We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All you could want”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Landhaus Roscher

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landhaus Roscher
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All you could want”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

Stayed here twice now and will stay again, it's basic but has all you will need, great views from the balcony, good shower, basic breakfast but they leave you a bag on the table with an apple and a milky way, you then make yourself a couple of ham or cheese rolls for the day ahead, nice location next to the woods but only a couple of minutes from the town. They serve evening meal at the Strasse hotel in the town which is excellent. We saved a lot of money by booking the Roscher direct, booked our flights and got a couple of trains from Innsbuck to Mayrhofen, it was easy and fun.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank V8Luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    29
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
24
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdare
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

Clean accomodation, very basic, breakfast was ok, just generally bread, cereal, cheese, jam, eggs, with tea and coffee. Great location, as the main area gets very, very busy and very rowdy from the apri ski. Only a 4 - 5 minute walk to main gondola which is ok even in ski boots. The only negative was there were no tea making facilities in room but i lived without it.

I booked a late deal allocation on arrival and only paid 300 per person including flights and transfers so wasnt expecting much but pleasantly suprised. I would certainly recommend this to anyone if your just looking for a cheap getaway. If your looking for luxury then this certainly isnt the place for you. Gunter on reception was extremely helpful...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShianAberdare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesdale
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

This review is for the Landhaus Roscher not the Hotel Strass - although as a guest at the Landhaus Roscher you can share the facilities of the Hotel Strass and half board guests from Inghams take their evening meals at the Hotel Strass. The Landhaus Roscher is in a quiet location on the edge of the resort by the woods close to the tennis courts and swimmingbaths - it is not next to the Penken Cable car - but only a few minutes down hill stroll to it (also being close to the Ahorn cable car). The Landhaus Roscher is a relatively small traditional bed and breakfast accommodation - serviced by Inghams and now also as one of the Thompson Guesthouse locations. The propriertor is Gunther. The rooms are tidy and clean - and as has been mentioned in another review the cleaners are very keen and quite early to start - around breakfast time - which kicks off at 7 and runs to 9.30. Our cleaner (we were on the top floor) arrived spot on 8 every morning! The bathrooms are very dated and the shower is attached to the taps on the bath and needs holding as not attached to the wall - but powerful enough. However, the rooms are clean comfy and spacious enough - and have tea making facilities, TV and balcolny. Breakfasts are buffet style and plentiful enough and served in a pleasant conservatory on the front of the building. One disappointment was there was no fresh or tinned fruit or yoghurt - but egg, hams, cheeses, breads, jams, juices, cereal, tea and coffee. A special mention for us also goes to the bar/restaurant next door that has the bowling alley. Proptieters there are a lovely friendly couple - food was simple but nice and as a couple of evenings were quite wet, a short dash for drinks and food were well rewarded. We travelled with Crystal holidays (accommodation on arrival) and given everything, we had a very pleasant and enjoyable time and wouldn't be disappointed if we were allocated the same accommodation if we return to Mayrhofen sometime.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank casjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

Having read a few previous reviews, other members have reviewed Srass Hotel, not Landhaus Roscher. Arrived 4am after stressful, delayed flight, had been given room keys by holiday rep. One key did not fit, had to ring rep. to return, got host out of bed-did not acknowledge us whatsoever, only opened door and walked away. Problem was room already occupied. Host returned to try next door, luckily room empty. Missed breakfast first day, cold meats, bread and chese provided to eat in room and apologies for previous night.
Rooms basic, dated, generally acceptably clean, but have stayed in much nicer, cosier upto date accomodation in Austria for same cost. One major criticism was the early morning visits from the cleaner regardless of whether or not door was locked, she unlocked it and came in without knocking. The only way to keep her out was to lock the door and leave the key in it! The last straw wason departure day was whilst at breakfast all but one small towel was removed from our room, therefore making it impossible to have a shower. Our two teenaged sons were trying to get ready for ski-ing and she walked in and out of room disregarding their privacy.
Considering that she was always so desperate to clean rooms, throughout our one week stay, two soaking wet dirty towels remained at the end of the bath in our sons room.
Location was ideal, as it was just far enough away from town as to avoid any night time noise, but close enough to Penken and Ahorn lifts. Realy enjoyed friendly atmosphere at bowling alley next door on Christmas Eve,also close to skating rinkl.
Overall, adequate accomodation, but could do with a refurb.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jules43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

went mayrhofen on the 28th of feb 2009. the resort is brilliant. the white lounge really is something that needs to be seen. the ice hutte sculpture is also really nice.
there are plenty of bars available such as scotland yard and the ice bar. there are also other bar in the strass which are lively. for quieter drinking the bar with the bowling alley is a great bar with a nice cosy atmosphere, next to the landhaus rocher.

the hotel overall is good. the rooms are definately stuck in a time zone, but apart from that the spa and food along with every thing else are brilliant.

from the reception the mannis sport hotel seemed much more up to date but is further to walk to the gondola.
the ice bar is a brilliant apres ski bar but it gets too full from 5:30 onwards.

oh and beware the spa is a naked only spa!!! make sure you wash the seats.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luke310389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

Good location- next to Paneken lift, 30 min queuing at peak times, Food varied and plentyfull, staff friendly and helpful .Room large and clean.
Free ski/boot room,unsecure.- Ski lockers 1euro per day.
Skied at over 30 resorts , this Hotel one of the best

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terryDevonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

We selected the Strass for its close proximity to the gondola. We booked with Thomson where it is four star. The reviews on this site were less than complimentary and as there were twelve of us (three families with teenager children) we were worried by how horrible the reviewers made it sound.

Our worries were unfounded we had a fabulous holiday and we will certainly return to this hotel. The rooms were clean and well kept. there was no problem with noise; they weren't smokey and neither were most of the public rooms(we are all non-smokers and this was our biggest worry).

Staff were welcoming and helpful, particularly in the restaurant and the food was great too.

The hotel is situated right next door to the Penken Gondola and we were expecting long queues to get up the mountain. This was never a problem, luckily our group are all skiers so we could go up after the morning rush, even so the queues were well organised and orderly. What a polite bunch of people!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skier34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mayrhofen hotels
0.4 mi away
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
Alpenhotel Kramerwirt
#2 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Garni Obermair
Hotel Garni Obermair
#27 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ferienhof Brugger
Ferienhof Brugger
#29 of 38 in Mayrhofen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sporthotel Strass
Sporthotel Strass
#1 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
Alpendomizil Neuhaus
#6 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pramstraller
Pramstraller
#13 of 38 in Mayrhofen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhaus Roscher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhaus Roscher

Property: Landhaus Roscher
Address: Zillergrundweg 568, Mayrhofen 6290, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mayrhofen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Mayrhofen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Landhaus Roscher 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Landhaus Roscher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landhaus Roscher Mayrhofen
Landhaus Roscher Hotel Mayrhofen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing