than I thought it would be.
Also if with youngsters, a pool table, tabletop cootie, giant connect 4
All in all a great experience.
my uncle and aunt paid a little less than us and opted to stay in the hotel annex, that is 3 building downs, their room was on the 3rd floor, and as good as ours with large balcony, but you had to walk to the hotel for meals, boot room etc, and didn't have a lift, so they had to walk 5 flights of stairs, but I think their inconvenience was represented in the price.
would be stay here again, yes definitely, would like to stay in summer to appreciated Mayrhofen then as well.
A big thank you to the staff at Strolz for their friendly helpful cheery manner, and to all the staff we didn't see in the kitchen, that produced great mea

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Devonbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

just come back from a fabulous skiing/boarding trip in mayrhofen... stayed at the strolz... could not fault the hotel at all... clean, friendly, great pool and sauna area, secure ski room and the food in the restaurant was excellent, especially the soup that was served every night, a different type but equally as tasty...
we got a late deal through inghams and would definately consider returning to this hotel again, we had fabulous snow conditions all week, we were well fed and watered, the hotel was lovely and warm, rooms cleaned daily with fresh towels... we also got engaged up the ahorn which added to the holiday, but i cant recommend this hotel enough... thanks to everyone there...
excellent...

Room Tip: we were on the 1st floor, lovely and quiet couldnt here anyone else in hotel and your set back from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emsyemmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#3 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sporthotel Strass
Sporthotel Strass
#1 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elisabeth Hotel Mayrhofen
Elisabeth Hotel Mayrhofen
#2 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neue Post
Hotel Neue Post
#4 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
#6 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rose
Rose
#11 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Strolz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Strolz

Property: Hotel Pension Strolz
Address: Durst 279, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Strolz 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pension Strolz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strolz Hotel Mayrhofen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing